We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
GreenLeadersGold level
The Hague
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good airport hotel”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Obviously there can only be one reason to stay in this hotel and it has to do with the proximity of the airport. You'd stay here after or before a flight - or as in our case: both. Having read reviews of daytrippers to Rome I can only wonder: why - although the transportation to the airport (shuttle or taxi) is very good but not walkable, getting to central Rome is just bothersome and doesn't make sense - there are loads of hotels offering better value downtown. Having said this: I'd gladly stay here again. The location is good - short distance to the airport with a free shuttle taking you there and back. Rooms are of a solid quality - all the amenties, good bed, airco, tv and bathroom. HGI offers a pantry with reasonable prizes for bevarages and snacks. Housekeeping did a good job and everything was spotless. Best asset of this hotel was definately the staff - they were very well trained and - especially for Italian standards, courteous and friendly. We felt very much appreciated here as loyal customers. We had dinner in the restaurant which was reasonably priced and of a good quality. Not Italian homecooking but definately of a quality an airporthotel should not be ashamed at all. Although the aiport is located next to a landing path - we heard no noise whatsoever. This must be one of the better aiport hotels in my experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy about your feedback, and also that we were able to satisfy all your needs of convenience and good value. I appreciated that you would suggest and return to our property, it means a lot for us.
Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    942
    383
    150
    105
See reviews for
438
943
238
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

HGI is a typical airport hotel was here for an overnight stay on buissness before moving on hotel was clean room was adequate and well furnished for an over night stay restraunt had lunch and dinner burger for lunch was good but there was room for improvement in the pasta carbonara at dinner the hotel is a bit out of the way but plenty of shuttle busses were running to take guest to shopping and other locations
Comfortable bed gave a good nights sleep

Room Tip: Room was clean spacious and well equipped for a short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that your experience was overall positive, thank you for your constructive comment.
Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the HGI, Rome Airport, for our last night in Italy before returning to Canada. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious, clean and modern. It worked for our brief stop-over however, the food was not very representative of the typical Italian fare available everywhere else in this beautiful country. It appeared that they were trying to be everything to everybody, and that includes a lot of North Americans stopping over on their way to their cruise ship in Cittavecchia (?) At any rate, I found this the only disappointing part as I LOVE the food in Italy and do not wish to even see french fries, dry scrambled eggs or boring dry cereal flakes on the breakfast buffets in Rome. Overall, safe and good value for travellers. Ciao!
Mary M.

Room Tip: No comments...many good rooms available. If you need to do laundry, it may be good to request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJM1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that your stay was overall satisfactory, thank you for highlighting your point of view on FB offer of the Hotel.
Actually we do offer typical Italian traditional dishes, but we also affer Hilton Classic as burgers club sandwich etc, I can honestly says that a large part of our guest who stayed in Italy for 2 weeks, they come to our hotel and want to taste a good burger with fries after a lot of Pasta they had all over the coutry. We cannot ignore it, but thank you for your point, we are in Italy and we are proud to represent one of our most important signs of culture of or country: food! Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I struggled between 3 & 4 circles for rating this property.

Pros: 1. Good access to FCO. Shuttle was regular and there were 2 sizes to accommodate fluctuations in numbers. 2. Clean. Loved the laminate flooring (see also cons) as very apparent no dirt/dust, etc. were on the floor. 3. Large bathrooms & super-sized towels 4. Nicely decorated 5. Views of planes from rooms at certain times of day. 6. Controlled access to guest rooms (needed to swipe room card to access elevators, which was a great security idea).

Cons: 1. NOISE. Probably the biggest drawback and why I settled on the 3 circle rating. Perhaps because of the hard flooring, every footfall was amplified. Insulation also seemed poor as it was easy to hear other guests' showers and doors. 2. Poor front desk efficiency? Maybe it was just a very busy day, but there always seems to be a line many people deep. You also had to pay for the mini-bar/canteen items at the front desk (cash only, would not charge to room bill) which made you feel like you were cutting the line at times.

Despite the drawbacks, I would still recommend, as long as you have priorities straight for what this hotel is useful for: getting to FCO on time. For a morning flight we did not want to chance a ride from downtown Rome, so this hotel fit the bill. It is closer than the Fiumincino city hotels, and less expensive than the other Hilton. It is a bit pricey, however, so if you have to be at the airport any time after noon I would look for alternatives (even in the city).

Room Tip: Rooms facing front look out over a runway if you like that kind of thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaFamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I really appreciated your detailed and sincere comment. We will definitely work on "cons" in order to improve our performance. I'm surprised about the comment on noise because our hotel was built to prevent this kind of problems, usually this aspect is a pros for our guest, but thank you for pointing it out. We will work to improve this aspect. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were there last week and terrible thing happened to us. During the breakfast time, we , a group of 8 people, were assigned to a table quite isolated from others. All my friends were around me, but if when I went to get a glass of orange juice, my whole handbag was gone. During the whole event, nobody except the waiters came around us. There was a cctv closed by but the hotel manger refused to let us see it. She was kind to offer me a ride to the police station but be really careful in that hotel. You may not be able to distinguish who are the thefts and who are the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suk yee y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for the review on TripAdvisor, giving us the opportunity to reply to your concern. First of all I am sorry that your stay at our hotel was spoiled by a negative act committed by someone external to our organization. We have been in touch several times after your stay and we are still assisting you with the insurance claim and with the local police investigation. As already explained in the various correspondence exchanged between us, we do have a CCTV system in the hotel ensuring the safety of our guests during their stay and following your claim, we have immediately involved the local Police authority in the investigation. They have promptly acquired all the info and images available and will proceed with their investigation. What I can definitely tell you is that our Team Members are passionately engaged in their job and their priority is to make our Guests happy. You also wrote us your appreciation for the immediate assistance received by our Team right after the unfortunate episode and up to today assisting you with filing a claim at the local police and with the insurance. Once again, our priority is the Health & Safety of our guests as well as their satisfaction and I am sorry that someone external to our organization spoiled your experience with us. I take the chance to thank you for staying with us with the promise to privately stay in touch.
Kind regards,
Simone Iovacchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Strengths
* complimentary airport shuttle running every 30 mins (more frequently than Sheraton)
* day use available- great for long connections
* bed is comfortable
* complimentary access to business centre
* laundry facility available for self-operation

Weaknesses:
* Food is awful. Probably the worst I've ever had in a hotel stay EVER!
* decor and facilities suggest property is a good 3 star option, definitely not a 4.
* hotel should consider offering a complimentary shuttle to Rome's CBD as per the Hilton Rome does. The hotels, with their close proximity, could offer a combined shuttle service, as I noticed when I stayed at the Hilton hotel Rome airport, the shuttle was mostly empty

Room Tip: 6th floor away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellOb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I've appreciated your constructive comment, we will definitely work on weekness in order to transfom them in strenght. In particular I'm sorry if your experience in the Restaurant didn't meet your expectations, all the plates of the menu are prepared with fresh ingredients from scratch every night,
can I have more details in order to improve our performance? Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had read mixed reviews of the Hilton Garden Inn, but our family was very pleased. We arrived at the airport on the train from Rome, and it was a relatively short walk to the Hilton's pick-up stop. The hotel had e-mailed good directions to the stop. Our rooms were fine, and the free breakfast was very good, with a wide variety - our first "American" breakfast in two weeks. We made sure to be in line for the hotel bus early in order to guarantee a seat [probably a good move], and the bus dropped us off at our departure Terminal, so we had only a short walk. A good experience at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy about your feedback, and also that we were able to satisfy all your needs of convenience and good value. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiumicino hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Rome Airport Hotel
Hilton Rome Airport Hotel
#11 of 23 in Fiumicino
4,180 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#2 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
1.3 mi away
QC Termeroma Spa and Resort
2.9 mi away
Seccy Hotel
Seccy Hotel
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
Address: Via Vittorio Bragadin 2, 00054, Fiumicino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fiumicino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fiumicino
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fiumicino
#5 Family Hotel in Fiumicino
#7 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the Leonardo da Vinci Fiumicino airport platform in front of Cargo City. A complimentary Airport Shuttle service is provided from the hotel to/from the airport from 5 AM to 1 AM. The service is operated by a yellow, Orange, Blue & Green Bus with "Easy Parking" Logos on both sides. Please look for "Airport Shuttle" Signs. Free wi-fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel and free 24-hour Business Centre with high speed Internet access and remote printing facilities. All 282 guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport have modern decor and soundproofed windows. Each includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Self-adjusting Garden Sleep System beds with duvets and ergonomic Mirra chair. In-room safe, individual climate control, reading lamps, two telephones and tea and coffee making facilities. This is 100% non smoking Hotel. For guests who smokes the Hotel has designed smoking areas outside the building to accommodate their needs. There is a room recovery fee of 150 €uro for guests who do not comply in order to cover the extensive cost of restoring guest rooms to a smoke-free condition. On-site restaurant serving buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner and offering traditional Italian/International cuisine and a Lounge Bar featuring plasma screens and offering cocktails, sandwiches, salads and more. Guests can use the microwave room to prepare ready-to-cook meals sold at Pavilion Pantry shop. The hotel is a 2-minute drive from the A91 Highway for easy connections to the EUR business district. Trains to Fiera Roma and central Rome leave from the airport train station, and the ride takes around 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport Hotel Fiumicino
Hilton Garden Inn Fiumicino
Fiumicino Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Fiumicino
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport Fiumicino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing