We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Hotel, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel il Viandante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel il Viandante
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
1 review
“Excellent Hotel, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Family run and familiar envirnment. Perfect location for Tuscany and more, just off autostrada. Rooms are bright, spacious and very clean. Buffet Breakfast starts your day perfectly. Staff extremely friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    91
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
60
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the middle of the notorious August summer.

These are things I like about the hotel: Location - It is close to the Prada outlet mall Space and The Mall for shopping. It is close to scenic countryside locations like Radda, Giaole, Greve. It is also next to a petrol kiosk and a few restaurants, so if you are feeling lazy to go far, you can just eat at the restaurants within 5 minutes of walking.

Staff - They are friendly and speak good English. They upgraded our rooms as we were newly weds, which was a really nice gesture. Before my travel, I emailed the owner for some tips on where to travel in the Chianti region, which the owner replied the very next day. This helped me immensely in planning my driving route. In the end, I planned a 1 day driving route from the hotel to Gaiole, Radda and then up to Greve. Coming back, I stopped at The Mall outlet, followed by Prada Space outlet mall, and finally back to the hotel.

Cost - It is value for money.

Comfort - Room and toilet were both quite spacious and clean.

Parking - Free parking for hotel guests.

The main downside of this hotel was that the air-conditioning was not strong enough to cool the room in the intense summer heat, even at night. You have to be prepared for this, probably with a small portable battery operated fan or simply just sleeping without the blankets and sheets. What I did, which hopefully did not cause trouble to the hotel owners, was I moved my bed directly to under the central airconditioning. This really helped a lot on my second night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred_Hee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We travel at least once a year by car from The Netherlands to my grandparents who live in the south of Italy. Hotel Il Viandante is very well located a couple hundred kilometers south from the middle of the total travel distance. It is very close to a highway exit, so getting there is very easy and time-efficient.
The hotel is clean, with comfortable rooms and helpful staff. The breakfast is decent and the price is pretty well too.

We've stayed here for two consecutive years and if traffic allows us to stop in this area again, we will certainly stay at il Viandante again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele P, Proprietario at Hotel il Viandante, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Google Translation
Gulp 2 anni di di ritorni continui sono tanti! una soddisfazione che si commenta da sola!
Siamo orgogliosi di esser un vostro punto di riferimento, tanti saluti e ringraziamenti anche ai nonni che sono il motivo trainante delle vostre partenze!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Have stayed in a few hotels in this region and I must say the IL Viandante is definitely the best here! Super clean and big rooms, very polite staff, good breakfast and ample parking. I will remember to bring fridge magnets for the owner when i drop by the next trip as I know she collects them =)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopperina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We just arrived around 8PM after 4 hours traveling by car and we found a very pleasant receptionist and a really good basket full of fresh fruits.
The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom well organized.
It is located close to the main motorway and all the best locations of Tuscany could be reached. In the morning a well sorted breakfast is available.
Very good for business purpose in the area, but not only!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superscricciolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele P, Proprietario at Hotel il Viandante, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hi Superescricciolina (nice nik, SuperLittleBabyHamster in Eng)..
You were absolutely right when you have told to the pleasant receptionist because hi was me!
^_^ (i'm joking)..
We remember you very clearly you were really tired when you arrived here and we are happy that you like the fresh basket fruit into the hall..
You have to know that those fruits are coming from our fields, they are sited directly behind the hotel. If you want, next time, we will tell you where the plant are exactly and you will be able to go there taking fruits directly from the fruit garden!

Once thank again, all the best ... Ema.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My Mum, my sis and I stayed in Il Viandante for 1 week and we had lovely time thanks to the staff who are amazing. The location of the hotel is perfect for day trips to Siena, Florence, Pisa and Lucca. Plus famous outlets are just right the corner. Their rate was cheap, the rooms were big and very clean, the breakfast was delicious, but above all the customer service was excellent which made our stay a very pleasant experience. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele P, Proprietario at Hotel il Viandante, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hi Barbara,
thank you very much for feedback you have written.
You are really nice and we are so satisfied to have been so pleasant for you and you family too.
For Me and our familiar staffs the most important thing is not the money (also if that is important too), it is the guest satisfaction, we really work mainly because of this.
When you came back, because of showing the appreciation for this comment... i promise you a glass of the best wine i have for every one (for children, fruit juice).

I wait for your next time!
Regards from Ema.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

First, the rooms in this hotel were clean, spacious, and attractive. The lobby is large, and the breakfast buffet is to die for! I greatly enjoyed spending time practicing my rudimentary Italian with the owners and their daughter and granddaughter. They were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. One evening, the wife even invited us to share some fresh mozzarella that they had ordered for their dinner. The hotel is off a main thoroughfare, but the mountain view behind it is lovely.

There is a small, unaffiliated restaurant next door that serves decent Italian cuisine and a small outlet mall down the road (great for those of us who want to shop for clothing without the sticker shock of downtown Florence).

Although the hotel is a short drive from Florence, I would stay here again any time and would recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Quetzal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terranuova Bracciolini
0.0 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#2 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Valdarno
Hotel Valdarno
#1 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#2 of 2 in Cavriglia
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Antica Tabaccaia
Hotel Antica Tabaccaia
#4 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#3 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
4.0 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel il Viandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel il Viandante

Property: Hotel il Viandante
Address: Via Poggilupi 668, 52028 Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Terranuova Bracciolini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Terranuova Bracciolini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel il Viandante 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premise: If you do not have a car, rent them or change hotel.How we are: the external appearance is not the best, but the interior is the opposite, especially for the Cleanest, large and beautiful rooms. Who: Short breaks, usually 2/3 days, for who don't wanna be worried about question like on-budget or over-budget, for who wanna eat well and finally hates traffic. technology with wi-fi for free, sky in the bedroom and hall, TV LCD 26. A 300 metri dall'uscita Valdarno dell’autostrada A1, ma lontano dai rumori del traffico, l'Hotel Il Viandante si trova in una posizione strategica: a breve distanza da Terranuova Bracciolini, San Giovanni Valdarno e Montevarchi; dista 15 minuti di auto da Arezzo e 25 minuti da Firenze Sud, 45 da Siena.L’Hotel *** offre camere spaziose dotate di ogni comfort: frigorifero, kit per la preparazione di tè e caffè, tv LCD 26' e SKY, connessione internet WI-FI free. La colazione, abbondante e varia, offre specialità della zona, sia dolci che salate. Di fronte all’hotel è un ampio parcheggio gratuito e un piacevole giardino.Possibilità di camere riservate con accesso diretto dall’esterno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel il Viandante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing