We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for skiing, friendly family, and delicious authentic italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Andossi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Andossi
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Madesimo
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent base for skiing, friendly family, and delicious authentic italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here in January with my husband, parents and friends. We had an absolutely lovely week. Having been to a number of different ski destinations and various hotels this is by the far the best: excellent skiing with quite slopes, coupled with a professionally run very friendly hotel, delicious and plentiful food, and (when the legs start to burn!) a gorgeous spa to relax in. Staying in this hotel just makes that week skiing every year a bit more special and relaxed. The family are what really makes the place - so friendly and welcoming, and happy to help with any requests/additional information you need. You feel like your really get the italian family experience (rather than some of the cold purpose built ski accomodation we've been to in the past.)

The bar area is nice and cosy, coupled with very large and welcome measures of pre-dinner G and T's. And the food is delicious - homely cooked fresh italian food, with bresola to die for. I particularly liked the different hors dourves served each night followed by a 3 course traditional italian meal with plenty of choice. Delicious breakfasts too. And well priced delicious italian wine to accompany your dinner.

The rooms are a good size (a lot bigger than what you get in France!) with very comfortable beds and we had a delightful little balcony looking right out on to the village of madessimo and slopes below. The spa is a really lovely benefit for those who don't want to spend every single hour on the slopes, and is very well equipped. Ideal for a little snooze mid afternoon.

Other benefits are: a safe and spacious boot room for all your kit, a short 2 minute walk from access to the slopes and the local restaurants/shops etc.

Overall I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a traditional italian 4* hotel that is well priced. Only shame is we have to wait until next year to return! Thanks again to the Hotel Andossi for making the week skiing even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSomauroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    24
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just returned from the andossi once again.This time there were six people in our party and again we had a marvelous time. The food once again was fabulous welldone to chef Andreas and his team who never fail to impress with there assorted tasty food it just gets better and better.My personal favourite is fish and I was able to eat different fish every night we were there The rest of our party ate all different types of food including the most fabulous choices of pasta dishes we all so enjoyed the food and when you have been out skiing all day it is just what you need.we love the rooms at the hotel they are very spacious and comfortable with fabulous views of the slopes if you choose a balcony room.The housekeeping is exceptional with eveything spotlessly clean throughout the hotel.We love the bar area and allways enjoyour drinks pre dinner and after dinner mixed by Paulo expertly thankyou Paulo.There is a lovely Spa and swimming pool area to relax those aching limbs after a hard workout on the slopes! You are very close to the slopes at this hotel it is no more than two to three minuite walk from the boot room to the slopes We find it in the most perfect position for a walk along the river or to the cafes restaurants and shops.We have never been welcomed more at any Hotel around the world and this is why we return again and again with family or friends and are now looking forward to returning once more very soon Madesimo is a very friendly and extremely beautiful village for skiing or walking.It is also extremely reasonably priced for ski hire lift passes and ski lessons .Thankyou to each and everyone of the Massanti family and all the staff and we will be back soon to enjoy the best hospitality you could wish for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VincePayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This short stay of 3 nights, mainly to go walking in this beautiful Alpine valley, promised much. The hotel has four stars, with a "Wellness Centre" (spa) and indoor pool: although the restaurant does not do evening meals outside the ski season, it does lunches as well as breakfast. Our family suite was spacious, spotlessly clean, and had a decent choice of English language channels on the telly. The views were gorgeous, and you could fit a chair or two onto the balcony. The bathroom was large and thoroughly equipped. The hotel is sited at the edge of town on the north-west side, just across the (quiet) road from a steep and rushing mountain stream, which to my ears sounds lovely.

Now here's what got us hacked off. There was none of the usual information about the hotel and the town that you tend to find in a folder in the room, or electronically on the TV menu - and it never appeared despite us asking for it to be supplied just after we arrived, and an assurance that they'd check. We'd successfully ordered two glasses of beer when we arrived without having to buy the whole keg, but when on the second day my wife asked for a glass of (house standard) wine from the bar, the person serving her (a lady of a certain age who appeared to have authority) would only sell her a whole bottle. Then, oddly, on checking out we were billed for two glasses of wine instead of the beers! The coffee at breakfast came from a machine and tasted toxic - in Italy, that's unusual and unforgivable. The rest of the breakfast spread was unexceptional. The room in which it was served was sepulchral - yes, I do mean just like an undertaker's parlour - yet there was lots of sunny indoor space, with good views, nearby that was not being used. Good job we were lunching on the hoof, then.

The pool's regulations asked for you to shower first, and then wear a swimming cap - it was hot in there, and highly chlorinated, so I don't know either how this added to our comfort or what it said about the sort of guests they get. You could not leave children unaccompanied in the pool - fair enough - but you could not take children into any part of the adjacent Wellness Centre. Now the spa was totally deserted every time we went past it, but upon being asked if we could have 15 minutes together in there as a family, the lady running it said that those were the rules she had to employ. So we could not use the facilities as we had - I think quite reasonably - hoped. The slightly weird juxtaposition of painted crucifixion scenes and the painted plaster models of Pingu, Snow White and the 7 Dwarves which lined the poolside were giving me bad dreams, anyway.

Two days running, at 8 am, the water in the bathroom was insufficiently hot for shaving. How do they manage that? Even the place my family used to go to in Keswick in the 70's got that right. Apart from a delightful young woman who served breakfast, and the cheerful chambermaid, the staff who had authority were - untypically for Italy, again - charmless.

How did it get 4 stars? Your guess is as good as mine, but it is in Italy, so maybe they know someone.

Room Tip: At this price, you should consider going somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudyrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
801 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Andossi is the family run hotel, located very conveniently in the quiet part of Madesimo, with short walking access to the slopes. The standard rooms are small and bit dated, but very clean and well maintained. It`s worth to take the junior suite, which is significantly bigger and better equipped. The wellness and pool part is new, with many options. like Finish sauna, Turkish bath, aroma sauna, jacuzzi etc. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive and our small group of skiers felt well like at home. The point I can complain is restaurant, serving breakfasts and dinners. The menu was even rich and looked attractive, but it was not this classy Italian taste. It is strange, because hotel Andossi has got in the last years several recommendations, including Michelin guide, so we expected unusual level of cuisine and exceptional culinary experiences.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are rather small and dark. Much better are Junior Suites, with separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We are regular skiers and we go somewhere different every year. My two sons (10 & 13) have been skiing for six years and are good intermediates (one skier, one boarder). We chose Madesimo because friends of ours were going there and so we went as a group.

My family chose to stay in the Andossi for the pool and our friends stayed further down the village towards the centre.

The rooms in this hotel are very spacious. We had a family suite and a deluxe room next door and we had acres of space. The suite had two balconies, facing directly to the slopes.

The pool is a welcome spot for a muscle-relieving swim after a hard day's skiing. However, the chap who oversees the pool is somewhat zealous in enforcing the rules...."no jumping, no diving, wear a bathing cap"...he even tried to tell my sons to be quiet on one occasion but he soon got the message that this was unacceptable...quiet...kids in a pool...come on!

It didn't detract from our enjoyment of the pool. My wife enjoyed the wellness centre where she had a sauna and steam...no kids under 14 allowed in here, so nice and peaceful.

The breakfast buffet is excellent and the evening meal, if you go for the full board option (we did) is great. The only thing about the evening meal is that it is an awful lot of food.....the hors d'oeuvre buffet was enough for my kids some nights, never mind the three courses that followed it!

The factor that made this a great hotel was the people, and I don't mean just the staff but everybody in the hotel...from the owners to the housekeeping staff and the restaurant staff.....all wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble.

We had an unfortunate incident when my 13 year old son broke his wrist on the ski slopes and, without boring you with all the details, I don't know what we would have done without the help of Titziana and her family. They are generous to a fault, with their time and any resources they could muster to help us out.

I would definitely return to Hotel Andossi again.

Room Tip: Family suite rooms are very big with a double bed and also a double size sofabed. The rooms facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandWildRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is not a 4* hotel, were with 10, 5 rooms.
Rooms are very basic , no mini-bar , problems with showers, too hot or too cold, hotel blames local authorities for this problem !!, Welness center is good , also breakfast buffet was ok, dinner was very poor and not at all what you can except from an italian kitchen. We were all disappointed !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecile l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have just returned from an 8 day Ski holiday with friends at this lovely family run hotel.We were returning guests having stayed on many previous occassions with both family and friends.We feel this fabulous 4 star hotel provides an excellent base for a Skiing Holiday or in the Summer for a walking holiday.The Hotel represents Excellent value for money.

The food is very good and plentiful with an ever changing and varied menu prepared superbly by Andreas and all his team.The dining room staff will all look after you and give service with a smile at all times.

The rooms are both spacious,warm and comfortable with plenty of hot water at any time.

The hotel Spa facilities are really good including a very nice swimming pool which is much appreciated after a hard day on the slopes.

Ther is a lovely Bar where you will get a drink mixed to perfection by paulo and also a nice lounge area to sit and relax in.

The reception area is very welcoming with a lovely fire to greet you.There is also a large playroom which provides excellent facilities for children.
All the family at this Hotel are very welcoming and will go out of their way to help with any problems you might have.The Andossi can arrange Transport for you if you wish from any of the 3 airports in Milan which is an Excellent service at a reasonable price.

The Hotels position is ideal for the slopes with approx a 30 metre walk to the slopes which will link you to all the slopes in Madesimo and also has an Excellent Boot and ski room.Private Ski lessons can be arranged through the Hotel with a highly reommended ski instructor or if you prefer you can arrange lessons with the Excellent Ski school all of which are priced at an extremely reasonable rate for a resort in the Alps which has a fantastic Snow record,typically around 35 Euros an hour for a private lesson.The Ski lift passes are also reasonable as is Boot and Ski Hire if required.Also you will find quiet pistes with no queues!!!!!Bliss!!!

Madesimo itself is a real little gem with some lovely welcoming Bars and Restauraunts to enjoy and some lovely little individual shops who will all welcome you and provide service with a smile.

For non skiers there is an Excellent museum at nearby Compolocino which is a 15 minute bus trip away.Also a visit to Chiavenna is well worthwile,this is a 50 minute bus jouney away.The Buses are reliable and reasonable.For the more adventurous there are skidoo trips up to the Swiss border.Ther are plenty of walking opportunities in Madesimo.

We have found this resort and especially this Hotel to be fantastic value and extremely welcoming and we always feel we are returning home when we arrive at the Andossi.Titziana and Franco will be there ready for you.

Give this Hotel a try you will not be disappointed and like us you will be probably be returning for years to come!!!!!!

Thankyou all at the Andossi once again for a truly fabulous Holiday and see you all again very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VincePayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madesimo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Meridiana
Hotel La Meridiana
#2 of 12 in Madesimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlecchino
Hotel Arlecchino
#12 of 12 in Madesimo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo La Soldanella
Albergo La Soldanella
#1 of 12 in Madesimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sport Hotel Alpina
Sport Hotel Alpina
#6 of 12 in Madesimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Emet
Hotel Emet
#7 of 12 in Madesimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Capriolo
Hotel Chalet Capriolo
#3 of 12 in Madesimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andossi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andossi

Property: Hotel Andossi
Address: Via Antonio de Giacomi 45, 23024 Madesimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Madesimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Madesimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andossi 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet area, this hotel is only 400 metres away from the centre of Madesimo. It features a fully equipped wellness centre, 2 restaurants, and free parking.The heated rooms at the Andossi come with carpeted floors and wooden furniture. They include a private bathroom, a sofa bed, and satellite TV. Some rooms feature a balcony.The hotel’s wellness centre is equipped with an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, and a Turkish bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Andossi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing