We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”

Osteria Locanda Il Canto del Maggio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Mauro and his family will leave you believing in god after their food! Simply perfect! Just go and eat and thank me later! We go every year and every year its perfect

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    125
    19
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique little restaurant...”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Canto del Maggio looks like something from a fairy story - a tiny cobbled street on top of a hill with a few small cottages and a restaurant inside a house!!
The atmosphere at this family run Osteria is relaxed and welcoming with lovely staff who are happy to make suggestions and assist with your choices.
The rustic slow cooked food is fabulous! You can tell the produce is incredbly fresh and expertly prepared and they have some great specials on offer every day - we had the guinea fowl and a wild boar ragu - both were delicious!
My only piece of advice would be - Ladies, DO NOT WEAR HEELS!! The cobbled street is very steep with a hand rail along the wall, but I even struggled in flat sandals!
But it's well worth the effort!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loro Ciuffena's top restaurant”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The tiramisu was sublime and everything else was pretty good too.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTA,GA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Not an easy location to get to so get exact directions but a very interesting place once there. The owners use their own garden for many herbs and produce which is great but I did not think the food was out of the ordinary. Very friendly place. Typical tuscan fare.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank PMSEACOAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely experience at Canto del Maggio”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Canto del Maggio is located in a tiny "borgo" up on a little hill. This borgo is totally pedestrian and there is a free parking space where you can leave the car. We hired an apartment for 1 night only for a break on a longer travel and we chose Canto del Maggio because it is located only about 10 km from the motorway exit but still in an authentic environment that has that feeling of a "far away" place. Our apartment was "Il corbezzolo", and we were surprised by the beautiful garden that was at our disposal, it was not mentioned on their website. We enjoied the swimming pool in the afternoon which is set in a beautiful and quiet rose garden and had dinner in the terrace of the restaurant. Everything was very reasonably priced. Special happy notes is that they are dog friendly and the lovely handmade cakes and biscuits for breakfast!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Locanda Il Canto del Maggio also viewed

Terranuova Bracciolini, Province of Arezzo
Terranuova Bracciolini, Province of Arezzo
 
Terranuova Bracciolini, Province of Arezzo
 
Terranuova Bracciolini, Province of Arezzo
Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria Locanda Il Canto del Maggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing