We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Montone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Locanda del Capitano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Locanda del Capitano
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magical Montone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

La Locando del Capitano is a magical place in the utterly captivating hill town of Montone. We enjoyed 5 wonderful days here in mid April, with hosts Giancarlo and Carmen and their welcoming team. The accommodation was very comfortable and cosy, with wonderful views over the town and the countryside. The dining was superb. A most memorable experience and one we hope to repeat.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms provide wonderful views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    14
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
52
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

A friend in NZ recommended we stay at this hotel. Giancarlo and Carmen give this hotel the 'X factor'. They are wonderful hosts and Giancarlos kitchen is outstanding. They accommodated us in every respect and we will be recommending this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LewieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have just returned from a rather wet weekend in Montone; my daughter is getting married in the Commune this June and we were finalising plans and La Locanda del Capitano was the ideal place to stay; The outside temperature may have been rather chilly and wet but inside the hotel was warm and welcoming. We had 4 rooms on the first floor and all were furnished in typical Italien style and were comfortable and very clean. We had dinner in the stylish restaurant where chef and patron Giancarlo greeted us and explained his wonderful menu and recommended wines to match;the meal was a culinary delight and I cannot wait until I return with my husband in June so that he to can sample Giancarlo's delicious food which I know will impress. Thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourtmatLondon, Proprietario at La Locanda del Capitano, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank's for your lovely review I' waiting you and your husband in giugno with my new dishes .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was the second time we came to La Locanda del Capitano and it felt like coming home. Giancarlo and his wife give you a very warm and loving welcome in a beautiful surrounding. They want to make sure that your stay with them is one of comfort, luxury and relaxation.
The rooms are simple, but provide in your every need. In the morning you'll have breakfast under the sun on their beautiful terrace. In the afternoon you can have a drink on the roof garden and in the evening you'll experience a food sensationyou've never had,under the stars prepared for you by chef Giancarlo. From La Locando you can discover the beautiful, amazing surroundings of Umbria, definitely a place one should have seen and experienced at least once in a life time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourtmatLondon, Proprietario at La Locanda del Capitano, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Than'k for your lovely words that you spend for LA Locanda del Capitano.
We waiting you again for a nice and romantic dinner on my terrace.
Giancarlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

In the northern Tiber valley stands the most perfect of all hilltowns. Montone crowns a hilltop with all the splendor of, well a crown. Within its walls, on Via Roma the scent of kitchen magic fills the air. You enter a gate and are standing in a beautiful courtyard garden on two levels. Perfect of dining alfresco. Welcome to the world of Giancarlo Polito and his beautiful wife Carmen. Locanda del Capitano is two things. A wonderful historic inn, and restaurant jewel. The dining room is Giancarlo's stage. Beautifully formal but at the same time relaxing casual, the two dining areas call to the guest. Please be seated. The magic begins. Sit back relax and sip a glass of Proseco. Giancarlo and his waiter will help you decide. The wine list is from all points of the Italian compass. The first course can be as simple as a salad or as extravagant as My Cappuccino. The seconds are wonderful, vegetarian or wild boar. Please have dessert. Then sit back, have a coffee and a Grappa. Giancarlo will be smiling with intense satisfaction. We come here often. It has become our dining room away from home, and we thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajschlarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourtmatLondon, Proprietario at La Locanda del Capitano, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thanks so much for the nice words that he wrote about LA LOCANDA DEL CAPITANO.
Wishes for a happy easter ...waiting you at la locanda del capitano I have 35 new labels of new italian wine that I discovery during my gourmet trip last winter that you will test.
Cordally Giancarlo Polito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

From driving down the narrow street to drop off luggage to the top-floor room with great views, we really enjoyed our stay. The town is quiet, the accessibility to other towns is great. The room was well-appointed and we had all we needed to relax, including a balcony. The husband and wife team was great and the food exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel while on tour of the charming hill top stone village of Montone. Our room was La Guardiola (the Guard House); literally a small two story house guarding the entrance to the town with a complete kitchen and an upstairs bedroom with a bath and shower. Very clean hotel with a charming and helpful staff and a fantastic restaurant run by the hotel owner - a fantastic host and world class chef.

Room Tip: Inquire about staying at La Guardiola (the Guard House)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Mannino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourtmatLondon, Proprietario at La Locanda del Capitano, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank's a lot for your words ..rember that locanda del capitano is your home in iItaly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montone
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortebraccio
Hotel Fortebraccio
#1 of 6 in Montone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Acquacalda
Agriturismo Acquacalda
#3 of 6 in Montone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
15.1 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cardaneto
Cardaneto
#1 of 7 in Montone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Pietra Rara
La Pietra Rara
#2 of 6 in Montone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Countryhouse L'Ariete
Countryhouse L'Ariete
#6 of 6 in Montone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Capitano

Property: La Locanda del Capitano
Address: Via Roma 5/7, 06014 Montone, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Capitano 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only ten bedrooms. Restored to provide the traveller with an intimate peaceful respite, La Locanda del Capitano offers its clientele ten charming bedrooms, each with private bath and all modern comforts. The bedrooms have been personally furnished by the owners with antique family furniture as well as fine reproduction pieces made by local craftsmen. After one day of discovering Umbria, the green heart of Italy, a sense of wellbeing in the pristine and unspoiled medieval lounge.As days get longer and nicer, breakfast and dinner are served on the verandas, each with unique views of the old village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Locanda del Capitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing