We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cuisine”

La Locanda del Capitano
Reserve with
La Locanda del Capitano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Montone
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The celebrity chef Giancarlo Polito offers a menu with the most important delicacies. The cellar propone a selection of over 500 labels and the dinners are offered on our outdoor terrace.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cuisine”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful evening dining at La Locanda Del Capitano. The food, service and ambience were excellent and we hope to return for a second visit during our holiday in Umbria. It was also a pleasure to meet the chef /proprietor, Giancarlo.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    36
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a hidden gem!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I visited Montone in May 2012, and I had the most wonderful meal I've had to date in my visits to Italy. Giancarlo is an outstanding host and he cooks with passion. My group had local cinghiale (wild boar) which was hunted earlier that day by no other than our Chef and host Giancarlo, risotto with faba beans, and the most delicious carpaccio. The restaurant also has a fabulous wine collection. If you are in the Umbria region, stop by Montone it's a beautiful hilltop town, and treat your self to a wonderful meal at la Locanda del Capitano

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PWRBECKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Il Capitano for Umbrian magic”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I believe Umbria is the new destination of choice for the cognoscenti and Montone is a wonderful hilltop town, all charm, geraniums and cobbled streets with a lovely piazza. In the midst of it all, is La Locanda del Capitano, restaurant and boutique hotel, hosted by the ebullient and fun loving chef owner Giancarlo.

The terrace setting is lovely and relaxing, and the food is delicious, typical Umbrian ingredients with new twists. Two weeks ago, we ate there twice and both times experienced great service, excellent food and delicious wines.

They also play great background music. I recommended a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't visit Montone without having a meal here!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been to many restaurants in Italy and this is, without doubt, our favourite. Montone is a beautiful hilltop viilage and well worth a visit. We have dined here on several occasions and every one has been a delightful and delicious experience - in terms of the setting, atmosphere and, most importantly, the food which is superb and the excellent wines. The menu is interesting and varied - try the foie gras - simply the best you will have had - or the scallops which were perfectly cooked and just melted in the mouth. Giancarlo the owner/chef is always much in evidence and both he and his staff are most welcoming. We can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Eating in this restaurant was a real pleasure. The menu offers the typical Umbrian ingredients but the chef adds a little touch of magic to them, thus creating truely unique taste experiences. Service is excellent: an unusual but interesting combination of rather formal, very professional waiters and an informal owner (maybe the chef himself?) who walks around in the restaurant with a big smile, cordially interacting with the guests , making sure that everthing is perfect and everyone feels comfortable.
It works ...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pascal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Capitano also viewed

Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 
Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Locanda del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing