We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful villa in the Tuscan Hills” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa il Colto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Terranuova Bracciolini
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa il Colto
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
2 reviews
“A beautiful villa in the Tuscan Hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our group of 12 enjoyed our week at the amazing villa. The layout of the house was perfect for our group. Places that were large enough for all to gather and other places that were small and secluded if you wanted to be alone.Elena was the perfect host, answering questions and helping us to make reservations. Our cooking lesson with Laura and Sergio was entertaining and educational and the resulting meal was amazing. They treated us like royalty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Laura and Elena could not have been better hosts. They were there to greet us and tour the house with us. 12 of us stayed at the villa for a week in October. The villa was better than it's pictures. The bedrooms were all spacious and beautifully decorated, with views of the countryside. The kitchen was a great place for the group to meet and catch up on the days tours. Elena lived in another building on site and was available to answer any questions during the week - thank you Elena.
It was a short walk downhill to town, where you could find all the key shops and restaurants. The Train was about a 10 minute drive or cab ride from the Villa, the villa was about an hour from a lot of the key towns in Tuscany, including Florence, Siena, Arezzo(closer) as well as towns opinion northern Umbria.

We had Laura prepare an Antipasta meal the first night we arrived. It was excellent and a great way to start the week. We also had Laura and Sergio prepare a meal during the week. It was partly a cooking lesson and was quite fun.

I would definitely recommend this Villa for a group of friends or family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annandgary27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our group of 12 rented this amazing villa in early October. There was an incredible amount of space and was absolutely beautifully designed. Lots of space for everyone and all the bedrooms and bathrooms were perfect. We also really enjoyed the many sitting areas and quiet places to just relax and reflect at the end of the day.

We rented cars and spent a week taking day trips from the villa to small villages and towns like Assisi, San Gimignano, Siena, Orvieto, Civita di Bagnoregio, and so many more. The villa is minutes away from the main highway A1 which made it extremely convenient for traveling by car. But traveling by train was also a viable option as there is a train station in town.

The outdoor property was fun to explore and included a vegetable/herb garden, large pool and lots of fun sitting areas and places to enjoy a meal outside.

A really nice feature was that it had laundry facilities, including a dryer which seems to be a rarity in Italy. And there was never an issue with hot water considering the numerous bathrooms, number of guests and amount of laundry that we did.

One of the highlights was the evening that the Laura and Sergio cooked dinner for us. We all got to participate and help with the preparation if we wished and it was then served to us in the beautiful dining room. As for the kitchen itself, it was huge with lots of space to prepare food or just hang out and eat and chat.

The owners Elena and Laura were gracious, extremely helpful and a joy to meet.

I can't say enough great things about Villa il Colto. We truly lucked out in finding such a gem. I am hoping that I can return someday!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LynnYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our group of friends spent a week at the villa, and had a lovely time. We enjoyed the large kitchen, which was well provisioned for people who love food and love to cook. It was great to meet Leo in the garden and sample the beautiful fresh produce. Laura and Elena were lovely, assisting with all needs during our stay, without being at all intrusive.
We organised a "welcome dinner" cooked by Laura and Sergio, and also a Wine Tour both of which were great.
The proximity to the local town of Terranuova Bracciolini was fabulous and makes the self catering aspect really easy.
All in all a great week. Thanks Laura and Elena and Sergio and Leo.

Room Tip: Close windows and shutters if you want to sleep well - Gallo Nero!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 599Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay at Villa Il Colto was perfect. The setting on a hill just a few minute walk to town was very convenient. The villa is just a few minute drive to the A1 which made it very easy to do our day trips. My wife also found the close proximity to Space (Prada Outlet) very good. It was about a 15 minute car ride. The grounds were well maintained with a pool, covered outdoor eating area and vegetable garden for all to use. The house itself was very well furnished. The 6 bedrooms, multiple sitting areas and spectacular and well equipped kitchen allowed all 11 adults to be comfortable and giving everyone their own space. Elena and Laura were the most gracious hosts and helped in every way. They also spoke perfect english which was very helpful. The meals that Laura, Elena and Sergio cooked for us were by far the best part of the entire trip. They also gave us a cooking class which was a real highlight.
Villa Il Colto was truly a perfect setting for an incredible trip. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, ontarii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Everything about the villa is just the best, from the decorating to the location.

More than enough space to spread out and never get in someones way.

The kitchen is to die for modern, bright just the kitchen I would like at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our family of 11 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa il Colto. The house is absolutely beautiful, and we all slept comfortably. The vegetable garden is amazing. We often picked our own vegetables and fruits for snacks and ingredients for meals. There is also a large fig tree.
Chef Laura and Sergio prepare delicious and hearty meals. I would highly recommend employing their services.
We loved every minute of our stay at Villa il Colto!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Terranuova Bracciolini hotels
0.3 mi away
Il Piccolo Verde
Il Piccolo Verde
#1 of 4 in Terranuova Bracciolini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel il Viandante
Hotel il Viandante
#1 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Antica Tabaccaia
Hotel Antica Tabaccaia
#3 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#2 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Break House Hotel
Break House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Terranuova Bracciolini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tenuta i Lecci di Gurian Roberta Maura
Tenuta i Lecci di Gurian Roberta...
#7 of 15 in Terranuova Bracciolini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Colto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Colto

Property: Villa il Colto
Address: Via delle Ville 516, 52028 Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Terranuova Bracciolini
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Terranuova Bracciolini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa IL COLTO is a beautiful villa on three floors located in the countryside just outside of a small town. Due to its location on the top of a small hill, it is thought that the villa was once a look out tower for a nearby castle. It was later transformed into a family villa and was once owned by the renowned Medici family from Florence. The villa is set in a garden with its own private pool and has views to the surrounding countryside and towards the local town, which has avariety of local shops as well as a supermarket, restaurants and bars (1km). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing