We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We liked it, and returned for a second few days a week later.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sperlonga
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We liked it, and returned for a second few days a week later.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Beautiful location. Easy walking through the old city. Very beautiful gardens. Room was OK. Shower sprayed the entire bathroom (just so you know what to expect - though not a serious problem) No crowds in May.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler_3349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    111
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
116
171
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Despite the wonderful location, nice beach and amazing view, this place does not stand for its promises. Service at reception is poor. They have scarse attention to children. Breakfast buffet promises more than actually gives (but here service is excellent, though!). The beach is not as clean as it should. The gym is pathetic. But worse thing is their hunger to take as much money as the can. Rates are way too high for a 3 stars and cancellation policy is criminal. This is a shame...

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elbankero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
268 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night in the middle of October. Even though the rate was more than our budget, we opted for a seaview room. The room is quite large for a three star hotel. The window opens onto a view of the beach and the sea. It was quite beautiful. The room was very clean, with good amenities. The bathroom also had good amenities – the only complaint was the shower wetting the floor since there was no barrier between the shower area and the rest of the bathroom floor. Otherwise we had no complaints whatsoever about this hotel. It is right on the beach, a 10 minute walk from the town of Sperlonga and a twenty minute walk to Tiberius’ villa and grotto. It is located near restaurants and bars open all day.

We would recommend this hotel. It has the feel of a four star hotel, with an excellent breakfast, location and ocean beachfront. The staff was friendly, spoke English and offered helpful advice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Aurora is THE place to stay in Sperlonga, hands down. It's location is perfect. The public rooms, garden, beach and beach amenities and staff are gorgeous and perfect. My only quibble is the rooms. The pictures on the website looked smallish, so I reserved a triple instead of a double for myself and my husband. Even the triple was tiny. Stylish, but tiny. The mattresses weren't very good and began bothering our backs after a 12 night stay. The hotel has some junior suites and suites you might want to check if you're planning on a longer stay.

That said, I can recommend the Aurora without qualification. First of all, Sperlonga is a magical place. If you like swimming in the sea, the water is some of the cleanest I've ever seen, it was like swimming in liquid silk, and the broad beach is simply magical. The old town on the rock above the beach can be reached by an easy ten minute walk up a slightly rising highway (you won't have to use the steep steps that are also available). The old town has been rehabbed and revitalized in the last few years and the centro is totally charming, with restaurants and boutiques and bars, all very classy. The views from up in the old town are incredible.

Tip: Don't stay at the Amyclae . . . it's very weird with strange vibes. The Aurora is the only place to be.

The best restaurant on the hotel strip is Rocco's across the street from the hotel. (The one with the white chairs and table cloths.) The best restaurant up in the old town is Gli Archi.

I can't emphasize enough how great Sperlonga is. It's only a two hour or so drive from Rome, so there's no excuse not to see it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We visited the beach town of beautiful Sperlonga from August 23-26th at the end of our busy 24 day trip to Italy and 10 day cruise to just relax on the beach before heading home. After walking the endless beautiful sandy beach we realized we had picked the best spot on the beach to stay. No rocky beach like Positano or boats in the water with fuel residue. As we were staying in an Ocean View Terrace room we were assigned seats #209 which was our room number in the front row of the beach chairs with an unobstructed view of the beach. Two nice lounges with a panel that comes over your head to give you shade and an umbrella with a little table to put things on. Our room had a huge terrace patio where we witnessed spectacular sunsets and could watch the activity on the beautiful beach. The beach was beautiful and clean, the ocean was warm and the water clear so you could see little fish swimming around your feet. It was so refreshing in the 35 degree blue skies. Our hotel was very strict on not allowing people that were not guests to set up on the beach. Two life guards would be on them in minutes of putting down there things and advised to move on. Other hotels and public beach spots had umbrellas and chairs right to the shoreline. Our spot was the nicest of the La Sirinella and the AmyClae which were our other choices before we found the Aurora. The room was nice and clean and they greeted us with a bottle of red wine and some snacks. We started the day with a beautiful breakfast in the hotel dining room that was included and spent the day on the beach listening to the waves breaking and being able to shop without leaving the beach was great. The vendors were not pushy as in other resorts. You could buy jewellery, bathing suits, dresses, cover ups, scarves, sun glasses, purses etc. There is even a fellow selling pieces of coconut in a bucket yelling "Cocomaylo". For lunch we would go up to the patio and have our favourite Caprese Salad with a couple of cold beers then back down to the beach. The service was great and they even brought us extra treats of local dishes from the dining room. Internet access was available for .15 per minute which was cheap. After watching the sun go down we ventured up the hill into the hilltop area of the town with beautiful views and vantage points for pictures. At the top on the otherside of the mountain we watched the moon rise which was beautiful also lovely beaches on the south side. Lovely restaurants and shops and a bustling crowd of mostly Italian residents on vacation. We had a lovely dinner at Da Martini Sul Ponte and met a couple from Milan. She spoke english but not her husband so she was glad to practice on us. The next night we went down the beach from the hotel to the recommended Tramonto restaurant which is right on the beach with a beautiful view and ombience and fast service. Only "Lucca" speaks english and can help you order your meal. Seafood Spaghetti and grilled steak was great with a lovely gelato trio for desert. The hotel has a great Dressing Changing room and showers for your last day if you want to stay after check out time. The girls at the reception desk were very helpful, especially Laura and Francesca. Sperlonga and Aurora Hotel are Italy's little secret and just 1 hour train ride south from Rome Termini to the Fondi-Sperlonga station on the Intercity train or a nicer faster Regional train to Formais station but the taxi ride is 40 Euros back to Sperlonga, a bit of trade off for nicer faster train ride. We will definitely go back on our next trip to Italy and stay at the Hotel Aurora. You must book in advance as only open 6 months of the year. The better the room the better your location is to get front row on the beach. Ciao!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed here for a relaxing few days after some exhausting sightseeing in Rome. We travelled by train to Sperlonga . Transfer then to the hotel was less straightforward. No buses due for an hour and the taxi rank at the station never produced any taxis ! However we rang Hotel Aurora on my mobile and they kindly sent a local taxi. The hotel is in a perfect location on the beach. We chose rooms with balconies but wished we had gone for sea views instead. Rooms are fine . No bath and slightly strange wet room type set up with shower but all quite adequate. All staff were very kind and helpful. Lovely buffet breakfast in dining room overlooking beach. We were out of season so all enjoyed the almost deserted beach and free choice of sunbed . Beautiful sunny weather and perfect beach -our teenage daughters spent hours on lilos and body boards in the sea. Plenty of local restaurants for eating out . We would all happily return and all felt that with Rome it was an excellent two centre break.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchoolsOutGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Loved this little hotel and the staff was wonderful!!! they do not miss any details. Will try and return next year

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sperlonga hotels
0.2 mi away
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Virgilio Grand Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sperlonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ganimede Hotel
Ganimede Hotel
#4 of 16 in Sperlonga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elaia Garden Hotel
Elaia Garden Hotel
#5 of 16 in Sperlonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amyclae
Hotel Amyclae
#12 of 16 in Sperlonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grazia Hotel
Grazia Hotel
#14 of 16 in Sperlonga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#6 of 16 in Sperlonga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 15, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sperlonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Sperlonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora occupies an enviable position in the center of Sperlonga, right on the beach, with private garden and parking. It’s far less than two hours from Rome or Naples. In a cosmopolitan atmosphere, you can taste a rich breakfast in front of the crystal sea. Aurora has created many areas in a natural environment where they can find or lost themselves. Watch the sunset from the terrace of the Nautilus Bar tasting an aperitif. Relax, reading a book in the lush garden or keep fit in the fitness center. The Junior Suite From the terraces of the 2 jr suites you can enjoy a wonderful panorama that sweeps from the sea to Truglia Tower and the picturesque village. The Argonauta suite is in the new part of the Hotel Aurora and ha its own entrance on the beach. It has its own entrance and access direct on to the beach in an isolated position but at the same time close to all the amenities.It is on 3 floors with a magnificient large window facing the sea. A gracious half moon shaped staircase leads you to the top floor double bedroom. From the bed to waking up, you can lose yourself in the darkness of the sea.On the beach level, two double bedrooms, each ensuite bathrooms complete the suite.Both rooms have access to the spectacular veranda that leads you directly on to the beach. It is absolutely lovely! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing