We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid !!”
Review of La Nave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Nave
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Sperlonga
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Splendid !!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent five wonderful days and nights at Le Nave last week. It is the most wonderful place, the staff are brilliant, only 2 members speak English and they go out of their way to help you. The Italian staff are so very friendly and happy and although we did not speak Italian they tried to communicate with us always with a smile :) Le Nave is situated at the end of a long driveway and ends at the most beautiful beach. Golden sand and extremely clean, sun loungers and parasols in abundance. The sea is beautifully clean and the soft sand just melts under your feet, great if you had kids as there is no shingle at all and the sea is very clear. Le Nave is also a Lido and Restaurant and the food is fabulous. It is istuated on the outskirts of Sperlonga, very Italian and immaculately clean.

Hotel - 3 star but with 5 star service and food. The rooms are cabins in the wonderful gardens overlooking the sea, all of the rooms have a sea view (the sea is about 300 yards away) you go to sleep and wake up listening to the sea. Very peaceful and tranquil. We had a large king size bed, desk, wardrobe, flat screen TV (all Italian, but who goes on holiday to watch TV !). Nice bedlinen changed daily. Good size bathroom, just a shower no bathtub, fresh towels each day and immaculate. My only critisism of the accommodation would be that there is nowhere to put your toiletries, just a little shelf, also the bathroom has a big picture window onto the garden so you have to keep the curtains shut all of the time. There is one double wardrobe and no drawers but we managed. In fact, it did not matter as the whole atmosphere and ambience at Le Nave is so wondrous we overlooked these small issues.

Breakfast is continental, croissants, rolls, jam, cheese and meat etc, lovely freshly made capuccinos, the breakfast room overlooks the beach, lovely place to sit and have your breakfast. We had lunch a couple of times. lovely fresh pasta and fish, the food is delicious.

Parking is included and there is also free WiFi in the restaurant and terrace area, you just have to ask for the code.

It is about a 15 minute walk along the beach into the town, lots of bars and restaurants and beautiful sandy beach. in fact the beach goes on and on in both directions with lots of bars and restaurants.

There is a small marina around the rock, a museum and archeological ruins, very interesting. The old town, on top of the cliff is beautiful, lots of narrow streets and cobbles, at the very top are some restaurants, bars and shops and an amazing view.

I think you will be able to tell that we fell in love with Sperlonga and would love to go back. We flew to Rome and it is a very simple straightforward drive, took about one and a half hours. Weather was fabulous, 28 - 30 degrees every day with some rain at night. There is so much to see in and around the area, five days was not enough, we will go back !

If you are looking for something English this is not the place for you, it is very Italian and wondrous !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annabelle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    32
    8
    8
    10
See reviews for
39
64
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel La Nave is perfect in everything! There are spacious rooms, or smaller romantic ones with sea view, very well obtained and very clean! Just ask Patrizia, the owner of this beautiful hotel, and all your wishes will be fulfilled
La Nave has a fantastic garden through which you go to your rooms or to the sea just behind it, with flowers everywhere, a small path overviewing the sea with the most beautiful roses... The food is excellent, you can sit directly at the sea or in the garden part, and you get a very personal and dedicated service, extra wishes are no problem.
La Nave has the best beach in Sperlonga, only three rows and always perfectly cleaned. A lot of space, very nice staff at the beach. too.
If you want to have a peaceful relax holiday, a beautiful hotel room at the sea with direct access, you have to go to La Nave, Sperlonga. The beautiful village can be reached on foot along the sea!
We spent a perfect holiday and will come back soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simone0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Wonderful hotel, just a few rooms between a garden and the beach.
Quiet, 10 mins walk from town.
Great staff, nice, attentioned, warm.
And an awesome restaurant!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

The hotel is spread out on an estate, with lovely gardens and various places to sit and watch the sunset or the beach. The experience at La Nave is quite unique because you feel as though you are staying at a friend’s place rather than a cold, impersonal hotel with rows of rooms stacked up floor by floor. The location, while a bit farther away from the heart of Sperlonga, is ideal because you are not too close to all the activity so it is quiet and peaceful. However, it is only a leisurely 20 minute walk along the beach to reach the town. We recommend a room with a view of the beach, so you can hear the soothing sound of the waves and take in the great view. Our room was large with lovely tiles, spacious wardrobe (with lots of hangers), a desk, wall-mounted flat screen TV, good lighting, excellent shower (no bath) and surprisingly absorbent cotton towels. The room was spotless and serviced every morning. Soap and shower caps were provided but no other toiletries. While English is not widely spoken here, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Taxis from/to the airport were arranged for us, as well as hiring a driver for the day to visit the other areas. On the day we left, staff were available at 5am to serve us breakfast. They also made special arrangements for a birthday celebration and recommended a fantastic pastry shop in town for the cake. Also worth a mention is the delicious cuisine… everything that was prepared for us was fresh and tasty because it came directly from the orchard or the sea to your plate. Restaurant/kitchen staff were very well organised. Because we were in Sperlonga at the very end of the tourist season, there were not many restaurants open. However, even if there were, we still would have had all our meals at La Nave… the food is that good. The hotel boasts a large terrace facing the beach where you can relax and watch the spectacular sunset (see our video). The road that leads to the hotel’s main gates is deceiving… because once you enter the grounds, there is really a little corner of paradise waiting for you!

  • Liked — Location, food and helpful staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sperlonga hotels
0.7 mi away
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Virgilio Grand Hotel
#2 of 16 in Sperlonga
871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#3 of 16 in Sperlonga
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Playa Grand Hotel
La Playa Grand Hotel
#12 of 16 in Sperlonga
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elaia Garden Hotel
Elaia Garden Hotel
#5 of 16 in Sperlonga
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ganimede Hotel
Ganimede Hotel
#6 of 16 in Sperlonga
502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Moresco Park Hotel
Moresco Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sperlonga
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Nave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Nave

Property: La Nave
Address: via Salette, 24, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sperlonga
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Sperlonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Nave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing