We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay on our last two nights in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Kildare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay on our last two nights in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

We found Castleview Farm to be in a very peaceful location with an interesting past. Loved the thatched cottage, and the church next door. It was only a few minutes drive from town so was quite easy to go to out for dinner, and the close proximity to the Irish Horse Stud and the Curragh was very pleasing to my 'horsey' husband. Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable and Liz did her utmost to make our stay as comfortable as possible. There was plenty of information available about the area, and if we're ever in Kildare again, Castleview will be our first pick for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebbles56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    37
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
55
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Stayed with my mum as part of a family history visit to Ireland. Just turned up at Castleview and booked for the one night with Liz. Great room, separate to house. History of area was interesting as was the old church and cemetery next door. Good hearty irish breakfast. This is a working farm. We watched the cows getting milked - interesting for us city dwellers. Very friendly hosts. Easy to find following the signs from Kildare township.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
market weighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in 2006 and have just spent two nights here last week. The farm is only 30 minutes or so from Dublin and so is a geat stopping off place after coming off the ferry in Dublin and also before returning to England. It is also ideal for people wanting to visit the Curragh to see the Races and anyone wanting to visit The National Stud, which is close by. Although we are not particularly interested in horses, we went to the Stud and thoroughly enjoyed it. Liz and Ned are lovely people who make you feel completely at home. If you want any help planning your itinery Liz has put together a very large file full of local information to give her guests ideas on where to go and what to do. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the food is excellent. We were treated to a slice of carrot cake and a cup of tea each on arrival and breakfast next morning was excellent, with 3 different types of soda bread on offer. I can recommend the plain brown soda bread which is the best I have tasted in all the b&b s we have stayed in. ( Liz was kind enough to give us 3 extra slices to take away with us as we headed off home!) We will certainly go back to Castle View next time we visit Ireland and can heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a warm welcome and wanting to stay on a working farm in pleasnt countryside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidihMarketWeighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

We had a lot of trouble finding the castleview farm from the motorway- the directions that were given to us were quite confusing. You can easily find it from the center of kildare, but that was not where we were instructed to go. Our booking process was not easy, we did not get the confirmation until well after we had left for ireland, six days after the original contact. When we got to the farm the smell was not very nice outside or inside the place, it kind of smelled like farm animals and body odor. Other than the not-so-pleasant smell the rest of the stay was great. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was nice, and there was free wifi. The breakfast in the morning was fine. It is not within walking distance to kildare, but if you have a car it would be fine. this would not be a good place for you if you are not into the farm smell, but other than that things were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weedee3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Much like other Ireland b&bs, the location was rather far from the towns, but we found that the value of the trip into the rural areas the greatest part of our trip. Castleview Farm is much like two others that we visited. The hosts were knowledgeable of their area, the service and food was very good, and there was a marvelous bit of history next to their home. Mrs. Fitzpatrick gave us a short history of Lacagh Church and that prompted us to take the short walk, less than two minutes to tour the chruch and cemetery adjacent to the farm. We would look forward to spending many more times at the Fitzpatrick's.

We did not rate value, because we arranged all of our lodgings through a travel service. This lodging selection was made based on the selections the travel service offered as a part of our travel package. We had other options, but believed Castleview to be the best of the group in the area around Kildare.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s1b00405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We needed to find a B&B at the last minute and came upon this B&B. Liz greeted us warmly. She has a very clean and beautifully decorated B&B. Breakfast was great. And I loved being able to walk under the moonlight through the old ruins of a Church and graveyard. We'll definitely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here and wish we had a little more time to explore the farm and nearby church ruins. The owners are very nice and both took time to take care of us. Our 11-month-old son took to both of them and kept holding his hands up to ask the man to walk him around! He doesn't normally do that with strangers but he must have trusted him. They have scrapbooks in the living room and in each bedroom with the history of and facts about the farm, the area, Ireland as well as all the tips and information one could want. Breakfast was great with healthy, tasty, and hearty options (Full Irish, cereal, oatmeal (they call it porridge), fruit, etc. with great coffee and tea.)
Just our perspective on two negatives in the other review: We knew there were animals because we drove back to the farm when we first arrived but we didn't hear them indoors. The shower wasn't a problem for us either. It's an electrically heated system that is more energy efficient...you just set the heat and speed before you get it. And the drain wasn't clogged like one B&B we stayed in elsewhere!
So, it was a positive experience for us and we recommend it to most everyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildare
3.3 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
14.1 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
7.1 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lord Edward
Lord Edward
#1 of 9 in Kildare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: | Lackaghmore, Kildare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Kildare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kildare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing