We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but very expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but very expensive”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for the first time last year twice but it was a company booking and of course the way how they treated me was completely different then as it was now, when I stayed there through personal reservation. But my opinion is kind of the same.
It is a very expensive hotel, you can find much more cheaper ones around the Fiumicino Airport. And I think you only pay for the "Hilton" name. Especially that this is "lower budget" line of the Hilton chain. I chose this hotel because I kind of had to, but it's another story.
For this very high price you'll get totally average service. And I mean it. I've been in other 4-star hotels and the service was way better in most of them.
The receptionists - almost all of them - are very cold and quiet. You have to get every information out them with pliers (figuratively speaking of course). The same applies to most of the waiters in the restaurant. I came across - during my 3 stays here - with only 1 very kind and helpful waiter (but he was very young so... :) ). The others looked like they don't even wanna be there. Though the food itself was good. Nothing special, but it is at least good.
The room was clean, and with all the things you could need. I was especially grateful for the so-fresh towels, they were still warm when I got there! The toiletries are by Neutrogena, a very good brand, so it's a positive thing again in the room.
Another great feature is that the check-out time is later then in any other hotels I've been before: it's 12.00 noon. Excellent!
And let's don't forget about their airport shuttle which leaves the hotel or the airport in every 30 minutes. The drivers are always very helpful and kind. And of course the service is free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Your comment is really important for us, the attitude of the staff is the most important thing about a guest experience and I am sorry that in your case, we didn't exceed the expectations. I'll personally share your detailed review with the team in order to improve our performance. Thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    932
    373
    145
    101
See reviews for
434
922
235
413
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We used this hotel as a staging point for our departure back to Canada. We chose this hotel because of its location and it was much cheaper than the Airport Hilton. There is a shuttle that runs from the airport to the hotel, approximately every 30 minutes. We had lots of luggage and that was not a problem for the shuttle. The shuttle is located at stand #11, at the far end of the covered, bus parking area. The breakfast was ok, but not great. But it is the old story, you get what you pay for. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were average in size, very clean and quiet. The hotel is a 15 minute ride away from terminal three. We would use the hotel again. We would not stay there if we were planning to spend a few days to see Rome. There is no direct shuttle to downtown Rome as there is from the airport Hilton, which is located a 15 minute walk over the skyways from terminal 3.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that your experience was overall satisfactory, and also that the Hotel was convenient compared to the purpose of the stay. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can have another chance to meet you for your next visit to Rome.
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

For the horror that awaits those who depart Terminal 5 at FCO, the HGI near the airport is a very nice oasis. Helpful staff, very convenient shuttle service with polite and helpful drivers, a nice bar and restaurant (we had a meal there as we had already returned our rental car and used the shuttle to get back to the hotel). Rooms are well appointed and quiet. Although I would avoid departures from FCO in the future, if I had to leave from there again, I would most certainly stay again at the HGI-Rome Airport.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFC-Tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you've found the hotel practical and convenient for departure to FCO Airport. I know that the Airport authority is working to improve the experience at the airport too, so I think you'll notice from the newt future. I hope we can have another chance to meet you for your next visit to Rome.
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is a very clean hotel - It is very convenient for air travel to and from Rome - prompt complimentary shuttle. Breakfast very good, wide selection of items. Restaurant open for late arrivals. It is very reasonably priced, We booked two rooms; requested adjoining and we got what we requested.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank YHMCZHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy about your feedback, and also that we were able to satisfy your requests. I'll personally prise the restaurant team for the compliments of breakfast. I hope we can have another chance to meet you for your next visit to Rome.
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was a nice transition back to real life. The hotel is very American. The room was big, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was great, with an amazing shower. Don't confuse this hotel with the Hilton Airport Hotel, which is attached to the airport. There is a set bus schedule to take you to the airport from the hotel. The drive in the shuttle is less than 10 minute drive. If you take the Airport Express train from Termini you can follow the signs towards the Hilton Airport hotel and walk through the airport for a while. Although the "H" symbols will not lead you to the Garden Inn, there is a shuttle every 15 minutes from Hilton to the Garden Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad that your stay was overall satisfactory and that you highlighted the convence to stay in our Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can have another chance to meet you for your next visit to Rome.
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed for only one night at this Garden Inn at Rome Fiumicino Airport. We had a morning flight the next day.This proved to be a very fine experience at one of the nicest Garden Inns that I 've encountered. The room and facilities were new and immaculate, the staff knowledgeable, the food surprisingly first rate, and the service outstanding. We took the shuttle to the airport the next morning and it left right on schedule. Incicentally, the hotel w2as oacked with a lot of Americans who had the same idea that we did. Great property!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy about your feedback, I'm glad that your experience was great, I will share your comment with the team and I will personally praise them all. I hope we can have another chance to meet you for your next visit to Rome.
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very much enjoyed this hotel while cruising and touring Rome. Staff was great, hotel was very modern and well appointed. Room was comfortable.

Note, you will need to take the shuttle bus to/from the hotel and airport...when you exit Terminal 3, turn right and keep walking to the bus area at the end and look for the pick up location / sign for Hilton Garden Inn. Buses run very reliably and the ride to/from the hotel is about 15 min.

Easy way to get to/from the city center is to take the shuttle from the hotel to back to the airport / terminal 3 and go downstairs to arrival level and find the buses. For around 4euros one way, the bus will take you right into the Termini station at the center of Rome. From there you can pick up the metro / subway or tour buses.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good...we stayed in two different ones on either side of a cruise and both were ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingJoeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to write your comment and for staying with us. I'm glad that you highlighted the convenience of connections from the Airport to the city center, which makes the town closer to the Hotel. I hope we can have another chance to meet you for your next visit to the eternal city.

Sincerely,
Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiumicino hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Rome Airport Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
QC Termeroma Spa and Resort
3.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
2.9 mi away
Seccy Hotel
Seccy Hotel
#2 of 23 in Fiumicino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
Address: Via Vittorio Bragadin 2, 00054, Fiumicino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fiumicino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fiumicino
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fiumicino
#5 Family Hotel in Fiumicino
#7 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the Leonardo da Vinci Fiumicino airport platform in front of Cargo City. A complimentary Airport Shuttle service is provided from the hotel to/from the airport from 5 AM to 1 AM. The service is operated by a yellow, Orange, Blue & Green Bus with "Easy Parking" Logos on both sides. Please look for "Airport Shuttle" Signs. Free wi-fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel and free 24-hour Business Centre with high speed Internet access and remote printing facilities. All 282 guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport have modern decor and soundproofed windows. Each includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Self-adjusting Garden Sleep System beds with duvets and ergonomic Mirra chair. In-room safe, individual climate control, reading lamps, two telephones and tea and coffee making facilities. This is 100% non smoking Hotel. For guests who smokes the Hotel has designed smoking areas outside the building to accommodate their needs. There is a room recovery fee of 150 €uro for guests who do not comply in order to cover the extensive cost of restoring guest rooms to a smoke-free condition. On-site restaurant serving buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner and offering traditional Italian/International cuisine and a Lounge Bar featuring plasma screens and offering cocktails, sandwiches, salads and more. Guests can use the microwave room to prepare ready-to-cook meals sold at Pavilion Pantry shop. The hotel is a 2-minute drive from the A91 Highway for easy connections to the EUR business district. Trains to Fiera Roma and central Rome leave from the airport train station, and the ride takes around 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport Hotel Fiumicino
Hilton Garden Inn Fiumicino
Fiumicino Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Fiumicino
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport Fiumicino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing