We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding chef - perfect! If you're in Montone, go to Giancarlo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Locanda del Capitano
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

If you're in Montone, you simply must eat and stay at Il Capitano. Just pass by and Giancarlo will be somewhere around La Locanda, speaking to guests - he'll have a chat with you, tell you wonderful stories and cook the most amazing food.
We had the pleasure of having Il Capitano prepare the food for our wedding - we held our wedding just outside Montone and, luckily Il Capitano agreed to prepare our food. Our guests stayed at La Locanda and loved the hotel, super central location and beautiful service.
We've been to plenty of weddings in France, Italy and England - and wanted to make sure that our guests love the food at ours - and they did! Every single guest remembered the food and they personally went to thank Giancarlo - the food was to die for.
Giancarlo has impeccable taste and he input in our table arrangements, bar drinks etc. It was superb, chic and delicious - and very well presented. Micheling-starred food at our wedding!
If you're in Montone, go and see him.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 133 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel situate s in an old village and breaths a very good atmosphere. The rooms are cosy and the beds are reasonably ok. The breakfast was well organised. The attention of the hosts were accurate. I would strongly recommend this hotel to people visiting Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinkyToj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is the heart and soul staying in Montone. It is beautiful, comfortable, and the people that work there are warm and accommodating. I had the pleasure of meeting the owners GianCarlo and Carmen Ponto and in just a few small interactions came to know the reason this place is so special. It is their warmth and kindness and dedication to the town and it's people and especially their guest that will make you want to come back to Montone and stay at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drgaudioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Locanda del Capitano is perfectly located in beautiful Montone, just next to the square. It is picturesque, and excellently run by Giancarlo and Carmen, who are helpful and welcoming. Highly recommended, and make sure you eat in the restaurant too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelsKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The selection of the menu, wines selection, the athmosphere, the sence of hospitality, reflect the deep ancestral soul of beauty and welcome of the Italian style.
The central Italian Appenines medioeval village is an amazing surrounding for a jump to an uncommon, unthinkable past age.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank GianniB137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our recent stay at La Locanda del Capitano was disappointing. The room was dark and dated and opened directly on to the street. Unfortunately it was the only twin room available and had no view. Others in our party had rooms with balconies and lovely views, and I felt our room in comparison was overpriced. We stayed at three other hotels in Italy at half the price in equally beautiful locations.Breakfast was disappointing with water in vacuum jugs for tea and coffee...this for 140 euros a night. We were paying for location which was lovely but the hotel was disappointing. The other Hotel Fortebraccio in Montone is much better value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourtmatLondon, Proprietario at La Locanda del Capitano, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear traveller, It is really funny !!!! When you got in contact with us to book a room there were no rooms available in our hotel and we helped you to find an accomodation in one apartment .The apartment was obviously not under our management and propriety, we were only the contact between you and the owner . We helped you because we knew that you had to join a wedding close to montone and your friends , that had booked long time before you , would stay at locanda del Capitano. This was also the reason why we offer you our breakfast , in which there is not only the american coffee requested by they group but also our espresso, cappuccino and all the our rich buffet .All our best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in transit from Rome to Tuscany to attend a wedding. This is a small boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant. The husband (chef) and wife (front of house) team and their staff made us very welcome. Our room was clean, comfortable and well presented. Our only regret was that the restaurant was closed on one of the nights - our loss! Chef Giancarlo went out of his way to make some recommendations for local places to visit and a colleagues restaurant in another town - a great meal and a fun experience. Montone itself is a pretty little hilltop village and we enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angus_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montone
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortebraccio
Hotel Fortebraccio
#1 of 6 in Montone
563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Acquacalda
Agriturismo Acquacalda
#2 of 6 in Montone
149 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
564 reviews
7.8 mi away
Residenza Antica Canonica
Residenza Antica Canonica
#5 of 10 in Citta di Castello
153 reviews
12.1 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Capitano

Address: Via Roma 5/7, 06014 Montone, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Price Range: $117 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Capitano 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only ten bedrooms. Restored to provide the traveller with an intimate peaceful respite, La Locanda del Capitano offers its clientele ten charming bedrooms, each with private bath and all modern comforts. The bedrooms have been personally furnished by the owners with antique family furniture as well as fine reproduction pieces made by local craftsmen. After one day of discovering Umbria, the green heart of Italy, a sense of wellbeing in the pristine and unspoiled medieval lounge.As days get longer and nicer, breakfast and dinner are served on the verandas, each with unique views of the old village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Locanda del Capitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing