We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Lume di Candele

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paceco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Lume di Candele
Ranked #11 of 21 Paceco B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Lume di Candele thanks to the recommendation of a friend. I have to say that the place largelly exceeded my expectations in really all aspects:
1. Friendliness of the owner, who makes you feel at home from the moment that you arrive.
2. The house is beautiful, very large so that guests can enjoy full intimacy and the views from the house of the olive and grape fields next to the house are outstanding
3. Location, very easy access as you reach Trapani and with excellent communication to the areas of interest in the region (erice, trapani, il capo de san vito, riserva de lo zingaro...)
4. Spectacular breakfast, served in the garden, next to the pool.

Room Tip: The two rooms that we had were extremelly quite, large and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
116
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My initial impression was a little apprehensive being somewhat isolated and a number of dogs in evidence, I'm not really a dog person but Mario our host explained that these were abandoned and he was caring for them. They were very well behaved.
Once you have settled into this place it feels just like home but better as Mario and Antonell"A" cannot do enough for you. This really is a very comfortable place and we were very sad that we had only booked two nights. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weesp
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This year we visited Sicily for the second time. We also visited 'A Lume Di Candele' for the second time. We consider this a terrific bed and breakfast!
The environment is perfect|: we visited Erice, Trapani, Le isole egadi, etc.
Mario and Antonella are the best hostesses we could ever wish for. Their hospitality is great and their breakfast is marvellous.
We will come back, that's for sure!
The Netherlands, Weesp, Annemiek and Ad

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed five nights at this excellent B&B. Mario and Antonella will do whatever they can to make your visit an unforgettable experience! The villa is located a bit in no-man's-land, in the middle of olive tree fields, but once you pass through the gate you enter in a different world! The villa offers a view on an artificial lake and the Erice rock. The B&B offers 4 rooms in a very large house. The guests have free access to two large, nicely decorated living rooms and can make use of two large terraces, which are used to serve breakfast! The large terrace behind the house is adjacent to the swimming pool (which we didn't use because too windy).
Our room was large. We had a separate room to store our luggage and put away our clothes (very convenient). We had a large, beautiful bathroom. Hairdryer available! One minor point (at least in our opinion): No shower, only a bathtub (with handshower though). We had some difficulties with the plumbery, but were given access to the bathroom of the neighboring room, which was not occupied. No safe available in the room, but don't worry, 6 (kind) dogs are safeguarding the property (together with a cat).
One thing which we have never experienced before (certainly not in Italy) was the unbelievable richness and quality of the breakfast. Just divine! On top of scrambled eggs, Antonella gets you a warm pie and sweet cake every day! The chocolate, apple and ricotta cakes were unforgettable!
For dinner you need to take your car and drive to Trapani or Paceco. Mario has some good advice and can make servations for you.
Mario and Antonella deserve the noble prize for their hospitality and have made our stay an unforgettable experience!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erik_Tervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kehl, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

There certainly cannot be a better Bed and Breakfast run with such love and friendliness!


- Mario is the perfect host with his friendliness, help, hospitality and humour.
- Breakfast cannot be beaten! Wonderful food, sitting on the terrace in fantastic surrondings served up with love by the very warm hearted, charming Antonella.
- Their restaurant and food tips for Trapani were a big hit.

We came as guests in need of a holiday and left, fully relaxed, tanned and wowed by this amazing B&B. I admit tears of sadness were shed when we said goodbye to our new "friends" Mario, Antonella and their family of dogs. We will come back! We miss you "A Lume die Candele".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winters_Family_Kehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

A lume di candela in Paceco is a beautiful B&B, not far from Trapani and therefore a good start or end location for your Sicilia tour.
We spent 4 nights there, in a very friendly and peaceful environment. Thanks to Antonella the food was excellent, and therefore it is a pity that we could not have diner with them.
Owner Mario really opened his whole house to his guests, and gave good alternatives for diner in Trapani.
Thanks Mario and Antonella, for a lovely stay !

Room Tip: We found this location via Tururi Agency
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in A lume di Candele for three nights and it was really wonderful! Mario is the perfect host and Antonella is a sweet kind woman and she makes the most tasty sweet and salty pies for breakfast. She gave me some of her recipies so I can make the pies at home. Mario made some reservations for us in very good restaurants in Trapani. Our room was very big with a beautiful bathroom and airco. Breakfast is great! If the wheather is good you have the breakfast outside near the pool and olive trees and the view is oh so nice. The B&B is not far from Trapani, but you will need a car. We stayed in 5 B&B's in Sicily but A lume di Candele is the best of all. We will go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paceco
3.9 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
3.9 mi away
Relais Antiche Saline
3.3 mi away
B & B Casolare nelle Saline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Cafisu
Bed & Breakfast Cafisu
#1 of 21 in Paceco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baglio Costa di Mandorla
1.3 mi away
Turismo Rurale Baglio Cantello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Lume di Candele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lume di Candele

Property: A Lume di Candele
Address: Via Citrolo 25, 91027 Paceco, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Paceco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paceco
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
A Lume Di Candele Paceco, Province Of Trapani, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing