We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort for off-peak holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel / Villaggio Cala Mancina
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in San Vito lo Capo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were here for the last week in May and enjoyed the experience despite a few things. The positives:
good pool area, nice little bar/cafe, great location for the beach and town, rooms clean, few insects etc
negatives: our room was only cleaned once in the week (and only because we had to change rooms due to building works), can get noisy as its a family resort due to children etc so maybe not the best for a couples holiday but good for families, there was a bit of a noise coming from the bathroom at random times of the day which w think was being made by the boiler next door

One thing we noticed on our last day was the addition of a new lifeguard; he was very unfriendly and enforced some new rules which were not in place the 6 days we were there already; he blew his whistle at everyone who attempted to jump in the pool and got everyone to wear swimming caps (which you had to go to reception to get!), which made things inconvenient for a lot of guests. To make matters worse, he closed the pool between 1pm-3pm which are obviously the peak times!! We later noticed there was a sign for the pool hours which say they are from 10am-1pm and 3pm-7pm which wasn't enforced before that, so perhaps people travelling at peak season should bear this in mind.

Also wanted to say the lady working in the cafe is very friendly and works very hard, couldn't believe she was working 7 days breakfast to dinner! Makes a good cocktail too!

All in all a lovely resort in an amazing location (the sea is stunning) but could do with getting rid of that annoying lifeguard!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colourfulfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 409 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here 2nd week in May, so were one of a handful of guests.
Reception staff were friendly but had little or no English, as per the bar staff etc.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was very clean and had a spacious kitchen / sitting area. It had a small patio and lawn in front. Apartment was cleaned and beds made / towels changed daily.
Complex has a lovely little pool area and pools (although may be tight for space in peak season).
It is in a good location, just 5 mins walk from the beach & town and 20minutes drive from a beautiful National Parkland.
(Beware of jellyfish if you have little ones paddlng in the sea)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from 4 nights in this 'hotel' (1st Sept-4th Sept 2011), and it was not a particularly pleasant experience. Being as fair as I can, here are the pro's and con's,
Pros- 1) Free parking
2) Fresh Croissants & Pastries at breakfast, good coffee,
3) 5- 10 Minute walk from beach
4) Seemed to be good activities for children, (although if they don't speak Italian they may not be able to mix with the other children)
5) Reception staff spoke English.

Cons - 1) Unhelpful staff
2) Poor service - didn't change the towels, empty bins or make up bed in room every day.
3) Terrible breakfast (if you want anything different to pastries/croissants)
4) Really annoying DJ playing music by the pool all day/evening
5) Very dark room, in very corner of hotel/resort with a view of a 30 ft block wall.

This really is not a hotel, if anything it's more of an apartment/resort type thing. We booked a double room with breakast, but felt as though we were in a self catering resort. I think most of the accommodation are apartments, so if that's what you're booking then you will have different expectations to us. Very few people seemed to be getting inclusive breakfast and this was shown by the lack of effort they put into it. They put out a couple jugs of juice, a few yoghurts on the last morning, and packets of that small dried toast that you get on the continent.They did have croissants and pastries behind the bar that could be sold to otrher residents and that we were able to help ourselves to. There was however no fresh fruit, cereal, meats, eggs, nothing like that, all things that I've had in other 4 star hotels in Sicily.
If you don't have kids, I definitely wouldn't recommend this place, as It is all geared around activities for them around the pool.
Generally, don't be expecting to be receiving traditional 'hotel' treatment. The office/reception closes quite early in the evening, towels and beds won't be changed daily in your room, staff won't be very accommodating. Apart from that, you'll be fine!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TuckerBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

When we arrived at the Villaggio Calamancina, we were hugely disappointed by the overall external look of the buildings (run down and old) and by our duplex apartment which, once opened, was dark and smelt old and "stuffed" despite being clean. The patio in front was also very dirty, with plastic chairs and table which looked very ancient and stained.

We then went to the pool area as our two children wanted to refresh from the trip. No free deck chair was in sight and the area all around was very dirty too. It was very crowded with quite noisy people, both adults and kids. It must however be said that we were in the middle of the afternoon; the clientele was a strange mix between time share holiday makers and hotel guests, meaning that guests were not "jelled" and actually, quite different form one another. The overall impression was therefore quite negative.

Mu husband and I immediately talked about going the following day to find a different place for the week (we spent the 2nd week in Favignana, at the Cala La Luna, owned by the same company as the Calamancina - much better experience about which you can read under that hotel).

On the second day, however, we started accommodating to the initial disappointment, as our kids were enjoying the pool, the kids club with very funny and attentive staff and the evening animation. We also slept very well in our room, with good air conditioning system and the daily cleaning we paid extra for was really worthwhile as it was done impeccably.

The beach was quite a walk away, with beautiful sea but extremely crowded. One could not really relax. We were actually told that in August the situation worsens, which we can not imagine really... We therefore decided to take boat and car trips which was a very good choice as it made that first week for us quite varied and very pleasant (go to Erice, it's really stunning, and their cannoli are to die for!).

San Vito Lo Capo has a beautiful natural setting; the center around the old church is really nice, but the further away one walks from it, the more depressing the areas get. Moreover, having been in Sicily already, we were expecting to eat great food and, on the contrary, the quality was quite average. San Vito caters for a mass market and even the very best restaurants offer "three services" a night (8/9:30 and 11), pushing you to finish your meal and we really did not enjoy that.

All in all we managed to enjoy it because we found a way around it and also because, it must be said, the staff at the Villaggio was extremely helpful (the receptionists were great) and the entertainment quite valid, considering how bad this can be in some even more classy environments. But we would not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raffaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This is a very nice spot in San Vito. It's not on the beach/sand but up on a little hill close to the marina.

It's close enough to easily walk across one street to get to the sand which will lead you into the main town where all of the restaurants and shops are. Pool area is great with a bar area where you can get drinks, food and if you don't want to do that, they will bring them to you. You get a beautiful view of the giant rock in San Vito. I don't know what it's called but you can't miss it.

If you have a car you can drive to the entrance of the Riserva Dello Zingaro..Riserve of the Gypsy in english. A great spot to hike along the ocean in completely unspoiled terrain. The are some hills but for the most part it's really flat and easy to walk. If you're here it's worth going to see it.

The staff is great and helpful. If you come in early May or May in general..you'll have the place to yourself and they are happy to see you. I think there was a total of 3 rooms occupied when we were there so we got lots of attention if you need that.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickFromSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We chose Villaggio Calamancina from our timeshare service and while the property was adequate we will not return for a second visit.

We had a one bedroom/one bath on the 2nd floor towards the front of the property. There was a small balcony off the living area. The kitchenette served its purpose and there are good markets in town. Buy your own dish soap and sponges.

Upon our arrival, the cleanliness of the flat was questionable.

Although we would like to have rented a bike, we never did. There were only a few that were functional and they were never available.

There were dogs across the street that barked constantly. I understand this is outside the hotels control but it did cause us to keep the balcony doors closed a good portion of the time. Oh, I can't forget to mention the burglar alarms in the neighborhood.

The pool is lovely but the hours are odd. Proximity to the beach and the town is good.

Wi-Fi is available for a charge and only in the pool area.

The property photographs are misleading. The good views appear to be taken from the hotel up the hill. A few of the Villaggio Calamancina rooms may have something similar but as most of the buildings are at the bottom of the hill, I doubt it.

Some of the hotel staff are wonderful, helpful, gracious and knowledgeable. Others staff members…

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Lovely people and atmosphere is friendly, the views are fantastic, everything clean and it is great to have a mini kitchen, you can go to the markets and find fresh produce, bring it back, put it into the big fridge then sit outside your own private patio and admire the loveliness of San Vito in peace. The rooms are not your classic 4 star ones, and don't expect all of that in Sicily, it is not the island for it and does not need to be, as it is a 4 star island, getout there and see it! The rooms have a lot more personality and flavour, high ceilings, different shapes, all done out in a rustic sicilian way. This place is so nice and the pool is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Vito lo Capo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mira Spiaggia
Hotel Mira Spiaggia
#38 of 56 in San Vito lo Capo
697 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pocho Hotel
Pocho Hotel
#26 of 56 in San Vito lo Capo
218 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Oasi da Paolo
Hotel Oasi da Paolo
#2 of 4 in Castelluzzo
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
783.3 mi away
Trigrana Vacanze Hotel
Trigrana Vacanze Hotel
#1 of 4 in Castelluzzo
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sikania
Hotel Sikania
#18 of 56 in San Vito lo Capo
277 reviews
5.4 mi away
Catarin
Catarin
#3 of 4 in Castelluzzo
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel / Villaggio Cala Mancina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel / Villaggio Cala Mancina

Address: Via Eboli 29, 91010, San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > San Vito lo Capo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
Price Range: $48 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel / Villaggio Cala Mancina 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a green hillside just a few meters from the beach and the marina, between trees and flowering shrubs, the Villaggio Cala Mancina overlooks at the beautiful bay of San Vito Lo Capo with its expanse of white sand, offering a panorama of incomparable beauty. The village, with its typical Mediterranean-style architecture, offers the ultimate in comfort with hospitality and services comparable to a four star hotel. The elegance of the finishes and fittings, the refinement of the furnishings, the careful arrangement of green, the intelligent distribution of the common areas, the use of local handcrafts such as wrought iron, terra-cotta tiles, marble, natural stone and brick pavers, give the entire complex a unique personality. Outside, Mediterranean gardens, where you can stroll along the paths of light and vibrant colors. Behind the apartments, almost suspended over the sea, there is a large pinewood belonging to the village, from where you can admire the small town with its white houses and the wonderful bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel / Villaggio Cala Mancina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Calamancina Hotel San Vito Lo Capo
Hotel / Villaggio Cala Mancina San Vito Lo Capo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing