We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate airport hotel”
Review of Seccy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seccy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
186 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Adequate airport hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Location: In a residential district of the city. Even with GPS it was a little hard to find. Needed an airport hotel for an early next morning flight. 15 minute drive to airport. Dropped off rental car and took the airport express train into Rome for the day. Arranged a taxi from Rome back to hotel for cost of flat rate to airport. This was more reasonable that the train to airport and taxi to hotel. About a 40 minute drive from downtown Rome to hotel in the evening. I would think it is much longer during the day.

Hotel: Typical business style hotel although located in a residential area.

Room: Adequate “Holiday Inn” type room. The view from the room was of our neighbors backyard and laundry drying. Very quite.

Breakfast: was basic but good including yogurt, breads and coffee.

Summary: OK for a one night stay and quick ride to airport. Free Wifi. Hotel shuttle to airport was 15e. Driver was right on time and had a large car which fit luggage easily.

Airport Note: FCO is a busy airport; give yourself lots of time especially if you need to drop off a rental car. There are a few gas stations around the airport. Try to use the self-serve stations. The full stations are significantly more expensive (they are not clearly marked so be careful, I think it cost me 15e more to fill up my rental car) Htel shuttle to airport was 15e.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    277
    53
    20
    16
See reviews for
133
300
59
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

When you travel, there is a tendency to think that the last night prior to a morning flight is just a period of biding time until one goes home. Nothing could be further from the truth. It is also your last memory of the trip and, having stayed in a couple of real losers on my final nights, I have sworn not to do it again. This hotel is a real pleasure. The woman at the desk was so helpful that I was delighted prior to seeing the room. She helped with my auto return arrangements, dinner, directions and was so thoroughly pleasant that I wanted to stay a few more days. The room was large, beautiful, bright, well appointed and well priced. Breakfast was adaquate and perfect for someone in a hurry. The location is close to the airport and convenient, surrounded by restaurants. It is also close to the Ostia excavation which might be an enjoyable afternoon activity prior to going home. This really is a perfect place to spend a last night in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hobbitnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is about 10 mins drive from Rome Leonardo Di Vinci Airport, which makes it very convenient if you have to catch an early morning flight. The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean, and the front desk staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and speak good English. The breakfast, included in th room rate, is pretty good as well. There is also a good pizza restaurant right next store that is open until 11pm which is great since we arrived at the hotel very late. One important note is that if you are taking a taxi from the airport, it's best to cross the road and walk towards the airport train station to catch one of the local Fuimicino taxis which cost 15 euros to go to the hotel, otherwise you will end up paying set tariff rate of 50 euros if you take one of the Rome taxis just outside of the arrivals terminals.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a 10:00PM arrival into FCO and needed to drive up to Tuscany the next day. The idea of renting a car and driving into Rome was unappealling, so this was the perfect option. Rooms: big, clean, and very well air conditioned. Hotel: clean, well located, with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was fine, not amazing. Do not go here or anywhere in Fiumicino if you're expecting site-seeing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Make sure you have the hotel address with you - no taxi driver at the airport had heard of the hotel even though it is only 10 mins away. Also all taxi drivers refused to use their meters but charged a consistent €20. Hotel is in a residential back street, but some good restaurants along river are 5 mins walk away. Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. Room spotlessly clean. Hotel seemed a bit lifeless, did not see any other guests. I had a very early checkout before breakfast, but on leaving I was given a 'packed breakfast' - juice, yogurt and croissant. Paid €85.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Seccy quite by accident - we'd booked at the Domus Lina, based on reviews here, but when we arrived at that hotel we were informed that the air conditioning was on the fritz, making the rooms uninhabitable (the temps were over 100*). Alfredo at the Domus Lina had arranged a room for us at the Seccy Hotel (where he also worked), along with a car to take us there. It wasn't far, but it was very hot and we had all our luggage, so we appreciated that he didn't expect us to walk there. :) Elvira at the front desk of the Seccy was very helpful - she had already put an activation card in the air conditioner in our room, so it was nice and cool when we arrived. That was so kind, and very much appreciated!! Elvira arranged a car to take us to the airport the next morning as well as a "to-go" breakfast for us for the next morning, since we had to leave for the airport before the hotel breakfast was available . It's that kind of extra-mile service that really set the Seccy Hotel apart from so many others. Elvira also made suggestions for places to get lunch, and gave us directions and a map so we could walk along the Tiber RIver or cross it and find our way to the ocean, both of which we did later on in the afternoon.

As far as the hotel itself, our room was clean and very spacious, especially compared to the usual size of hotel rooms in Italy. The white bed cover was crisp and clean, so we weren't at all afraid to sit on it, or even to have it on the bed, as we have been on occasion in other hotels! The bed was firm but not hard, and we got the night's sleep there than we had anywhere else in our 10 days in Italy. All in all, we had a lovely experience at the Seccy, and can highly recommend it to anyone who needs to stay close to the airport for an easy departure...or to anyone who just wants to be near the river and the ocean and have an authentic Italian neighborhood experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kacgamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is in a good location for access to Fiumicino airport and turned out to be acceptable in terms of cleanliness and facilities (with the exception of the pillows on the bed, which were heavily stained) however I would not give the staff such a glowing report as per other reviewers' ratings. On arrival we were pointed in the direction of the lift without being offered any help and on departure the male staff member walking behind me huffed and puffed in frustration as I struggled with my bags down the steps.

The rooms are adequate and breakfast is ok - usual array of breads, juices and so on and it has the advantage of starting at 7 am, but somehow this hotel has an unloved quality about it overall and could certainly do with a few touches of colour to cheer it up a bit.

I wouldn't advise staying here on your honeymoon but it is all right for a one night stopover.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiumicino hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
2.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Rome Airport Hotel
2.1 mi away
QC Termeroma Spa and Resort
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seccy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seccy Hotel

Property: Seccy Hotel
Address: Via delle Scuole 32, 00054, Fiumicino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fiumicino
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fiumicino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fiumicino
#4 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seccy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seccy Hotel offers exclusive accommodation located in Fiumicinos historic centre, just a short 10-minutes drive from the airport. Enjoy professional service, elegant interiors and modern facilities here. Seccy Hotel is set 100 metres from Fiumcinos port, an area well-known for its great fish restaurants. On site you can enjoy drinks in the hotels stylish bar. Rooms and lounges at the Seccy are comfortable, sophisticated and beautifully decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seccy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seccy Hotel Rome/Fiumicino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing