We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for lunch”

La Taverna di Ulisse
Ranked #53 of 81 Restaurants in Sperlonga
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: News: In July and August we are not going to do pizza. At the entrance to the Piazza di Sperlonga, the Pizzeria Restaurant "Taverna di Ulisse" has a very welcoming interior room and in beautiful days it offers a corner on the beautiful Piazza, where you can enjoy typical dishes of local tradition and seafood prepared with the pleasant harmony of family management. The restaurant also offers a varied cuisine with dishes and specialties to suit all tastes and needs, according to the rhythms of the seasons.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for lunch”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staff were a bit slow and preferred to play on their phones but the food was very nice. Pleasant outdoor seating area in a small square with no traffic going by. Went there 3 times during our 9 day stay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank golfpsyche1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    66
    52
    18
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service leaves much to be desired”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Food was quite tasty, restaurant is in a great location right by the sea. Unfortunately the waiters we dealt with should really find other jobs. They were disinterested and seemingly would rather have been anywhere else but there. Ruined the whole experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MieliMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Extremely poor service. We waited half an hour before finally getting service. The whole experience was stressful and unnecessary. Looking back I don't know why we didn't just walk away. The essence of the problem seems to be young waiting staff who don't seem to know what they are doing and maybe the problems could be dealt with by appropriate training. The food was good. We felt we had to warn people off going to this place and did tell some of our experience. It was evident others were having problems too. We won't be going back. We left no tip. We are sorry to have to write this, but potential customers and the owner need to be aware that there us a real problem here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iLondontown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worst restaraunt service of our entire Italy vacation!!!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are A British family so don't expect a fast paced meal like Americans, but this place was ridiculous. There were not even many tables occupied and we waited literally 15 minutes before we had to hail the waiter. He was totally uncommunicative, no personality and the slowest person in Italy. There was no effort by him to be customer friendly. He placed menus on the able and water and just walked away.......everything was a difficult process and if the food had not been so good we would have walked away. Best pizza and salad we had in Italy. You can smell the wood oven from outside. Beer was cold and the location was just off the beach. If it had not been for the terrible service, we would definitely have eaten there more than once in our 4 day stay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Right next to Hotel Aurora in the paved square leading to the beach, this restaurant provide what was for us the best pizza in Sperlonga of the limited number of restaurants used. Naturally there are many pizza outlets available, but we decided to look no further after sampling theirs.
Pizza is not the only fare to be had at this very pleasant restaurant, which has exterior as well as interior seating, the latter however providing limited, n-but nevertheless typical Italian facilities.

The frequent necessity (Sundays always) to book a table speaks volumes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AandASouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di Ulisse also viewed

Sperlonga, Province of Latina
Sperlonga, Province of Latina
 
Sperlonga, Province of Latina
Sperlonga, Province of Latina
 

Been to La Taverna di Ulisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing