We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Riviera
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, very helpful staff”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arranged to stay here for one night at the beginning of our holiday because it was close to the Airport. In fact this was a problem as the airport taxis didn't want to take us there - they wanted fares to Rome to make more money! I rang the hotel and they told us about a shuttle bus which we had to walk quite a way to find but it did drop us off - for a reasonable fee. We used the shuttle bus to get into Rome and back to and it was a very good service.
The Hotel was great - a really lovely room and bathroom, spotlessly clean and comfortable beds. The breakfast was nice - typical continental - but was supposed to be served until 9.30am. We went down at about 9.10 am but while we were eating the staff came and cleared away - we had to stop them taking everything because we hadn't finished! They did leave things for us though - a good job we didn't go down at 9.25 am :-). Reception let us leave luggage while we explored Rome and we collected it later before going on to Sabaudia in a hire car. The hotel receptionist even helped me to set the Sat Nav and they served us coffee in the bar before we set off on our journey. Would certainly stop here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaGHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    143
    83
    19
    12
See reviews for
112
105
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel offers a shuttle from Fiumicino airport for 6 Euro per person. We were very impressed with the friendly reception. The information given about transport going into the city was useful and accurate. We felt that the staff at the reception desk really went out of their way to help with all our needs. Our room (#204) was very small with hardly any storage space for our luggage. The bathroom was even smaller with a shower about 60 x60cm. The room was definitely not appealing and we were surprised that this hotel was a Best Western franchise. In the evening we only had warm water and in the morning it was luke warm at the best. The water pressure was low too. We also had a problem with the heating. In the room were an air condition and a heating unit which was complicated to operate. The radiator in the bathroom was set on a night timer which did not coordinate with our needs. We had a rain storm on the day of our arrival. The hallways are partly open to the elements therefore the tiles were wet. The lighting in the hallways was on sensors which were slow in operation. The Italian breakfast buffet was ok but nothing to write home about. The hotel was in a quiet street, a block from the sea and close to restaurants, the bus stop and a super market. The beach was very dirty which might have been caused by the rainstorm.
If you want to go to the city center you have 3 choices. The fastest is a shuttle bus which can be ordered a day in advance through the hotel at 14 Euro per person one way. You can also take the shuttle back to the airport and take the train from there. We opted for the third and cheapest method by taking the local bus. The reception desk sells the tickets for 1.30 Euro per person one way. The bus takes you to Ostia, Lido Central, where you buy a ticket for 1.60 Euro for the train to “Porta San Paolo”. With the same ticket you can take the subway (Metro) from there to the Coloseum or the central station “Termini”. That takes about 1 hour.
Although the staff was great we did not like the hotel which we thought was substandard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dasreiseteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Clean, quiet, 15 mins. from the airport, on-time shuttle (6 euros per person) and a decent breakfast. The rooms aren' t huge or lavish, but they're more than adequate. And the staff was friendly and helpful. Lots of Americans staying there.

If I needed a hotel at the Rome airport, I wouldn't hesitate to choose this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewels122446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

For many reasons, the Hotel Riviera was a perfect place to stay for our last 2 nights in Italy. It is located a short walk from the clean, sandy beach, where we were able to use the free lounge chairs, since "off season" had just begun. After watching the beautiful sunset, you can walk along the beach road to several good restaurants for dinner. It was also just a few minute walk to attend Mass in the lovely local church on Sunday morning. The pleasant hotel staff will arrange for shuttle service to and from Rome, as well as the airport. When our shuttle was late due to unexpected traffic congestion, we were pleasantly surprised with a complimentary bottle of wine and a note of apology from the hotel. Our room was spacious and immaculate, with lots of fluffy towels. An excellent, full continental breakfast and use of the lobby computer made our stay at the Hotel Riviera even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Impeccably clean, professionally run and very comfortable hotel in Fiumicino, a block or so from the waterfront and lots of excellent restaurants.

About 10 minutes to the airport, very convenient for a flight.

Shuttle for a fair fee to the airport as well as to Roma.

Professional, very helpful and friendly staff. Very nice breakfast as well.

Highly recommended, especially if you are travelling in or out of the airport or have a short stay in the Rome area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

So here's the thing, my thoughts are entirely tainted by poor service at check in. The hotel may be much better than my review as this may have been an off night but my experience was horrendous.

We arrived in the rain later in the evening after coming back into Rome from Florence. We should have just stayed in Rome as it is not that far from the airport. My Mom was having trouble walking at the end of the trip and things just went from bad to worse at the hotel. Reception was distracted by what appeared to be matters not pertaining to the running of the hotel. Once we were finally checked in we had trouble exiting the door to a courtyard of sorts to the room. The staff had to unlock it for us and made it seem like it was a big production to do so. I asked for ice for my Mom's knee and the look I got made it seem as if I were asking to see the Pope. A few minutes later I got like five cubes. I get that Americans are ice crazy but come on, The last offense was forgetting to book us on the shuttle to the airport the next day. Luckily there ended up being room.

This hotel is very cookie cutter American and shares nothing including service in common with the European style hotels I prefer to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IRSHMN_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces NM
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is small hotel with fairly tiny rooms, but is a convenient and inexpensive shuttle trip from Rome's airport. Additionally, it is only three blocks from the beach and water. I could actually see the water from my hotel balcony. The staff is helpful and we were able to leave our bags for several days while we went to Sardinia. Recommended!

Room Tip: If you have luggage, make sure your room is on the elevator level - some are on "a floor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiumicino hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rome Airport
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
0.3 mi away
Hotel De La Ville Relais
Hotel De La Ville Relais
#8 of 23 in Fiumicino
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Roma Airport Fiumicino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Riviera

Property: Best Western Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Licio Visintini 30, 00054, Fiumicino, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Riviera)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fiumicino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fiumicino
#6 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
#7 Family Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Riviera is a 3 star hotel near the Fiumicino beach, and is the right choice for those on business or holiday, she needs to stay in a modern and convenient to the international airport Leonardo Da Vinci, the exhibition center Rome Fair or shopping centers Market Central Da Vinci and Parco Leonardo. The hotel is family run and always has as its main goal to make every customer feel at home, making each stay particularly pleasant! The Hotel Riviera, in fact, is located just 5 km from the International Airport Leonardo Da Vinci, but it is not just a business hotel just 100 meters from the beach equipped with bar-restaurant "Zenith" happy to offer attractive terms to our customers, while the archaeological excavations of Ostia Antica are just 7 km from our 3-star hotel. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Riviera in Fiumicino also offers free bicycles, thanks to which you can discover the nearby seafront where you'll find a bike path and plenty of restaurants to sample dishes. The 27 rooms of our 3 star hotel in Fiumicino are equipped with the most modern comforts and able to make your business or leisure stay in Fiumicino full of hospitality and relax. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Riviera also offers its guests many services to facilitate the connection to the nearby city of Rome, Fiumicino Airport and shopping centers, in fact every day it is available on request the shuttle transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riviera
Best Western Fiumicino
Best Western Hotel Riviera Rome/Fiumicino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing