We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Experience at Retro Far Different From the Rest..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Retro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Retro
Ranked #8 of 90 Fiumicino B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short Experience at Retro Far Different From the Rest..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

My wife and I arrived at the b&b earlier then expected (8 am) after an abrupt change in our travel plans. Upon ringing the bell, we were rudely told told over the speaker to come back at 12:00. I asked if we could at least leave our bags at the b&b and return at noon to check in, but the voice simply responded "No. Open 12:00." I asked again if there was anyway he could help and allow us to leave our bags and was again rudely told "No. Open 12:00." No matter what I asked, I got the same broken record response over and over again.

I understand we arrived early and that this is a small b&b and not a large hotel. However, I don't think it is not too much to ask for them to at least let us leave our bags. Although my few emails with the b&b were pleasant prior to arriving (although the last one inquiring about airport transfer went unanswered) my experience there was anything but. My interaction with the mystery voice from the b&b was the polar opposite of the other reviewers. Luckily, our taxi was not too far down the street and we were able to flag it down and have them take us to another hotel (there is not much else around the b&b as it is located on a dead end street). I hope others continue to have great experiences at the b&b, but make sure not to show up before noon!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Clark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    19
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
112
18
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is a good place to overnight if you are visiting Ostia Antica. Bathroom is nice. Make sure you try the restaurant in easy walking distance called Ratatouille. It is phenomenal. Breakfast is all sweet stuff, mostly packaged. It would be nice if just plain Italian bread and cold cuts were offered as an alternative. Owner is very nice and helpful.

Blues Brothers Room

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We are a family of four. Daniele is a very genuine host (used to be a DJ before). All of our family love staying at B&B retro. And the price is very reasonable. B&B retro certainly deserves our recommendation. Clark Ko / Taiwan

Room Tip: choose the room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Everything here was so wonderful. I wanted my daughter to come to Italy and meet Daniele......he's that great. Wonderful pick-up and delivery service to the airport, too. Although only 5 minutes away, his place is surrounded by trees and a vineyard with a neighbor who spends his time tending to the vines. Within walking distance is an incredible restaurant. We did not expect such a beautiful, quiet, picturesque environment, and then to have a really memorable meal was wonderful. And we loved that the owner was a collector of beautiful Italian designer furniture and accessories from the 50s/60s as well. Everything was designed with a stylish man's touch and it was very refreshing.

Room Tip: They are all great with spacious balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MW464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

WOW,excellent and peaceful location,Daniele very polite,more than price worthy,near the DaVinci airport and he has a shuttle to and from it.Better than most hotels around the airport.I'm a frequent flyer into Rome,I'm going to always use this bb retro...TOP TOP TOP TOP TOP TOP TOP TOP Best b&b in town!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chricasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

My husband and I found this place on the internet and we are so glad we booked to stay here the night before we had to fly home. It was an absolute pleasure! The proximity to the airport was a bonus. We were really impressed with the quality of this accomodation. It had everything we wanted/ needed. We totally loved the funky/ retro furniture and artwork too! Daniele was so welcoming and friendly. We really appreciated his hospitality and the airport shuttle service. We would absolutely recommend this place to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arts32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

BBretro' is a small and pretty B&B placed in a strategic location which gives you the advantage of beings 5 minutes from the airport . The shuttle service is 24/7 giving you the freedom to be at the airport at any time to catch your airplane. BBretro business manager is very professional and runs its business with the highest attention to detail. Cleanness is one of the first things you will notice walking through the door. High speed wireless connection and quiet make you able to relax and, if needed, prepare for your business meetings. BBretro' offers a customize service which really makes a difference. I have asked my HR dept. to include BBretro’ among the accommodations available for company business trip to Rome.

Luigi Orlandi
Contracts Manager
ABSL Power Solutions Ltd

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiumicino hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Seccy Hotel
Seccy Hotel
#2 of 23 in Fiumicino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
QC Termeroma Spa and Resort
0.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Letterario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Retro

Property: B&B Retro
Address: Via Rocce Anzini 92, 00054, Fiumicino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Minutes from the Airport Leonardo da Vinci and close to Rome, surrounded by a beautiful garden surrounded by countryside of Fiumicino, is the BED & BREAKFAST RETRO', managed by Daniel and Camilla. In this particular bed & breakfast, thought ORIGINAL 70's style, you can 'find what' usually large structures surrounding the host can not give: the just relaxing in the tranquility 'and sounds of the surrounding nature and the necessary and essential privacy, guaranteed the optimal placement. The b & b Fiumicino Retro 'is located 2.8 Kilometers from Fiumicino Airport, near the New Fair of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Retro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Retro Rome/Fiumicino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing