We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Surprise”
Review of Lord Edward

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lord Edward
Ranked #1 of 9 Kildare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific Surprise”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

While travelling through Ireland with three other couples, we stayed one night at Lord Edward and we loved it. The rooms were clean and spacious but the warm welcome and incredible assistance from the house person which was made it so special. She made sure we were altogether, brought us wine glasses from the pub, extra bath towels and anything else we requested! Extremely friendly and helpful. The adjoining pub serviced a nice dinner and a great Irish breakfast. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline K, Manager at Lord Edward, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hi Patter, thanks for your review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Lord Edward B&B, I will inform Beata who looked after you about your comments as she works hard to ensure our customers enjoy their stay here. Hope to see you again some time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    100
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
83
134
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Was in Kildare at a family funeral .....travelled from Galway we Stay at Lord Edward Great place !!!! Great food ....staff hilarious and work very hard !!! Will be back :) very welcoming :)




:) thanks to all the Lovely Staff

Room Tip: All u have to do is ask :))))
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

just spent the weekend in the Lord Edward and it was brilliant. The staff couldnt have been more helpful and friendly. the food was fantastic there was so much choice. spent the saturday in the restaurant part of the complex and the food didnt disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgwater
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

just back from the lord edward hotel our 2nd stay at this hotel its a great place to make your base for looking around kildare on the site is 3 bars and the fantastic chapter 16 resturant lovely food .all the staff are very helpfull and hardworking nothing too much for them.the irish breakfast sets you up for the day and it runs till 12 oclock so theres a chance of a lye in .its on the main road its the main strip for the bars and other resturants.close to the currah racecourse and the irish stud .there is a nightclub but on both occasions we never had no problems with noise.will be back well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevewoodsBridgwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

just back after 2 nights( monday and tuesday) in the lord edward kildare great place for a short break mary the housekeeper was bril. anne the manageress really looked after us, really good value.my wife eileen and i thought the food was of a very good standard.We had to check in at the bar but it really was no problem. we will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beany33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is nice, the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. But woe betide you should you come on a friday or saturday. The night club on site kept us up until 2am. The room's windows do not keep out the noise and so we were treated to banging, shouting, laughing and general ruckus at all hours. We needed to get up early the next morning, so this ruined what is otherwise a perfectly nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavroche2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline K, Manager at Lord Edward, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review, and take this opportunity to apologise about the noise during your stay, we gladly take your comments onboard, and endeavour to inform those booking at the weekends, we can also suggest alternative rooms where possible. We thank you for your visit and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. All the management and staff at The Lord Edward and Silken Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here on the 4th of August for one night only. The so called Hotel is at the back of the Bar/Restaurant and the doors to reception are closed at all times. We had to go to the bar to check in and all this was achieved whilst under the watchful eyes of the local bar customers. After check in you go back to the reception area ( it's in a separate building ) and unlock the door with the keys you have received from the barman, Then you find your bedroom and using a different key gain access. The bedrooms are clean but old fashioned and basic and the hallways have a constant damp and stale smell. This in itself is a minus for this establishment and the management probably will never attend to it. It is basically a bed and breakfast house using the facilities of the bar/restaurant and will never attain much status in the Hotel standings. They do offer 2 complimentary drinks for couples and the bar staff are very obliging and friendly but overall a miss on my scoreboard.

Room Tip: Book another establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline K, Manager at Lord Edward, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Frank, we gladly thank you for your review on The Lord Edward, Accommodation, we appreciate all comments, it's unfortunate that you perceived us as a Hotel and not a B&B/ Inn as we are classified with 18 ensuite bedrooms, it was built in the mid-eighteenth century. Formely known as the "Leinster Lodge" . The Lord Edward is situated on the grounds of our sister property The Silken Thomas where all management, meals and enquires are dealt with by our friendly staff, which we pride ourselves on. We take all comments onboard and aim to improve where possible. Thanks again, and we hope you get the chance to drop by again some time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildare
0.1 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
219 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
538 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
10.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
10.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Edward

Property: Lord Edward
Address: The Square | Silken Thomas complex, Kildare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Kildare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kildare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Edward 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Edward accommodation was built in the mid-eighteenth century. Formely known as the "Leinster Lodge", this historic house has been reinvented into 20 en-suite bedrooms.The Lord Edward accommodation is located beside a Norman castle in Kildare Town which was, in the thirteenth century, one of the most important castles in Leinster, ranking with the castles at Kilkenny, Carlow and Ferns.We are located off the main M7 motorway (junction 13), on the grounds of our sister property The Silken Thomas,comprising of Flanagan's Lounge, Squires/Lils Traditional Bars, Tigerlily Night Club and Chapter 16 Restaurant.All rooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities and a Flat screen TV.Special rates can be offered for group bookings.Nearby golf, fishing, Japanese Gardens & Irish National Stud, Lullymore Heritage & Discovery Park, Famous Racecourses of The Curragh (0.5 Km) , Naas, Punchestown are only a short distance from Kildare, Newbridge Greyhound Stadium.Also visit Kildare Chic Outlet Village for all your designer brands (5 minute walk).Facilities Available• En-Suite• LCD TV• Non smoking rooms available• Coffee / Tea facilities• Free Car parking• Cots available• Wheelchair Accessible Room• Irons & Hairdryers available• FREE WIFI access in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lord Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing