We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously over priced”
Review of Johnnie Fox's Pub

Johnnie Fox's Pub
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Glencullen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $186
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Johnnie Fox's Pub is situated in the heart of the Dublin Mountains and it is a pub that simply "has it all"! A living museum of Irish tradition, live entertainment nightly, food served daily from their a la carte menu which starts at 12:30 through until 9:30pm. The full range of menus are available to view online.Situated only 40 mins from Dublin centre, 10 minutes from Enniskerry or Dundrum, there is even a shuttle bus service which runs daily from the city to the pub and back down again, for full details contact EXPRESS BUS and these are also great for full coach and mini bus hire - only €10 return per person (10+). For a real treat - one must experienced the world famous "HOOLEY NIGHT" 4 course dinner and live traditional ballad music and dance show, for only €52.50 per person - a great night no matter the occasion or number of people in your group, book from one person to 130. Traditional Irish Peat Fireplaces, Live Entertainment, Great Food, Own Bakery, Ample Parking, Friendly Service and so much more.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Ill keep this short and sweet. We( two couples) visited about two weeks ago. All in all a very average two course meal ended up costing €150, which I found to be seriously over priced. We ordered two lamb shanks and two 10oz steaks, had one drink each and a starter, 3 soups and 1 prawn cocktail. To be honest I was dumbfounded at that price!

On a positive note, atmosphere was excellent as usual, especially in the sun. Staff were very welcoming and accommodating also.

I will certainly return( for a drink) but think one could find better value for money elsewhere in the food department!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank muammar g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxsPub, Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Muammar - thank you for your comment, being an a la carte menu people can of course choose their dishes which are all individually priced, the steak is €21.50 x2 is one third of your spend already, the lamb shanks are €30 for the two so now you are at half the spend already, add in starters and drinks and it will add up quickly regardless of dining here with us or indeed anywhere else.

We place our full menu with prices online at our web site, on menu pages and at our entrances and in truth Muammar, we are not perceived as over-priced (see the comment one day ahead of this one) unless a person has come in with other expectations.

We offer main course from €9.95 all the way through to €115 (platter for 2-4) so we try to accommodate all purses comfortably.

However I do empathise, for I was in Lara myself in Wicklow only last weekend, had a lovely lunch for 4, nothing overstated just a nice relaxed lunch and it was circa €150 also including two glasses of wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,116 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went because it advertised itself as the highest pub in Ireland...to get out that far though is really a distraction if what you have really come to see and tour is Dublin. Touristy, but with a sly sort of charm that rings through the decor, which in the end really draws you to the middle of nowhere. The view though is lovely. What made the trip worth it for me was an Irish tourist boy about nine or so shouting to his mom as she sipped her pint at a picnic table "look ma, we're at da highest point in da worl."

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomashopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are thinking of taking a trip to johnnies fox's make sure you eat befor you arrive, the standard of food is very poor service is ok and prices are way to high for quality of food. Go and have a few drinks and listen to live music but don't stay to long as mineral and beer prices are also very steep.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank williamkellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxsPub, Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Hello William Kellet and thank you for your comment, it is a shame that we did not meet your expectations.

What items did you have that you felt dissatisfied with? Would you care to expand on it via email or on our website? We do hope that you will.

As for our prices, they are available online and at our entrances, the minerals would be on par with the majority of large venues offering live entertainment for free across Dublin - well those that you can find these days as sadly many are cutting this from their budgets which is a shame.
Anyway, thanks for commenting and if you want to expand on this with more detail we would love to chat by email tripadvisor@jfp.ie or online www.jfp.ie/Feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a late lunch in Johnnie Fox's. After waiting 30 minutes for a free table we sat waiting for menus for another half an hour. We ordered pate and filo prawns for starter. Brown bread came which was still soggy from defrosting. I drew the waitress' attention to this and she took the bread away and replaced it with yet more soggy bread. I had a feeling that this was going to get worse as we progressed. And I was right. The prawns were frozen and not freshly prepared. The pate was edible. Our main courses of Hot Platter of assorted fish and Jumbalena were a disgrace. Neither tasted fresh and scallops, fish and mussels were chewy. I pointed this out to the waitress and she took both dishes away without an apology or even asking us did we want something else. To be honest she was totally disinterested and we just paid our bill after nearly 3 hours of being there-going home with an empty stomach. After many years of travelling to eat in Johnnie Foxs we will not return again to waste our money or our precious time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank agill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxsPub, Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Hello Agill3
Firstly thank you for taking the time to contribute your opinion on your experience at Johnnie Fox's Pub.
Your server had already informed us of your disatisfaction but explained after the event as you were gone before a manager could get to you, we would have gone out of our way to make your experience more enjoyable had you alerted us through your server.

The brown bread is not frozen (as we have our own bakery where we bake fresh bread daily and we would be happy to give you a tour of same), it was replaced by the server purely because you were not satisfied.
Our filo prawns are Vannamei prawns wrapped in sheets of filo and deep fried and as these are not local to Irish shores they are frozen of course, as they are in all premises, but it was noted that you did enjoy all of these completely and apparently the pate also as both plates were cleared.
The main courses were not to your satisfaction and our server wanted to ensure you enjoyed your evening and offered you your choice from the a la carte menu but apparently nothing was to your liking as you did not want the menus, our server had done her best and had already informed the manager to come to your table and look after you but you were so fast to leave he just missed you.
To be very straight with you Agill3 we really do hope that you will reconsider being with us and not just for the starters, you say you have been coming here for years and will therefore know that the menu items such as the pate, the filo, the Jambalaya have always been there, the hot platter is different all the time as it is what the chef brings in and combines.
Maybe you would consider expanding on this and returning in the future if we have a little chat in an email as to what you would hope to find now that you used to experience over the past years? Please do email us at tripadvisor@jfp.ie, we would like to think we could re-instill your faith in us as you had it for so long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We thought we'd try it out as we had heard it was a great place even before we arrived in Dublin. The locals I met in our hotels jacuzzi said it was an expensive tourist trap and locals would never go there, this made us worry and we nearly didn't go...SO glad we did! we had a great night out, its a large establishment that serves lots of covers. Full of character and artifacts to look at all over the pub. We had one of the best meals of our 1 week holiday here. The smoked salmon starter and filo prawns starters were gorgeous and the soda bread was the best I've had in Ireland. The roast duck, steak and children's mains were all great. Enjoyed a half of Guinness here too which was chilled to perfection and tasted great. There was a band and singing going on in the main restaurant, which sounded brilliant, everyone looked liked they were really enjoying themselves. They have outside seating areas at the front and the side of the pub, the front boasts beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. I would highly recommend a visit, its a great place. We would definitely go back, the locals we met don't know what they are missing! Service was excellent too. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DirecttheSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie Fox's Pub also viewed

Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 
Dalkey, County Dublin
 
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 

Been to Johnnie Fox's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing