We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, centrally located family-run hotel”
Review of Hotel Emet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Emet
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Madesimo
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This traditional hotel is located on the town's main drag and offers free parking facilities just opposite. We have two small dogs, which were readily accepted here. Most other places in town have a no-pets policy that would have effectively prevented us from staying in Madesimo. During our short stay, every member of the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful to us and our canine associates. Upon arrival, we were even shown two rooms to choose from. The hotel decor is old-fashioned and typical of Italy's traditional mountain establishments, and I actually prefer it to a more contemporary look in a setting such as Madesimo, a slightly anachronistic Milanese enclave in the Alps. From the hotel you can stroll down the pedestrian area to the southern end of town or head uphill along the bank of the Scalcoggia creek for splendid views of the mountains. From here, the Swiss border is just a couple of miles away. Madesimo used to be called Isolato (no surprise there) and happens to be the Italian municipality furthest from the sea (183 miles/294 kms). We will definitely stay at the Emet again next time in Madesimo.

Room Tip: We had a large room (#77) on the 4th floor, which you reach after climbing a short flight of stairs...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teerex51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Emet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 51 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

Favourite hotel in favourite alpine ski resort.
Family owned and family run.
My family and I have been experiencing their tasteful, no-frills, cosy, children-friendly hospitality every winter, ever since our first stay, about 20 years ago.
Widest choice of top-qualitybregional, national and international cuisine at te hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We were party of 3 - parents and 6 year old daughter. We stayed at the hotel Emet for 4 nights. While this hotel is in need of some modernization its charm makes up well for any short comings. The staff are very friendly. The food was very good. They catered well for our coeliac needs. Our room was large, clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Do not expect power showers. Downstairs we found many friendly families for my daughter to play. The hotel is very close to the ski-lifts. Madesimo is nearly traffic free.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John2014dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Hotel is located right in the middle of the main pedestrianised street in madesimo. We went as a group of 11 adults. There is parking directly in front of the hotel.
Ski lifts are aprox 10 mins walk in either direction from the hotel.
Hotel has heated ski boot rack and ski room.
Very nice lounge/bar area for apres ski drinks.
Food was excellent every evening, you have a choice to pick from a set menu of four courses and in the 4 days we were there nobody could fault one single thing. All the food from freshly cooked and really was of 4 star standard.
Rooms vary in size but even the smallest double was still twice the size we have had in preivous ski hotels.
Staff cannot do enough for you, one of our group was injured skiing and they could not do enough to help.
If you go during the week you are likely to have the hotel to yourselves until the milanese arrive on friday night, for 2 nights we literally had the place to ourselves which was nice!
The hotel is owned and run by a family and they seem to really care about thier hotel and thier guests, something you sometimes don't get anymore in the bigger major resorts.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

ski trip 9 persons , friendly personal and flexible
lift at 100m
road to madesimo is beautiful and exiting
we will come back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skiteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

The family run hotel has very friendly and very helpful staff. Situated in between the main ski lifts (100m or 150m away) for Madesimo and a short walk to the ski bus to Motta.

The food is generally very good and there was quite a varied selection to choose from at each sitting.

Madesimo is NOT a buzzing resort, it doesn't have pubs with Kareoke bars or even pub quizzes. It's a quiet resort but the skiing facilities are excellent for beginer/intermediate standard

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2008

The emet is 'the' home from home, friendly, convenient affordable, especially in these times if financial constraint, the family really are 'family' the welcome is second to none and being situated in the centre if the village is great when starting at the nursey or going straight up to the slopes, both within a 200metre walk through the centre of the village. Been going there for eight years and shall continue to do so as long as the 'family' are in charge..

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank j2bIsleOfAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madesimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#2 of 12 in Madesimo
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo k2
Albergo k2
#3 of 12 in Madesimo
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chalet Capriolo
Hotel Chalet Capriolo
#4 of 12 in Madesimo
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Andossi
Hotel Andossi
#5 of 12 in Madesimo
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo La Soldanella
Albergo La Soldanella
#1 of 12 in Madesimo
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arlecchino
Hotel Arlecchino
#12 of 12 in Madesimo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emet

Address: Via Giosue' Carducci 28, 23024 Madesimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Madesimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Madesimo
Price Range: $117 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Emet 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Emet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing