We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveler rating
422
420
164
53
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
422
420
164
53
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach pastries other hotels breakfast buffet nice property large selection hire car old town booked this hotel main beach hotel staff nice balcony rooms are modern walk up hotel beach the bus per day
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the Virgilio Grand Hotel for a week while staying in Sperlonga. The hotel is very nice and in a great location. There is a great breakfast selection. The rooms are excellent and very clean. The pool is very clean and a good size. Staff are good but not exceptional. Would recommend if staying in the area.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Shanehurleyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Do not expect a 4 star hotel. The advertised swimming pool with relaxation area and poolside bar are closed. The pool is filled with stagnant water. The hotel did not inform guests of this nor offer any compensation or alternative facilities unless you complain.
The hotel still advertises in its brochure, “To ensure that your relaxation is complete the hotel has an outdoor pool with jacuzzi and solarium to enjoy a quiet and secluded area.” Pictures of the pool are still shown on-line. The pool area was I understand closed in July due to a very tragic incident, there is therefore nowhere outside to relax. We booked the hotel because it offered a pool and secluded areas to relax. The pool area is currently taped off with the pool being full of stagnant water. The poolside relaxation area and bar are also not accessible.
Due to many of the facilities being closed, this hotel does not deliver on its promise and is not worth the cost. There a number of 3 star hotels nearby which have beach facilities just over the road from the hotel that appear better value for money and offer just as much if not more than the Virgilio Grand. Without the advertised facilities I do not see the Virgilio Grand as a 4 star hotel and is therefore overpriced.
At no time before arrival were we told the swimming pool was closed, we would have changed our booking if we had been. It was only when we asked did the hotel admit the pool area had been closed. There are no signs informing guest of the closure. We were told a private beach was available, it was however a twenty-minute walk away or having to wait for a shuttle bus, and it would cost 25 Euros per couple for two loungers and one umbrella. On our initial complaint we where not offered anything to compensate for the lack of facilities. It was only after we complained directly to the manager and sent an email that we were offered 100 Euros deducted from any extras we consumed (we didn’t consume any as the restaurant did not have any vegetarian options on their menu and the main bar was closed during our stay) and a 10% discount.
We received an email response to the effect that other customers were only given a free beach facility when they complained, whereas we where being given a 10% discount, I assume because we complained in writing. This suggests to me that the hotel has no interest in customer care or fairness.
The rooms are good, clean with excellent showers. There are balconies, but ours and most others have no view, overlooking as they do either the car park or straight into other hotels’ or apartments’ rooms and balconies. The food choice at breakfast was excellent. Service however was inconsistent, with some staff welcoming and hardworking and some who’s job seemed to be to avoid eye contact and interaction with customers. Free public beach areas are accessible over the main road from the hotel.
The hotel was very quiet to the point of feeling eerie, possibly as there is nothing in the hotel to do. The advertised American Bar was closed all the time we were there and appears only to be opened for conferences. There is a small uninviting bar in the lobby next to the reception. We didn’t see anyone using it. We were informed the cost of the spa was 25 Euros per person per hour.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

First time visit to Sperlonga which was wonderful. Hotel experience unfortunately suffered due to the Pool being unavailable since July. We booked earlier in the year and visited for 4 nights in September so found out when we arrived. The superior room with balcony was disappointing. The room was great but the balcony faced the reception window and the road all about 4 yards away and was very restricted so we did not use it.
- The room was spacious and very clean with fresh bath towels supplied daily.
- Gym was a bit spartan but useful for a static cycle and use on the multigym.
- Frustrating with the Hotel free internet as it repeatedly cut out and you had to book back in repeatedly.

Hotel staff were good and breakfast also very good. Although the Hotel is described as access to a private beach, this is correct and a bus is laid on for you or you can walk it to the Hotels private beach in 20 or so minutes or the beach at the end of the road in 3 minutes. You do have to pay the hotel 25 euro for the bed and 2 parasols each day on the hotel private beach although the management gave us this as a complementary as the pool was closed. The beach and the sea is a highlight as was the old village and restaurants.

Room tip: Dont choose room 204 if you want a decet balcony
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _ccerroni52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Dear Guest,

we are very glady to read your positive feedback about breakfast service, staff's help and his work oriented to the customers' satisfaction; instead we are very sorry to read your bad feedback about the problem of the pool, unfortunately closed for an accident in July (and youself write that we maded all possible,offering you free beach service), gym and the room assigned.

We hope to welcome you again in Sperlonga, solve this problems and offer you a best stay

We cordially greet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We booked this hotel in March for our September trip - 5 days visit. Upon arrival there was no mention of the pool being out of service. After inquiring, we were told it has been out of service since July?... kind of a joke considering we have two small children. They told us they have a nice spot on the beach (10 mins easy walk or free shuttle) and is only 25 euros per day. Little bit of a cheek to not be included in the rate. Hotel management was nice enough to comp our beach costs after a little complaining. Still doesn’t overcome the fact the pool was out of service since July.

Hotel overall is pleasant and in a good location. Clean spacious rooms, great complementary breakfast. Spa was OK. Mini mart across the street and pharmacy one street away if needed. We would recommend but with the pool out of service for 3 months, a little downside for families.

Room tip: All pretty decent rooms end of quiet street.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RogueChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Dear Rogue,

we are very glady to read your review about our Hotel and the services that you liked, we are very sorry for the problem with the pool, unfortunately it wasn't our decision to close it (one child was died in July, for this reason now the pool is closed) and we have maded all possible to solve this . We waiting for welcome you again in Sperlonga and we hope that the pool will be ready for you and for your child

We Cordially greet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, rooms are clean modern and comfortable. The location is also very good can walk any where, easily old town and beach, cafes etc. The only reason it has. Lower rating is we booked to hotel because it had a pool. When we arrived we wanted to relax after a long journey by the pool. We were told they had removed use of the pool so it was. Baking hot day and we had to go to the beach and pay €35 for half a day.
Despite the hotel saying they have use of a beach you have to pay €35 per day and €50 if you want a chair next to the sea.
This really lets down the hotel, if they had removed use of the pool without notice they should have given us a discount for the beach , this really spoilt our stay. And we had to spend and €105 for using the beach.
The breakfast was fantastic.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RosariaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Dear Guest,

we are very glady to read that you have appreciated our hotel; we are disappointing with you about the beach, because the hotel offer beach service but our guests are not obliged to use them, at 200 metres you can found also public beach, so go to our beach have been your decision, we inform in advance our customer about the price and after they can choose to go or not to go

Hoping thath we can welcome you again in Sperlonga, we cordially greet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews