We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful high end villa on lovely peaceful well maintained resort near the glorious coast of eastern algarve .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Rei Golf & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monte Rei Golf & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful high end villa on lovely peaceful well maintained resort near the glorious coast of eastern algarve .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 with our sons aged 9 and 16, for 9 nights. We stayed last August and this is the only time we have returned to the same place twice . The villas are amazing spacious and beautifully furnished . We spent most of our time at the beautiful pool. There are plenty of beds and towels . Also near the pool is a very well equipped gym and tennis courts that we all made full use of . Although this is a golf resort , we didn't use the facilities , however the greens looked very well maintained . The staff are so helpful and friendly , nothing is too much trouble . I would recommend taking the package with breakfast which is a fantastic 3 course affair, negating the need for any lunch ! I think it is priced similarly to other resorts further west , which makes it comparatively expensive for the eastern algarve , but we love the east so much better , so it's worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reidhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador L, General Manager at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your great review and for taking the time to share it on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to read that Monte Rei is one of the few exceptions where you have decided to return, and that you and your family truly enjoyed your second stay with us. It is also great to read that you enjoyed our services and particularly our breakfast.
I look forward to welcome you back to Monte Rei in a near future.
Kind regards,
Salvador Lucena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    7
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
42
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was there for 2 days for a wedding and shared a 3 bed villa with friends. Excellent facilities in the house. Pool area, bar and food very good .Club house for reception was spectacular .Very glad they provided free transport from main club house to villas as I think it,s about 2k walk otherwise!!! Don,t play golf so it wasn,t an issue.Although they do provide some transport to beaches you would really need your own transport to go anywhere.Spectacular area around to visit but the place itself is isolated and exclusive if that is what you want..Would I go back? Yes if I wasn,t paying..... but only for a few days as I need more than a pool to keep me occupied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador L, General Manager at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments on your experience at Monte Rei.
We are delighted that you feel that we are a genuine 5 star experience, and that you enjoyed our facilities.
We look forward to receive your visit again soon.
Kind regards
Salvador Lucena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Got to be the best Golf Course in Portugal, the location is superb, when you play , unlike other courses the start times are 15 minutes apart , that way you feel you have the course to yourself. A tough track but Great Condition.
The Breakfast was excellent
Only one minor negative point, The Juice Buggy, she haunted us from start to finish, who needs to buy a drink on the first tee, she chatted away to my playing partner as I carved my first drive into the boundi. Give her something else to do , she was a lovely girl but no need to be asked at every hole if we need a drink or a sandwich.. saying that we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1WhoGetsAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador L, General Manager at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest,
I am delighted to read about your great stay in our resort. Your constructive comments are most welcome as they are key to help us to constantly improve our services. Rest assure that your inputs on our services have been shared with the responsible managers.
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community.
I hope we can have the pleasure of your visit again in the future.
Kind Regards
Salvador Lucena
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have never visited the Eastern coast of Portugal but i have to say it truly is an unrealised gem. The countryside, so unspoilt, reminded me of the Tuscan Hills and the beaches so uncommercialised and vast - The sea as it is closer to the Mediterranean was warmer too, The architecture in the local towns is delightful - you get a real feel of authentic Portugal, and cannot help but stop and perch with a glass of wine and watch the local goings on.

The resort itself again cannot be faulted, friendly staff, excellent food, excellent accommodations, it lends itself not only to golfing but to a wonderful family holiday in an obviously 5* resort. I would not hesitate to send any of my clients here, even the most discerning. Colette Powell Owner Luxury Villa Living Ltd.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeteChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The whole Monte Rei experience from arrival, the villa, club house and the golf facilities are all 5 star. They go the extra mile to ensure your holiday is exceptional. The food was superb and plentiful. We are well travelled but I have never seen a breakfast like the Monte Rei breakfast.
Will we go there again..? FOR SURE.

Room Tip: Four bedroom villas are absolutely fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gafoakwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador L, General Manager at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read about your great stay in our resort and hope to welcome you back in a near future.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from a four day trip staying at the Monte Rei Golf resort. Can only describe the whole resort as exceptional. The staff where attentive, the accommodation first class, and the food plentiful and of exceptional quality.

The golf course and everything around it was well oiled. Staff there to help at any opportunity leaving you able to enjoy what can only be described as special.

Hopefully one day will be able to return and enjoy again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATWoodhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador L, General Manager at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back in a near future. East Algarve is a great destination and the region has a lot to offer to returning visitors. With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Monte Rei golf club was just a fantastic venue for our recent event. today's Golfer magazine and Cleveland golf chose the venue for its splendid scenery and quality. it exceeded our expectations in every way. The hospitality was superb as ever, we stayed in the villas this year and they were terrific. 5 star all the way! many thanks

andrew murray

Room Tip: none - all fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewmurray_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador L, General Manager at Monte Rei Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback here at Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back in a near future. With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Cacela
4.2 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.8 mi away
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
#1 of 2 in Vila Nova de Cacela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.8 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
6.2 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Rei Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Rei Golf & Country Club

Property: Monte Rei Golf & Country Club
Address: Sitio do Pocinho | Sesmarias, Vila Nova de Cacela 8901-907, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vila Nova de Cacela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vila Nova de Cacela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Rei Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of beautiful villas are available for short term rentals, making the ideal accommodation for families or friends who want to enjoy a world-class resort in a unique Algarvean setting. The villas offer all the comforts of a private home, whilst still providing guests with the services expected within a luxury hotel. At the heart of the village is Veranda, offering a restaurant and bar, swimming, tennis, gymnasium and spa facilities. Guests staying at Monte Rei will enjoy personalised service and privileged access to all of the resort’s facilities and state-of-the-art amenities – including fine dining at Vistas Restaurant, and our Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, recognised as the number one course in Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monte Rei Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rei Golf & Country Club Algarve, Portugal - Vila Nova De Cacela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing