We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem that we found and cant wait to be back!!!!”
Review of Lord Edward

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lord Edward
Ranked #1 of 9 Kildare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem that we found and cant wait to be back!!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed in the Lord Edward.... Silken Thomas the end of January / beginning of February.... a brilliant hotel..... the accomodation we booked was for 5 girls sharing, we where given two ajoining rooms,...... excellent value for money, very clean, tidy, well maintained throughout.... and the accomodation block is just to the rear of the main hotel.... so very private.... no noise.... very cosy rooms.... tea/coffee facilaties.... and the breakfasts were massive.... really the best quality.... the staff so very helpful, friendly this was everyone from the waiting staff to bar staff..... housekeeping staff.... everyone so friendly..... we got a brilliant deal.... somewhere I will dfinately return to with my family.... a perfect break away.... we only stayed 3 nights.... wish we stayed longer.... so maybe next time.... !! walking distance of everywhere in Kildare town..... and a great 'Squires' pub with its great fire and craic..... simply brilliant all round....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemini_lou20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    99
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
80
131
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Best place to stay in kildare town, great central location, close to kildare village shopping, breakfast served till 12 and bar food till 10, staff very helpful, we stayed in a fantastic room with 2 large beds. great price, will definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergal203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here while visiting friends in Kildare town, from check in to check out everything was perfect, got passes to their club aswell, cheers for that, will stay again in April

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian9512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Positives
Clean, Good location. wifi in room. Good place to stay if you live in cork kerry waterford or limerick and have an early meeting in dublin the following morning.

Negatives
Breakfast doesnt start until 8. Near a nightclub so noise at weekends could be an issue.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed at the Lord Edward from the 21st to the 23rd of Oct. From the time we arrived until we left we couldnt fault this accomadation. We booked 2 nights B and B and one evening dinner for 89 euro. Firstly our group consisted of 5 ladies who travelled from Cork to attend a conference in the nearby Kaedeen Hotel. We arrived and were greeted by a warm friendly girl who gave us our keys and vouchers for breakfast and dinner and even offered us passes for the night club. We went to our rooms and were not disappointed,spotlessly clean,bright airy rooms with ensuite,TV and tea /coffee making facilities. We went for dinner in the restaurant Chapter 16 which is on site and again werent disappointed real, tasty, home made food and plenty of and very reasonably priced. We then went to the bar and even joined in in the weekly table quiz with the locals and we had a great laugh and everyone was very friendly. We had breakfast and again was delicious full Irish and plently coffee and tea. You can also order what you want from the breakfast menu if you don,t want a full breakfast, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly, obliging staff, I must say they couldnt have done enough for us.The Silken Thomas bar is very comfortable and you could also go to the night club or the other bar which had a live band which are all on site.
You also get a free parking pass when you check in, as the the carpark is a payable one.
We also visited the outlet centre, The Newbridge museam,and the large shopping complex accross the road from the Museam in Newbridge all of which are only about 10 mins drive from the accomadation.
We had a great weekend and I would reccomend that if you,re travelling to Newbridge/ Kildare area to stay at the Lord Edward as you wont be Disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in twin rooms 31 and 33 and a single 1, we found these rooms very comfortable and away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkBensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicester, oxfordshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

your comments:
We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a stay at the Lord Edward and two days racing at the Curragh. The whole experience was excellent. From the Bar staff who kept me supplied with ice for the room (!) to Anna, the lovely housekeeper, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was everything you could wish for....and more! The room (no.2) was very clean, well decorated and spacious with walk-in wardrobe and en-suite. Absolutely everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome, including 'Dave' of Daves Taxi's, who was punctual and very friendly, - only 10 euro to the course from the Lord Edward. I would highly recommend the Lord Edward to anyone planning a visit, either to Kildare Town/Village or racing at the Curragh.

Room Tip: Just ask for the biggest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

The spirit of Brigid is truly alive in Kildare! We booked online and were pleased with the enticing price. A few days prior to our journey to Kildare we reviewed our booking and were concerned to read that there was a nightclub etc associated with the B&B and that the breakfast wasn't included in the price. However, our fears were quickly relieved once we had arrived and we received service well and truly above what we had expected. After three weeks travelling we needed a place for some downtime and the Lord Edward was perfect. Travelling with two children we were provided with the family room and it was superb. The bathroom facility was first class - extremely clean and beautifully maintained. In relation to the nightclub we did not hear a sound from our room. The staff catered for our needs with genuine hospitality and desire to ensure our stay was memorable for all the right reasons. The meals at Flanegan's were delightful and the breakfast was included in our accommodation cost and allowed us to get through the day with no need for lunch! The staff behind the bar, serving, housekeeping etc were extremely friendly, efficient and always professional in their demeanour. This is truly a 'Home away from home'. Travelling at Easter we could not have asked for a more pleasant place to base ourselves. The Lord Edward was centrally located and enabled us to move freely around the tourist locations in Kildare. We highly recommend this establishment and look forward to returning to the Lord Edward in the future. A highlight of our 8 week trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Family of 4 people, stay in Room 4!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bennpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildare
0.1 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
212 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
530 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
10.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,797 reviews
10.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Edward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Edward

Property: Lord Edward
Address: The Square | Silken Thomas complex, Kildare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Kildare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kildare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Edward 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Edward accommodation was built in the mid-eighteenth century. Formely known as the "Leinster Lodge", this historic house has been reinvented into 20 en-suite bedrooms.The Lord Edward accommodation is located beside a Norman castle in Kildare Town which was, in the thirteenth century, one of the most important castles in Leinster, ranking with the castles at Kilkenny, Carlow and Ferns.We are located off the main M7 motorway (junction 13), on the grounds of our sister property The Silken Thomas,comprising of Flanagan's Lounge, Squires/Lils Traditional Bars, Tigerlily Night Club and Chapter 16 Restaurant.All rooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities and a Flat screen TV.Special rates can be offered for group bookings.Nearby golf, fishing, Japanese Gardens & Irish National Stud, Lullymore Heritage & Discovery Park, Famous Racecourses of The Curragh (0.5 Km) , Naas, Punchestown are only a short distance from Kildare, Newbridge Greyhound Stadium.Also visit Kildare Chic Outlet Village for all your designer brands (5 minute walk).Facilities Available• En-Suite• LCD TV• Non smoking rooms available• Coffee / Tea facilities• Free Car parking• Cots available• Wheelchair Accessible Room• Irons & Hairdryers available• FREE WIFI access in rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Lord Edward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing