We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big park for a walk”
Review of Hongmei Park

Hongmei Park
Ranked #2 of 99 things to do in Changzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice big park for a walk”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a nice park, very well maintained. I visited on a Spring day in February and the place was buzzing, full of families out for the day.

Highlights were the old guys drawing Chinese calligraphy on the ground with makeshift mop pens and water, the boating lakes, and the stalls where kids can buy these cute little white porcelain models and then paint em with paints provided at the stalls. The atmosphere in the park is great, really relaxed, and there is plenty to explore.

On the downside, it's lacking in green areas where you can sit, this being China you can't actually walk or sit on the grass, which is a bit crap, but if you're just there for a nice walk or a wee spin on one of the boats, then it's a nice park. If you have kids then you'll love it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank paddyc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    63
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of Changzhou”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Went there a couple of days ago on a mild, grey day which improved our mood tremendously on spending time in the park. It's not far from the main shopping district, about 5-10 minutes walk. The connected areas are quaint, particularly the little hills with seating, bridges and walks. It's not a place for sitting on the grass, but to sit on seats admiring the views. The park feels big but its quite compact, compared to say one of the big London parks, not talking long to walk around.

There is also a useful cafe with outdoor seating overlooking the big lake. We had mugs of tea for 10 RMB with a thermos flask of hot water for endless refills. Mostly old people sitting around, chatting, playing games which was heart-warming hearing their chatter amongst the birdsong. We went on a weekday, guessing weekends would be much busier. One of my favourite parks in China.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank grinch_at_xmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful park, and very big. There are ponds, bridges, fish tanks, blossom trees, temples, and the famous Tianning pagoda. We spent several hours there. Like most cool places in China, it was very crowded on a Saturday.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Could Be Made Better Place With More Thought”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Visited Hongmei Park 6Apr2013 and my time was mostly okay but immediately disappointed by the grassed areas. Design and proportionally large grassed areas were definitely satisfactory but choice of turf appears fairly unsuitable for heavy traffic of everybody walking around the lawns. Saturday I was there was the first warm spring weekend so place was very crowded. Lawns still looked quite picturesque but ware and tare was already showing; so not good! Ponds were a highlight. Big problem with shortage of toilets; I needed to make use of toilet at onsite Tinghonglou Hotel whose concierge and front office staff were most polite and helpful. Whereas people like me asking to use toilet could have been easily turned away. I intend to go back and try out the Tinghonglou Hotel restaurant which overlooks the most scenic section. So top manner of these staff, got it right. To recap I was definitely happy to have been taken to Hongmei Park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RCC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great place to wander around when the trees are in blossom - or to just people watch. Very picturesque with Tianning Pagoda overlooking park. MUST take camera!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlarsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hongmei Park also viewed

 
Changzhou, Jiangsu
 

Been to Hongmei Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing