We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Taverna del Verziere
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Montone
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have eaten at this handsome restaurant with great outdoor terrace and stunning view each year for the past 3 years, and it gets better each time, Food is fresh and very well prepared - there is real intelligence in the planning of these dishes. I highly recommend this reasonably priced restaurant, its talented chef, and competent young staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viaCaseti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    77
    18
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the worst meals we've had w horrendous service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Bruschetta and risotto were good and the lunch menu of 10 euros and two dishes is quite reasonable, if the food and service are at least average. But it's not. Frankly the experience was a disaster!

- Pasta took ages (an hour plus) and the dishes for 4 kids under age 9 was seasoned w pepper to the point of being almost inedible, also came w bits of paper apparently from the butter (when this was pointed out to the waiter a very meager apology was offered)
- Waiter was about as rude as you're likely to find, not really expected at a hard to find restaurant in a remote, hilltop town in Umbria

Could write more but think you get the gist and I'm on holidays. Date of the meal was 24 July in case the owner is reading and wants to take some kind of action on the food or service. Both need serious attention.
Would not return if the meal was free.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bxlcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavernadelverziere, Proprietario at Taverna del Verziere, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Frankly, the worst customers we have ever seen and served.
Have you started right away with arrogance, you wanted lunching when our restaurant was already fully booked. You have ignored our invitation to go to lunch at another restaurant. Rude bully!
The climate of the sultry heat of summer is the fault of the restaurant or instead you foolish parents who force kids to stay under the scorching sun? Think before having children! The paper in the paste have put your children on your order will probably in an attempt to not pay the bill because you did not have no money! Shame!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wished we had found it sooner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

we went to this restaurant rather late in our holiday. We were impressed with the service, - it was helpful having English spoken by the staff, - the view from the terrace was wonderful, we experienced the most fantastic sunset. The food was plentiful and better priced as value for money than some other restaurants and we would have gone back if we had had time. Recommend this one as a good, comfortable and friendly place to eat.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anne2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
343 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

This restaurant was recommended to us as a good place to dine during our stay in Montone. We were not disappointed at all--from the service, food, and terrace dining experience. The pasta with fresh truffles, guancale, wild boar, venison, risottos and wine selection make it a very nice choice.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Wow. I do not claim ot be an epicurian but I know something specail when I taste it. This was a deligtht from start to finish. I echo the earlier review re: antipasta. Wonderful selection. The main course was equally dellightful. I passed on coffee and desert (unusually) in order to savour the falvours. There was plenty more to intrigue on the menu so I suspect I will back there tomorrow evening & if I ever get the chance to take close friends there I will. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JPP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna del Verziere also viewed

Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 
Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Taverna del Verziere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing