We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid view a side from centre”
Review of Hotel La Roccia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Roccia
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavalese
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is really cool for someone looking for the easy access to the slopes (Val Cenis) and does not want to be really in the downtown with all the rush. The rooms are decent size, clean and functional. We book rooms for 2 person and find 2 rooms with nice terrace. There is a small wellness directly in the hotel with one Jacuzzi and 2 saunas. No swimming pool. But there is public swimming pool just 300 m from the hotel. The ski lift is around 500 m and there is a bus station in front of the hotel. Nice and friendly stuff. Speaks also german and english. Bar and restaurant included. It is definitely good choice for families.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front part are facing road but it is quiet during the night. With that you got a fantas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martylausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 435 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

I went with my two daughters to Val di Fiemme, La Roccia hotel for one week to enjoy skiing just before Christmas time. First impression from the hotel itself, our room and staff were excellent and I did not change my mind until the end of our stay. Although the hotel is not small we felt like part of their family. The staff were very friendly and helpful all the time, the food was delicious, especially dinners with four courses starting with salads, continued by two main courses and finished with excellent desserts.

We had a nice view across the whole valley and mountains around including lifts to Alpe Cermis skiing area located near the hotel I guess less than 500 meters away. It would be possible to walk there although I was too lazy to walk in ski boots carrying skis of three persons so I drove my car all the time and I reached the lift station in a minute. There is a station of ski bus near the hotel but the bus did not run very often probably because we were there out of the main season. Although there was not much snow during this time downhill courses were very well prepared every day and also staff there take care about their business as it is usual according to my experience with Italian skiing resorts.

After skiing time we very much enjoyed wellness centre which is part of the hote and my kids especially appreciated the pool and than tea at five with sweets. During this time I usually used the opportunity to read/write e-mails etc. as there is free wifi network in the reception and lobby area.

Last but not least La Roccia hotel offers great value for money when I compare it with other hotels in Alps ski resorts of the same level.

I was so satisfied that I decided to come next year again also with my wife and our italian greyhound as well - they allow small dogs in the hotel for little extra fee.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VasekH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laroccia, Proprietario at Hotel La Roccia, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear Mr. Vasek,
thank you very much for your words!
We are very happy that you were so satisfied to decide immediately to come back in our hotel next year.
Our big family looks forward to meet you, your wife and your daughters again!!

Ciao Ciao
Paolo GIlmozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our family was at La Roccia for three consecutive years for our annual Feb half term ski holiday - we were part of a group of friends - the first year totalled 52 and in the second year 65 people came because we had such a brilliant time at La Roccia that we invited family/friends to join us.
The hotel owner Paolo was so friendly and helpful and always on hand to ensure guests were comfortable. The facilities were enjoyed by all - spa(love it) table tennis area, pool area and the bar!!! The staff were so patient with all our kids - we had plenty when we add them all up!!! They were so good with our kids that they drew the kitchen staff a lovely picture to thank them for all the efforts made to cater to kids' needs!
The afternoon tea was something we all looked forward to after all day skiing. It provided a cosy and relaxing time to exchange news of the day. The choices of tea were amazing and the locally made cakes were delicious. We still talked about La Roccia's tea!! They always refill when the tray of cakes was demolished by hungry kids and adults!!
The dinner time was special as the choices were many and every dish is mouthwateringly good.Portions were so generous and always happy to provide second helping. The chef ensured all needs were catered for in the menu . The puddings were overwhelmingly nice. Certainly not a good time to think about dieting!!
After 8 years of skiing, La Roccia is our definite favourite and ticked all the boxes for us as a family as well as a large ski group.
The ski lift is a short walk away and if you are after a bigger skiing area it is only a short bus ride away.
Definitely recommend this to all - excellent choice for ski hotel!

Room Tip: The suites are excellent . Value for money family rooms where 2 kids(<12) with 2 adults stay fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laroccia, Proprietario at Hotel La Roccia, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Oh Cherry,
we are very happy to read you and it's a honour for us to receive so many compliments!
We try to give always our best!
We hope to see you and your friends again.
Ciao Ciao Paolo and family and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel has an excellent SPA and location, but expect to be disappointed with the rest if you expect a 4 star service for what they charge you.
The food is very standard not what you expect to find in Trentino, the breakfast is very basic, they do serve low quality supermarket bread as an example, if you arrive after 9 am, you may not find even any cheap bread but discount supermarket cakes.
In the half board it was included the “house wine”, when we requested it the first night, the waiter informed us that it was low quality and that he wouldn't drink it!
The waiter was very disappointed as he expected us to buy a different whine from the menu, so we were offered a warm white wine, not refrigerated at all!
The included afternoon tea offers cakes and a few cakes (this ones were nice), the pity is that they put in a tray just 30 small cakes so after 10 people helping themselves, the cakes were finished and not replaced! You have to be there at 5 sharp if you want to try them.
The bar staff is very unfriendly and seams to hate the tourists.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean, the SPA is really good.
This hotel should charge less for what they are offering, and definitely is not a 4 star accommodation because of the low quality food and service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TopExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laroccia, Proprietario at Hotel La Roccia, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Mr. Topexplorer,
Thank you very much for your criticism, that push us to improve. We are very sorry as well for your polemic undertones.
What you define "standard...and basic food" signifies for us genuine one: we serve a lot of hand made products both in our restaurant and in our breakfast room. Than if you didin't like our cuisine we are sorry, everyone has his tastes (See the review of a family coming from Trentino, that defines our food in restaurant and at breakfast "excellent").
The bread, for example, comes from a little baker's of Val di Fiemme with a long artisan tradition: they prepare for us three different types of white bread; a brown one; a wheatmeal one with nuts and the sandwich loaf.
The same is for the cakes at the teatime: they are handmade from our cuisine.
Probably the "globalized" taste don't allow us anymore to recognize the traditional flavours!
The fact you report that you didn't find much choice on our breakfast buffet after 9am, it sounds me a little strange, because the breakfast time is till 10am and we have a special room for it, so no need to hurry and finish it to prepare the room for lunch! Probably you arrive in a moment when a lot of people had already had breakfast and our waiters were replacing the buffet: it takes a little time and in these case we ask the guests to be a little patient.
(P.s. In Trentino the 4 stars hotels aren't obliged to have a separate room for breakfast).
Finally, as I can understand, you booked a room with our "special for family"offer: an all inclusive package, where we offer a lot of activities and services for children and adults and a selection of drinks for a very interesting price. The house wine included is a normal quality table wine. Our wine list was at your disposal to choose one of the Trentino and Italian wines that can satisfy also the finest palate.

Best regards
Paolo GIlmozzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed in this hotel with 2 young children and the babysitter - so we ordered the suite, but actually we got two double room conected with the common entrance. By making reservation it was confirmed that we booked 50 m2 suite, but we found a 30 m2 maximum. Room was clean but with very cold floor so for children was not comfortable to play and we used boots all the time. The breakfast was the best thing in the hotel: really good with enough choise of meal. The tea time it is shame to call tea afternoon because only bad quality cookies were served to the tea and all week the same. Dinner was eatable but far away from gourmet, just 2 timed a week fish. So I would mark the cleaness of this hotel and not far from the lift and Cavalese centrum and nice view from the small suite.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lescol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Just returned from a weeks' stay in the wonderful Val di Fiemme - in the heart of the Dolomites. We booked a double room with an additional bed on half board basis, through internet. The room was spacious enough to accomodate all four of us (2 adults and two very young children). Hotel La Roccia is situated in the best spot in Cavalese commanding stunning valley views from all rooms, yet being so close (2 minutes by walk) to the charming village centre. The ski lifts to mount Cermis are aslo situated within short walking distance from the hotel. We really can't complain about anything in this hotel. All the staff (at reception, at the bar, the waiters at the restaurants, the housekeeping staff and last but not least Paolo the owner) were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. They really make you feel welcome. Most staff can communicate fluently in at least three languages - English and of course Italian and German.
Breakfast is served in the breakfast room on the second floor with lots of choice. Dinner consisted in a four course menu - again with ample choice (varied every day) . The food tasted great every time. The hotel also has a wellness centre with spa pool, sauna and turkish baths. In our opinion this place scores top from all aspects. In a nutshell it's charming, it's cozy, it's friendly, it's clean, serves delicoius food and above all it's excellent value for money! Our rating - five stars (anything less will be an unfair judgement). Would we recommend? Absolutely YES.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Giulia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavalese hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lagorai Alpine Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#6 of 18 in Cavalese
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Orso Grigio
Hotel Orso Grigio
#10 of 18 in Cavalese
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Bellacosta
Park Hotel Bellacosta
#12 of 18 in Cavalese
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Azalea
Park Hotel Azalea
#3 of 18 in Cavalese
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Laurino
Hotel Garni Laurino
#4 of 18 in Cavalese
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Roccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Roccia

Address: Via Marco 53, 38033, Cavalese, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Cavalese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavalese
Price Range: $121 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Roccia 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Roccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing