We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silken Thomas Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 9 Kildare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at The Lord Edward for 5 nights. From check in to check out nothing is too much trouble.
Beata who runs the accommodation in The Lord Edward is very helpful and we never wanted for anything in our room.
We ate most days at the Silken Thomas and they cater for all eventualities from bar snack to a la carte.
There is also a night club at the back to accompany the 3 different bars but we never heard any noise at all.
The breakfast was perfect and you could mix and match whatever you wanted and was served until noon.
We will be travelling back to Ireland next year and although we will be travelling to see friends all over Southern Ireland we will definitely be using this as our base.
Thank you to al the staff and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Jackie and Martin
Room 40

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank royaldaylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 418 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

i recently stayed here with my partner for a night break. We opted for this hotel as it was close to everything in the town.
After checking in at the silken thomas due to reception been closed i was shown to our room.
the staff in the lounge that checked us in were great and helpful.
i have to say i was very surprised at the room, for the price i expected a little room, the one we received was huge... 1 double bed and 2 singles. The ceiling was high and it was very bright and spacious.

my only reservation about this hotel was it was fairly noisy in the mornings with car doors closing etc but it would not stop me staying in this hotel again. it really is a hidden Gem in the heart of kildare town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PRhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here overnight after a shopping spree at the kildare outlet shopping village, which was approx 3mins drive from the lord edward. The staff were excellent and as I had a three year old with me offered to give us a choice of rooms! Food in the restaurant excellent and breakfast served till 12 with a huge choice from a menu!! The only downside is that the walls are paper thin yet I have found this in expensive hotels costing much more than this place. I would definitely recommend The Lord Edward again, it is definitely a little gem!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wandering/walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

there are 40 rooms in this complex of B&B, bar, restaurant and nightclub. There were a handful of us staying overnight and yet they decided to put us all next door to each other. Walls are paper thin, so I was unfortunate to be listening to TV until past midnight with my neighbour. Such a shame as the rooms were better than expected - clean, hairdryer, tea & coffee in room and clean ensuite facilites and comfy bed. Breakfast is cooked to order and very good. Adjoining restaurant also did better than expected standard bar food.

Room Tip: away from someone else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiingHeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a lovely time in Kildare Town. Can't fault it for the price paid.Very friendly and effiecent, helpfull staff. Very clean and comfortable place. No noise, slept like a baby. Excellent location, walking distance to everything you need.secure parking space.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justyna376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

When quizzed about accommodation in Kildare the staff at the Kildare Japanese Gardens recommended the Lord Edward. We organised our overnight stay at the Silken Thomas Hotel just in front of the Lord Edward - staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room at the Lord Edward was lovely - very clean and large with a comfortable bed and "power" shower - excellent value. We loved the remains of the Fitzgerald Castle next to the B&B, and we woke up in the morning to the noise of the crows that were circling around the top of the ruins. The lady who runs the B&B was very pleasant & we appreciated her beautiful garden flowers. It was great to be able to park right next to our accommodation and best of all - no stairs! We enjoyed dinner at the Silken Thomas, as well as a big Irish breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kartigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildare
0.1 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
227 reviews
10 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
4.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,216 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
605 reviews
11.1 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Thomas Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Thomas Accommodation

Address: The Square | Silken Thomas complex, Kildare, Ireland (Formerly Lord Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Kildare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kildare
Price Range: $88 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silken Thomas Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silken Thomas Accommodation (formerly The Lord Edward) offers stylish guestrooms in the heart of Kildare Town. Located just off the M7 motorway (junction 13), the Silken Thomas Accommodation is less than a 10 minute walk from Kildare Village Chic Outlet Shopping and a 15 minute walk from the Irish National Stud & Japanese Gardens. Located beside a 13th century tower house, this historic building offers guests well-appointed guestrooms, many with original period features. Each room has a multi-channel TV, tea & coffee making facilities, FREE WIFI access, modern en-suite facilities and a hairdryer. Triple, quad, wheelchair accessible and family rooms are also available. On-site facilities include Flanagan’s Lounge serving food daily, Chapter 16 restaurant, traditional Irish bar Squires Lil's with live music every Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday night. Late November 2017 In December 2017, a new late night venue & garden will open at the Silken Thomas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silken Thomas Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing