We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and slightly quirky place.”
Review of Torre di Moravola

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torre di Moravola
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Stunning and slightly quirky place.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My partner and I traveled with our 20 year old niece and had a lovely time. We had the luxury of having no other guests there for 2 of our 3 nights, and so had the run of the place, so to speak. We at breakfast and dinner there for our entire stay. Christopher's cooking is extraordinary. I am a vegetarian, and they cheerfully accomodated this. One night Chris even prepared a lovely Cumin Cauliflower Fritters dish from an old Yotam Ottolenghe cookbook.

It is an expensive stay, but in my estimation worth it. If cost is an issue, or you are looking for a conventional "5-star" experience, don't come here. The charm is that the place is small, intimate, and run by two interesting and slightly off-beat characters. The location is superb if you are looking to escape the masses (which we were). Yes, it is a bit of a drive from the main road, but no big deal at all, and in fact adds to the charm of the experience.

They will fix you a nice cocktail before dinner, and have a short but tasteful wine list. All around wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Study the website to determine which room best fits your needs. They are not conventionally laid ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astilbe_Arendsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    5
    3
    7
    0
See reviews for
13
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had the privilege of staying at Moravola for 5 nights and it was a wonderful experience. From arrival to departure, Seonaid and Chris made us entirely welcome and part of the Moravola family. They take exceptional care of guests with great recommendations for drives, visits, truffle buying and relaxation...

Moravola is unique in my view & I have stayed in some fabulous hotels across the world. It is living history...a medieval watchtower brought back to life by Chris's architectural dreams & skill combined with Seonaid's designs make this a true gem. Combine that with fabulous food and a location to die for ....what more is needed?

It is difficult to capture how marvellous this place is but suffice it to say it is located at the head of two valleys with magnificent views in every direction. The journey to Moravola itself is part of the romanticism..from a proper road to a gravel access road..gives a sense of seclusion but with the local village only 15 minutes away...

We will return!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place was just serene, especially when we went in October when there were not too many other guests staying. Just imagine waking up to bells from the dogs hunting truffles, or the shots ringing out as locals hunt wild boar in the woods nearby. One of the best boutique hotels I've stayed at in the world.

Just one thing - I wish there was some way they could air out the rooms and laundry without opening the windows the whole day and letting in mosquitoes and spiders into the room. I got at least a few bites every night. You could see all the mozzies against the white wall at night before going to bed. And yes, there was a huge spider, which I didn't point out to my wife.

Also, they had decent suggestions of things to drive to and see in the area, but it would be nice if there were some active things to do right at the property. I realize many people who go there, because of the price, are older folks, but it would be nice if they offered something active. For example, there are truffles around, so maybe arrange for a truffle hunting tour on the grounds. Or a boar hunting or tracking tour on the grounds. Having said that, this place still gets 5 stars.

Room Tip: Master suite is amazing, but not sure it is worth it. You get a big, amazing sitting area. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A modern minimalist piece of architectural perfection, set in beautiful surroundings and hosted by the charming Christopher and Seonaid. Just like spending time with your ultimate best friends in their stunning holiday home. Oh and Christopher happens to be an amazing chef.

This is the rarest breed of hotel. An unforgettable experience that should feature in your top five places to visit in the world.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower Suite, a majestic top floor three room apartment overlooking the Umbrian Hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We just returned from a superb long weekend at Torre Di Moravola. Even without getting engaged while we were there, it would have still been a lovely experience.

The setting
Just exquisite, hill top, the little access road is cool to drive along at dusk. A real sense of history overlooking the surrounding valleys. I have stayed at few places more stunning in outlook. It is a nice drive up to the property with wonderful views around. Transport of some kind is a must though, don't really on being able to grab a cab or such

The accommodation
Really well done and a credit to the proprietors. Inventive, modern and old and a pleasure to stay in. No TV in room nor minibar etc. but didn't want one so wasn't missed! We enjoyed sitting by the wonderful pool and the grounds

The Food
Wow! Breakfast was super, lovely coffee and plenty of breakfast, the pancetta a favourite of mine. We had dinner on the Friday night (arranged in advance) and it was superb! As good as any restaurant we have ever eaten in. We ate out the other nights and got some great restaurant recommendations

The service
Friendly and welcoming, we felt welcome to stay and received wonderful insights and stories from Seonaid & Christopher. I read a lot of the reviews on here and feel the negative reviews miss the point. If you want to be waited on hand and foot, have AC etc. etc. go and stay at a larger hotel. The whole pleasure here is in how relaxed the place is and the service fits the place perfectly.

We will definitely go back, superb and one of our favourite hotels

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dowks120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Torre Di Moravola is a totally unique and luxurious experience. Set in the middle of nowhere you feel disconnected from everything so you can truly relax. Seonaid and Christopher are great hosts and their food is fantastic - healthy, delicious and locally sourced ingredients. This was our first time in Italy and we were totally blown away by Torre Di Moravola. We took our 3 month old baby with us and we were really well looked after! I'd recommend it to anyone and I'm going back next year, same time same place! Thank you Seonaid and Christopher for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was magic in the mountains. Truly beautifully designed - and that's an understatement! Away from the madding crowds. Peaceful, restful, quiet and serene. The food was excellent, the views were magnificent and the nonstop sunshine blissful. The owners were charmingly hospitable. They know what they like and if you like what they like, then this is the place for you. It is both chique and casual at the same time. Relaxed and relaxing. A few of the plusses: the lounge areas, the terraces, the rooms, the bathrooms, the food, the hammock, the swimming pool, the location, the fact that is isn't easy to find, the hospitality, the architecture, the history and so much more. The minusses: can't think of any! This is not a hotel in the hotel sense of a hotel, it's like staying in someones beautiful home, but with all the privacy you desire. Spoil yourself (but it comes at a price).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenGeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montone
2.5 mi away
Hotel Fortebraccio
Hotel Fortebraccio
#1 of 6 in Montone
535 reviews
13.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Acquacalda
Agriturismo Acquacalda
#2 of 6 in Montone
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Locanda del Capitano
23.9 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
18.1 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre di Moravola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre di Moravola

Property: Torre di Moravola
Address: Zona Carlo, 06014 Montone, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Torre Di Moravola Hotel Montone
Torre Di Moravola Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing