We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Places in the heart...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Piccolo Mondo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in San Vito lo Capo
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Places in the heart...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is not about the famous movie, it is only the right title of my review and what I want to tell by that is: if you love to travel and you’re really lucky, you can find places and people that will remain forever in your heart, dear memories. This is what I feel about Piccolo Mondo.
At the end of February when I planned the trip in Sicily for June (2 families), I made a serious research on TripAdvisor in order to decide where to go.
I never even thought to go in San Vito lo Capo, but reading the reviews about best hotels in Sicily, I was surprised to discover in top 5 best hotels in Sicily this 3* hotel Piccolo Mondo.
I read all the reviews and, amazed by the absence of negative impressions, I decided to contact the owner in order to make a reservation.
Even more surprising was that in February there were only 2 rooms available, not even the best rooms, it means without balcony, everything else was already sold.
I decided right away that we have to go there, even if we usually don't choose 3* hotels.
I have never regretted this decision, we enjoyed a wonderful stay in San Vito lo Capo and the merit belongs to Vito and his family, always concerned to ensure guests the best conditions.
I don't want to repeat what has already been written in more than 270 reviews about this hotel immaculately clean, you can trust all the excellent reviews, don't exaggerate with anything.
I only want to say that: if you want to spend a week very close to a great beach with crystal water, in a small town which still preserve its original atmosphere, with great restaurants (Vito will send you to the best, his recommendations were always correct and very helpful, not only for restaurants, but about everything in the area, even for the best parking in Palermo!) in a hotel with warm family atmosphere, offering a breakfast unusually rich for Italy, then go to Piccolo Mondo and you will never be disappointed.
We want to return. I have met people who came for 15 years at this hotel!
Dear Vito, thank you for everything, we wish all the best for you and your dear family and we hope to see you again!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank viviRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    79
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
159
313
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Two weeks in San Vito, two weeks in this hotel. Loved it! We had a nice room with terrace and great view. Free wifi, good breakfast, great service, clean rooms. This ticks all boxes for me.

I'm glad I picked the hotel and would return without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Los T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in Piccolo Mondo, especially after the noisy room experience of the previous hotel. The rooms were relatively quiet, although most hotels have some kind of noisiness which should always be accounted for. The manager addressed me by my first name and often asked if I was allright: I liked this personal note and it makes you feel more like a guest than a customer.
Breakfast was nice: not overly stacked but it had most essentials as some fruits, the sweets and the hearty stuff.
The best thing was it's distance to the beach and the room had a lovely (partly) seaview.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DidiDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

From the first minute we walked into the Hotel Piccolo Mondo, to the second we left, we had excellent service. The hotel is very bright and modern and it is also very clean. The rooms are cleaned every day and the cleaners make a very good job of it.
Breakfast is very varied and includes, fruit, cereals, toast, croissant, a selection of Sicilian sweet pastries, fruit juice, tea or coffee. They also have a sweet Sicilian yoghurt which is wonderful with honey.
The hotel is situated 200m from the beach. When you walk out the door you can see it. You are also in the middle of the town and very close to all the eating places.

We are very choosy about holiday accomodation but we just cannot fault this hotel. Great location, great staff and nice accomodation at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steveindenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Haven't stayed in a 3 star hotel for a while and what a treat this was. Right next to the beach and clearly newly refurbished. The staff are so helpful and friendly...everybody seems to be related but then this is no surprise in Sisily!...nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is adequate...coffee divine and always a fresh, local cake. Get a room with a balcony because you can see the sea although they really aren't big enough to sit and have an evening drink. There is another building across the road so you have to cross a small road for breakfast. There's no bar to speak off but we were offered drinks on returning to the hotel after supper. Bathrooms aren't huge but enough to wash the sand off but take shower gel/shampoo as you are only given a tiny sachet. There are loads of local shops to buy everything you need anyway so that's not a biggie. I'm not sure how noisy the hotel buildings would be if the hotel were full because there is a lot of tiling but we slept several nights with the window open and weren't bothered by traffic noise. There is air conditioning which you would undoubtedly need in the high season. There are some bikes you can use although there is a rental service a couple of blocks away. Our room had a fridge and we were encouraged to fill it with anything we liked. For some reason there was a mix up re our dates and as a consequence we had to move room for the last night but , in return for this inconvenience, we were refunded a nights rental. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a reasonably priced break in this area.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssw57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a fine hotel, but the extremely positive reviews on TripAdvisor are perhaps a bit exaggerated.

Yes, the staff is very friendly.
Yes, everything is new, clean, and decorated nicely.
Yes, the rates out of season are very reasonable.

But: the rooms are not soundproofed so you do hear the traffic (not a lot) and the other guests and the hot water for the shower depends on the sun. (We were there after a cloudy day and the hot water ran out.)

So, the hotel is fine but you may be disappointed after reading all the extremely positive reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefan_Boer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitoGs, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo Mondo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for choosing our hotel and for expressing your opinion.

I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused by the temporary problem of hot water, unfortunately there was a contemporary and excessive use of hot water, in a very cloudy day.

With regard to your disappointment, I want highlight, that you have arrived without a reservation and for one night, accepting the only available room, maybe a little louder than the other rooms. I'm sorry to have disappointed your expectations, I hope to have you again as our guests for a longer time and to find a better solution for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valetta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My friend and I arrived at the hotel for only one night, and I only wish we could have stayed longer. The family is vey hospitable and made it clear from the beginning of our stay that our comfort was their main priority. Upon arrival the owners' son, Marco knew exactly who we were and introduced himself before graciously showing us to our rooms. Later on in the evening we met his father who was extremely helpful in giving us directions for the next day and suggesting some good local restaurants. A delicious, fresh breakfast is included and a great way to start the day. That morning they happened to have the most delicious homemade ricotta cake and when they realized how much we enjoyed it, they sent us off with two more slices for the road! The rooms are very comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Vito lo Capo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riva Del Sole
Hotel Riva Del Sole
#3 of 55 in San Vito lo Capo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
5.5 mi away
Trigrana Vacanze Hotel
Trigrana Vacanze Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castelluzzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel / Villaggio Cala Mancina
Hotel / Villaggio Cala Mancina
#15 of 55 in San Vito lo Capo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mira Spiaggia
Hotel Mira Spiaggia
#45 of 55 in San Vito lo Capo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Helios Hotel
Helios Hotel
#5 of 55 in San Vito lo Capo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tannure
Hotel Tannure
#4 of 55 in San Vito lo Capo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Mondo

Property: Hotel Piccolo Mondo
Address: Via Nino Bixio 7, 91010, San Vito lo Capo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > San Vito lo Capo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#3 Family Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Vito lo Capo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccolo Mondo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A step away from the most beautiful beach in Sicily. A rich breakfast buffet with Sicilian food. A lovely rooftop terrace to relax after a day at the beach. Staying at the Hotel Piccolo Mondo means living San Vito Lo Capo and its natural beauty and gastronomic, letting yourself be pampered by Vito, Antonella and Marco. A love of hospitality that began in 1988 and continues even now as if it were the first day, always trying to offer an unforgettable holiday experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Mondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Piccolo Mondo San Vito Lo Capo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing