We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

La Locanda del Capitano
Reserve with
La Locanda del Capitano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Montone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The celebrity chef Giancarlo Polito offers a menu with the most important delicacies. The cellar propone a selection of over 500 labels and the dinners are offered on our outdoor terrace.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Don't miss the food here - focussing on local ingredients, truffles, and great Italian food, this restaurant is well worth a visit.
The food is beautifully presented, and you can enjoy it while sitting on the terrace surrounded by candles. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelsKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    36
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fabulous experience at La Locanda del Capitano, where the true Captain is the chef and the owner, Giancarlo. Dishes are a perfect compromise between innovation and tradition. The Bourgogne recommended by the service was of a fantastic elegance.

Prices are simply what you expect and should be prepared to pay for such a level of food and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good but we expect so much better for the price”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

You are here in a price category of restaurant that compares with very good restaurant in Paris or very big cities and that is the problem. Atmosphere and service are good, the food is ok but not exceptional. You will find better in much simpler restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Benedicte01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romance in Montone”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had stayed near Montone in the previous year but had never spent any time there. This year we made a proper visit at the end of a long and industrious day and decided to stay for a meal at La Locanda del Capitano. What a wise decision that turned out to be. The service was engaging, the food was beautifully presented in an elegant and sophisticated manner and the flavours were beyond belief. Our waiter recommended a wine to go with the dishes we had chosen and he did well. The staff were friendly and helpful and we found their attention and concern very refreshing. Dining on the terrace on a warm evening in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere was absolutely delightful and an experience we will remember nostalgically for a long time. We did enjoy the fact that the courses were of sufficient quantity to be quite satisfying but also of a size such that we were able to enjoy a full four courses.
While this restaurant may be a little more expensive than other eating places in the region this is well and truly countered by the excellent food, the presentation, and the service. We have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to anyone looking for a worthwhile gastronomic and romantic experience. Montone itself may not be well known but is also well worth a visit......and if
you go there make sure you dine at La Locanda. It will be memorable. If we are ever again anywhere in the region we will be making a special visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim6307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had dinner here 2 days ago, it was superb and the Chef served and talked us through all the food and advised us very well on wine, we had a variety of dishes off the menu, all were superb and the wine we went for was the 2007 Sacrantino (which is a beautifully full bodied Sagrantino and totally authentically Umbrian wine). The produce was all fresh and grown gathered or hunted locally and it was turned into mouth watering dishes of excellent proportions with consummate skill. The owner and chef described the food with great passion and this added greatly to our enjoyment fuelling our expectations which were then exceeded.
I strongly recommend this restaurant and commend the size of the portions as this is one Restaurant where you can have the full Italian meal with all the trimmings and dessert and leave satisfied but not over fed! Do not expect this to be cheap, dining at this level will always be expensive but in my view it was a memorable event and probably the best equal restaurant I have ever eaten at in Italy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Capitano also viewed

Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 
Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Locanda del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing