We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Spot in Beautiful Umbria”

Review of Casa Delle Grazie

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom in La Stalla
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Bedroom in La Stalla
view of Montone from the annex
casa delle grazie
Sunflowers in summer in front of the house
View from Casa delle Grazie
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Montone, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LauraEsse...
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot in Beautiful Umbria”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just returned from our amazing family holiday at Casa delle Grazie. The location is absolutely perfect!
The accommodation has stunning views of the beautiful Umbrian countryside and the picture postcard perfect hilltop village of Montone.

Our cottage (we stayed in La Cantina) was spacious and beautifully maintained - it's was also very child friendly - a plus point was it all being on one level with no steps to worry about with our toddler. A travel cot and high chair were also provided at no extra cost.
Little touches like the box of children's toys in the cottage and a small welcome pack including wine and bread were lovely gestures.
Aine made us feel incredibly welcome (and was also fantastic and very patient with all our questions during the booking process)
Her assistant Gemma was always on hand to advise on the area or answer any questions we had.

The swimming pool is a great size and and a god send when you happen to visit Italy during a heat wave! It was very well matained and there were plenty of sun loungers and shade. The surrounding gardens were lovely and the chickens a complete hit with our daughters!

The nearby village of Montone (5 minutes walk via the short cut) is magical. A perfectly preserved Italian village - in the evenings the village square has a lovely and relaxed atmosphere.
The restaurants in the village are all great and there is a delightful little cafe to grab coffee and pizza at the entrance to the village by the steps.

It is also a great central base to visit many of the beautiful places North Umbria has to offer - Assisi, Gubbio and Lake Trameso all a must see!

A complete gem and we certainly hope to return! Thank you Aine and Gemma :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LNX300
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eccellente!”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited Casa delle Grazie in the first week in September 2016. The property we rented was excellent and we used this as a base for our sightseeing. However we did spend a couple of lovely days lying by the pool and relaxing.

Aine was a fantastic host, ensuring that we had everything that we needed and after a very late arrival even offered to bring us some cold meats. A welcome pack is provided which gives you more than the necessities to start your holiday. A lovely touch and much appreciated.

The accommodation was maintained to a high standard and we must mention the beds, which were great (my sleep app tells me that my sleep improved by 10% here). Rooms w ere spacious as were the bathrooms. Each cottage has an outside eating area, this is separated from the other cottages and gives enough privacy when sitting or eating. The views over the Umbrian countryside were spectacular.

The village of Montone was exquisite. A leisurely stroll (uphill) from the cottages brings you into a wonderful piazza, were locals and tourists mingle. The locals were friendly, welcoming and very cheery. The bar in the piazza is a great way to spend time, having an Aperol Spritz and watching the world go by. The restaurants were excellent and we had one of the best meals of our trip at Erba Luna. There is a great bakery and the small butcher sold the best fresh porchetta. If you walk up the hill at night, remember to take a torch to walk down!

We used this stay as a base to visit Assisi, Gubbio, Lake Trasimeno and for our second week we moved over to Tuscany. However we all agreed that we wished that we had booked our two weeks here. After driving and sightseeing, it was great at the end of the day to leave the car behind and soak up the atmosphere in the beautiful village.

A really enjoyable week, with wonderful hosts. Thank you Aine. We most certainly will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness, views and the village.
Liked least: The drive at night from Pisa airport. When flying from Scotland or the North of England, the option is Pisa and not Perugia.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F
1 review
“Fantastic Umbrian accommodation ”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited Casa delle Grazie in September 2016 for a week. The accommodation was beautifully maintained with lovely facilities. We have a daughter who was 8 months old when we visited and Aine and Gemma ensured we had a cot, high chair and lots of toys!

The accommodation has wonderful views of the beautiful Umbrian countryside - perfect views across the valley at sunset. The swimming pool is lovely as are the gardens. Very peaceful and relaxing. The chickens were a big hit with our daughter!

The nearby village of Montone (5 minutes walk) is magical. A perfectly preserved Italian hamlet - in the early evenings the village square has a lovely bar where all the locals congregate and chat and play cards. The restaurants in the village are also superb (and very baby friendly). The village is well served by little shops with delicious local cheeses, meat, truffles and wine.

The houses are about half an hour drive from Perugia airport (you can fly from Stansted with Ryanair). It is also extremely well situated to visit towns in the area, such as Assisi, Siena, Gubbio and Arezzo (where the film Life is Beautiful was filmed). Gubbio and its market (on Tuesday mornings) was wonderful. Another stunningly beautiful town.

We were made to feel very welcome by Aine and Gemma. There was a lovely welcome pack and they looked after us very well.

We will in all likelihood come back soon - we cannot recommend Casa delle Grazie enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom G
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

In June of this year we had a family holiday here. We came from Australia, my sister and her family from Northern Ireland, my partners brother and sister in law from London and my parents from Scotland. Aine was amazingly helpful for the months leading up to our holiday helping us with itineraries, directions and so forth.
When we arrived we were warmly welcomed, shown around and and encouraged to ask for anything that we might need!
Aine and Gemma helped us to get a local lady, Daniella, to come to the property to teach us to make pasta. A brilliant experience for all, especially the kids because they could be hands on. Gemma was there to assist with translation, which was great as we all had a laugh together with no serious language barrier. We had a lovely evening at a winery nearby. Multi course meal with wines to match. Aine had recommended this. We also had another fabulous evening when she had suggested we get one of the local farmers to do a roast pig for us. A great evening spent eating amazing pork and lovely local wine. Then thanks to the amazing timing, it was off up to the village to watch Italy v Ireland in the Euro football, watching on the big screen in the piazza! An amazing village with warm and friendly locals and expats. A great night had by all!
The restaurants are amazing, with great views and wonderfully friendly service.
The accommodation was very comfortable, clean and very nice just to relax in with the stunning views and sensational sunsets! A lovely pool to relax next to and so many other wonderful places to visit a short drive away if you feel the urge! We couldn't recommend staying here highly enough and we have all agreed that we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall hospitality!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heaven in Umbria”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I'm just back from a lovely stay in Casa Delle Grazie. We had 2 small children with us, and we stayed in La Stalla, which is a large two bedroomed cottage. I cannot fault the property. Aine has done a fantastic job and is the perfect host. The villa is only a short walk to Montone, (approx 5 mins), where there a number of quality restaurants and ice cream shop in the piazza for the kids. If you want the comfort and space of a place in the country but with the added appeal of a short walk to restaurants, Casa Delle Grazie is the perfect place. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool & outdoor spaces
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a really wonderful week staying at Casa Delle Grazie in the La Toretta apartment. We stayed from the 25th of June to the 2nd of Julys and the weather was amazing - really hot!

We flew into Rome where we hired a car and drove around 2 1/2 hours to Montone. Getting out of Rome was quite difficult and maps and road signs did't help! Even with Aine's helpful directions we still managed to take a wrong turn early on, so were very grateful to have sat nav.

Casa Delle Grazie is just outside Montone. Up fairly high with beautiful views over unspoilt valleys.

The apartment was just right, and didn't get too hot during the day. It is beautiful, spacious and simple inside, with lovely tiled floors and beamed ceilings, a gorgeous bedroom and luxury bathroom. It had everything we needed.

Montone is built on top of a hill, and it is a short gentle walk up a shaded road, or an even shorter walk up a steep short cut through woods. Being on a hill there is quite a lot of climbing to do around Montone!

The town is just amazing. It is small but perfect. And as a fellow guest said - it is pristine! There are several delicious restaurants to choose from, some simple shops such as a post office, bakery and small supermarket, plus a bar and cafe right in the centre. The town is a maze of twisty lanes covered in flowers, with beautiful views. It is not spoilt by tourism and feels wonderfully stuck in time!

Staying close to home offers a wonderful relaxing day. The pool is perfect to cool off after some exploring, and already a nice temperature at this time of year. And such lovely views around the pool! There are some tracks leading from the house up over the hills or down into the valley which are lovely for walks before it gets too hot. We spent many happy hours wondering into Montone for a morning cappuccino, afternoon beer or delicious dinner. With the town so close it is a real luxury that we do not have to drive anywhere to eat. Allowing us to wander slowly home in the warm evening after a few drinks, looking out for fireflies.

During our stay Montone had something on nearly every evening, including a Romance Festival and several concerts in the main square. The friendly atmosphere is addictive.

On other days, Montone was the perfect place to explore nearby Umbria and Tuscany by car. Beautiful towns such as Cortona, Gubbio, Spello and the wonderful Assisi are around 45 minutes away. We even managed a trip to Florence which took around 2 1/2 hours with a combination of driving then catching public transport.

Aine is the perfect hostess. So friendly and welcoming, and always there for help. She told us everything we needed to know to get around locally. Case Delle Grazie was quiet and relaxing but also offered a friendly sociable atmosphere.

We fell in love with Montone and Umbria and can't wait to come back!
Thank you so much Aine and Gemma!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver_G1...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, magical place!”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Casa della Grazie is simply the most wonderful place to stay. There are many things I could comment on - the lovely apartment (we stayed in La Stalla) - beautifully designed, spacious and well-equipped. Or maybe the gorgeous pool with views across Umbria. The location too is perfect - we really wanted to be able to walk out for restaurants in the evening and not have to drive. The pretty town of Montone is only footsteps away and surely one of the most picturesque places in the area. Our kids (ages 4 and 6) loved playing in the square here whilst we finished a meal or enjoyed an Aperol Spritz or two. There's lots to do in the area too when you tire of relaxing by the pool - Assisi, in particular, is an amazing place to go as are the waterfalls. However, what really makes this place quite so special are Aine, Fabio, James and Elisabetta (and Gemma!). They really are wonderful hosts - friendly, go out of their way to help with any enquiries you may have and make you feel like part of a family, not just guests. Many a time I 'lost' a child only to find him holed up with James building Lego together like old friends. In fact my eldest cried buckets in the car when we had to leave his new friends behind and I think the rest of us felt the same. Truly magical - all future holidays now have an awful lot to live up to. As we like to explore different areas I can only maybe Aine and Fabio will open up some other properties too??!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing