We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket club resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

First of all, I have to admit, that I am not a big fun of club resorts and All Inclusive/ Full board hotels. So in few points, my opinion would not be appropriate for one, who like this type of holidays.

Nevertheless, Club Robinson Quinta da Ria is the best club resorts I have ever been to. It is more stylish, has better food and it is beautifully located away from congested and loud tourists spots. It lures upmarket clientele - people that expect more than just lots of food, lots of alcohol, sun and beach, that is a typical demand of mid-range all inclusive resorts quests.

RESORT AND LOCATION
This is one of the strongest points of this resort. The hotel is big, but located on very big ground, so you do not feel it's size. The architecture as well as gardens are modern and stylish.

The hotel is located away from cities and other hotels, located between golf courses and fields. It is an excellent for nature lovers and people who seek peace and nice views.

The hotel is located ca. 500 meters from a beautiful beach of Ria Formosa.

Within 2 km distance there are 2 small villages with few local restaurants: Fabrica and beautiful Cacela Vehla. I strongly recommend a simple seafood restaurant just opposite to the church in Cacela Vehla - if you like authentic, local dining.

ROOMS
We stayed in standard double. The room was nicely decorated, but nothing special. It was very clean and comfortable. What surprised us very positively is a separate WC and a wardrobe, that are not standard in other hotels. Unfortunately the air conditioning was not efficient at all.

FOOD
I am not a fun of buffet dining. I prefer a la carte much more. But for a buffet standards, the food at the hotel was good. There were even few very good dishes like grilled sardines, local clams and oysters. There were also some dishes that were really bad like pasta with gorgonzola without any gorgonzola but with cheap blue cheese instead, most of the meat was dry and tough. The complimentary wine is drinkable, but not good.

SERVICE
Service is very good. People are nice and friendly and spoke excellent English and German.

ANIMATION AND ENTERTAINMENT
The hotel provides a very wide variety of sports and animation. I do not like hotels animation, so I will not value it. There are also many sports activities: Golf, biking (good quality CUBE bikes are available), aerobic, yoga etc. There is one medium size pool and one kids pool as well as one indoor pool.

To conclude, if you seek club resort in natural, peaceful location with upmarket touch, this is a really good choice.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, you cannot choose the view of the room. You may get room with internal (garden) view...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JP_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 359 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

was apprehensive in going to robinsons as reviews mixed and basically a german hotel however my three golfing partners and myself went with an open mind. the set up turned out to be excellent from our accomodation (twin rooom apartments cleaned and serviced daily with towels and bedding) to the dining room food and service-plates cleaned when finished and done nicely-and variety of food amazing from ,oysters,fresh salmon,swordfish,langoustines,herring,mussels and of course boullabaise on the fish side to steak,pork,ham,chicken,veal,and roasts on the meat.a full pasta station with pasta cooked fresh.salad of every variety with fresh vegetables.serrano ham and choice of cheeses and an amazing selection of sweets and gateaux..add to this two great courses and you take your buggy to the apartment for your clubs and take them back to the door before returning it later.pretty much food all day and anything asked for was answered with 'not a problem' majority of staff are multi lingual and almost all fluent in english and can joke in it. a great choice and reasonable cost and we shall return.great to stay in a hotel where the guests are the main priority and the staff work with a smile. for the record there were sun beds available at the main pools and the beach bar so well done robinsons.

Room Tip: location exscellent for golf but car or taxi required to go into town=we did not feel it necessary t...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ianandtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

3 of our party of 18 experienced sever vomiting & diarrhea during our 1 week stay and we know from talking with other groups that some of their members experienced similar problems.
The hotel facilities and golf courses are good and the staff were friendly and attentive. However, when the Entertainment Manager was approached about the problem, he denied all knowledge of other people having sever vomiting & diarrhea.
In contrast, when we raised the matter again during our checkout, the young male receptionist at least made a valiant professional effort at explaining our problems by mentioning different climate conditions, different foods, varying temperatures, etc. and finally apologised for our bad experience.
That being said, I've travelled to many different parts of the world, particularly in Asia for the past 15 years. I know I have a strong stomach as in that time I have eaten every type of food, in every kind of high class restaurant down to what might be considered questionable local street markets and never once experienced any ill effects.
After my experience in the Robinson Club Quinta da Ria, I for one will not be returning!

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
8  Thank PJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed for 7 days for 6 days golf and this was our second visit.
5 star rooms -food and service.The complex is upmarket and very
well run with great staff and there is always something going on.
The setting in a nature reserve offers outstanding views and walks.
As for the golf -you will not find 2 better courses and unlike most courses
there are no houses or villas anywhere.
As virtually all the guests are german there is very little info in English
so much of the time you will not know what is going on -but a small price
to pay for a great week.

Room Tip: out of season it is possible to have a double room as a single at a reasonable price
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevemardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Best value for money at a vacation resort. Superb food and fantastic staff.

Room Tip: Ask for Faro rooms, they are the most central in the complex.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KobieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We enjoyed this hotel a lot, the pool and the property are very pleasant, we really felt good, despite we are not germans and this hotel focus is target clearly on germans clients. The clients can go to the Ria beach, by walk or on a buggy. The property has lots of beautifull trees and also has vines! Lots of kids activities, but they are almost... german kids. :)
Not so good, for our taste, was the food, that is mainly for germans taste. The desserts should be improved. The room is good, but for the price we paid the food and the rooms should be better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SofiaPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I went with a friend to play golf as we have played the courses at Quinta de Ria n=and Quinta de Cima before when staying elsewhere.
The complex was superb. Two pools, sauna etc.
It is run by Germans so expect there to be a lot of . . .well Germans there!! However, they were polite and helpful. The food was excellent. Spoilt for choice at breakfast and there is food available to snack on all day. With a free drink when you have finished playing golf who can ask for more. Will definately be going back. Just need to brush up on the German. Auf wiedersehen!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeds16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Cacela
5.0 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
274 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
883 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
653 reviews
4.9 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,094 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#7 of 15 in Tavira
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robinson Club Quinta da Ria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinson Club Quinta da Ria

Address: Vila Nova de Cacela 8900-057, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vila Nova de Cacela
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vila Nova de Cacela
Price Range: $267 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Robinson Club Quinta da Ria 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelQuickly so you can book your Robinson Club Quinta da Ria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robinson Club Quinta Da Ria Hotel Vila Nova De Cacela
Robinson Club Quinta Da Ria Algarve, Portugal - Vila Nova De Cacela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing