We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining in Umbria - Erba Luna - Montone (PG)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erba Luna

Erba Luna
Reserve with
Erba Luna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Montone
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dining in Umbria - Erba Luna - Montone (PG)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Erba Luna is hidden away in the old stables of Fortebraccio Castle, overlooking an authentic Umbrian landscape, in the medieval village of Montone. As soon as you arrive there's a decision to make: do you dine outside with the soothing view of hills, the ancient castle walls, the soft overhead lighting? Or is the seating inside preferable, with the thick leather furniture, the historical brickwork, the neverending wine cellar?

Luckily, being January, it was an easy decision - entriamo.

The restaurant has several dining rooms, all with the same simple decor and ambient lighting. There is space for plenty more tables, but instead of cramming in an extra couple of diners, Erba Luna has opted for elegant, squashy armchairs, like those found in a nobleman's billiard room. This makes for a relaxed and refined dining area - ideal for unwinding in with a glass of wine after dessert.

Now, the food. Simply put: this is the best meal we've had in Italy in a long time. The restaurant offers a set menu, which we were happy to try, and we suggest you do, too. We started with a traditional sharing platter, with the usual array of meats and cheeses. Only, there was nothing usual about this array. Fresh slices of duck, porcini mushrooms, locally-sourced truffles - all presented with an artistic arrangement that the Italy & Events team quickly lay waste to.

Next came a tris di pasta: three succulent portions, delicately seasoned and perfectly sized. Ours was cold by the time we finished, but only because we took so long savouring each mouthful. The real star of the show followed: beef steak sliced and spiced on a bed of rucola, and paired with a red wine of the chef's choosing. On our table, conversation stopped until every plate was clean.

There was a gasp of feigned despair at the announcement of dessert: homemade crepes filled with ice-cream alongside crushed-almond and marzipan pyramids. My mouth is watering just at the memory ...

If you want a simple yet sophisticated meal in a traditional Italian setting with prices and service to match, go to Erba Luna. Perhaps it's too dignified to be your weekly go-to restaurant, but if you're holidaying in Umbria, or your parents are in town, or you're looking for somewhere special to eat, this restaurant should be your first choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dickiestyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    62
    19
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“another great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Yet another great meal in this fabulous restaurant. Wonderful atmosphere, wonderful hospitality, fabulous food and all set in one of Italy's most beautiful hilltop villages. The rack of lamb, the fillet steak, the duck and much more - all highly inventive takes on regular favourites and ALWAYS delicious. A great chef working with the highest quality ingredients. Front of house is welcoming and efficient. Not expensive when you consider the high standard. We'll be back!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctwrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent for a special occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We first came to Erba Luna in 2009 and were impressed with the location, architecture and food quality. This year our stay in Montone coincided with our anniversary so we decided to eat here. The owners responded very quickly to an email booking request before we left UK
Although the outside dining is very pleasant, we prefer the fantastic feel of the inside with its vaulted brick ceilings, discreet music and tasteful decoration. The food quality and service remain excellent- I love their pistachio crusted lamb cutlets which have a wonderful taste and fantastic presentation. Antipasti and deserts are equally good. One slight disappointment is that in our years of coming here, the menu hasn't changed, but for those on a first visit to Montone this won't be an issue.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Great service, wonderful Umbrian fare, wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is Umbrian fare at its best. We stopped here for an unplanned lunch on a day trip to Montone. We had done the same last year only to find the restaurant full. This time it was empty. I guess we hit on a fiesta last year. The restaurant is located at the top of the village, just outside the medieval walls. Tables are available inside and outside. The welcoming staff server (Edyta?) escorted us to a nice table inside - linen table cloths and napkins, cool, and tastefully decorated. Our party of four opted for a carafe of the vino rosso della casa, which was very good. We ordered a couple of plates of mixed antipasti and then followed with some homemade pasta. The antipasti was wonderfully fresh and included a tasty fig paste and a fairly wide variety of meats. Two of us chose primi from the pranzo menu and two from the carta. Those who chose from the carte got a slightly better deal. The homemade ravioli stuffed with salmone and drizzled with lemon oil was superb, as was the tagliatelli with porcini. The gnocchi from the pranzo menu was also good but reports on the ravioli stuffed with ricotta and spinaci were less enthusiastic. All of this was topped off with some really good espressi. Will we return? Absolutely - either for lunch or dinner. We agree with all the other favourable reports - and Montone is a lovely little village to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The restaurant catered for a group of approximately 50 people for a pre wedding evening meal.

Food was great, with all guest satisfied. I'd like to go back with a smaller group to enjoy a more intimate dinner.

Definitely worth a visit when in Montone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erba Luna also viewed

Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 
Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Erba Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing