We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Millstone Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millstone Cottages
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just back from a 2 night break. After our wedding. Just what we needed what an absolute little gem. Would highly recommended looking to book again next month! Hot tub and sauna were amazing very relaxing Danny and Delores very welcoming with lit fire on arrival

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndseyrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone Cotta... H, Owner at Millstone Cottages, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our cottages. Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay at Millstone Cottages after your recent marriage, and that you intend to return. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you both all the very best in the future,

Kind regards,

Danny & Dolores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Had a fabulous return visit to Cottage 2 to celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary. Danny and Dolores are just perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The cottages are ideally situated and the addition of wi-fi is fab! I would thoroughly recommend staying in either of the three cottages - you will want to return again and again ..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristineAMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone Cotta... H, Owner at Millstone Cottages, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Christine,

It was lovely to see you all again and we are always very pleased to see our guests returning. We hope you had a lovely time here in Donegal for your wedding anniversary celebrations and we look forward to seeing you all again in 2015.
Kind regards,

Danny & Dolores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just back today from staying in millstone cottage no:3. What an amazing relaxing time we had Dolores and Danny such lovely people to talk to so down to earth and friendly makes you feel at home right away. Bedroom downstairs with en suite was brilliant for my mother as she can't go upstairs this was perfect the hot tub and sauna was a bonus the cottage is so clean and spacious perfect time away will be telling all my friends and family to go and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gallagher04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone Cotta... H, Owner at Millstone Cottages, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read your review this morning and thank you so much for the lovely card and sweets which we delighted to find in the cottage after you left.
Great to hear the downstairs ensuite bedroom was perfect for your Mum and that you all enjoyed the hot tub and sauna.
Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends and we are very happy to see you intend to return to Millstone Cottages.

Kind regards,

Danny & Dolores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We've just returned from our stay at No.3 and can't recommend it enough. Danny and Delores went above and beyond to ensure we were well looked after throughout our stay, lighting the fire on arrival, arranging taxi to the village and giving us directions and advice for our activities. the accommodation is amazing, maintained to the highest standards.We only availed of one bedroom as we were a couple but the property would easily accommodate a group. The surroundings are very tranquil so if it is peace and quiet you are after this is the place for you! And what can we say about the hot tub and sauna, just wow! We will be back!

Room Tip: Go for No 3 if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cadger1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A wonderful time had by all at Millstone cottages. A fabulous, modern, comfortable home with a bonus hot tub and sauna to relax in during the day or night. Fab scenery and wonderful beaches near by. Plan to visit again soon. Great for families or groups of friends. Top class!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

1 word wow!! What a warm. friendly welcome, beautiful cottages we rented 1&3 both has 6 seated hot tub with disco ball lights unreal just class cottage 3 also has sauna it was amazballs, very private! On the wall had sheets times dates etc of all being checked cleaned n changed very very clean as was r cottages beautiful white bedding though out, cottages smelt so fresh n clean blazing fire on arrive, we were shown round and left to settle Dolores n danny only a phone call away at all times. In r party was 4 adults 7 children and 2 babies age range 0 to 12 , each and every one of the children loved your cottages as did we adults as u no we extended r stay another 2 nights dolores n danny lol we had everything we needed in cottage, we arrived bk to bags of blocks on a few occasions of r 9 day stay , left at the foot for us as owners don't go in without u knowing, anything we needed dolores and danny didn't hesitant , really lovely genuine folks who had all the time in the world to tell us places to visit places great in the area for kids , r kids had a blast at the massive private play ground which had a zip wire which kids loved spend hours in the fresh air playing on it makes a change to sitting on ps3 I pods n phones! When it rained we all enjoyed some family.time in the beautiful hot tub located a few feet away from back door music playing, really relaxing place highly recommend we have booked a week in June cannot wait,elect n oil was no different than r own at home we also have a hot tub if u don't it will cost slightly more on elect for it not an awful amount of difference couple £. All in all great value for money! Money well spent, 5 min into village to shops n butchers found em v cheap compared to home and meat is lovely very friendly folk n Millford make u wanna move here! Any chance of permanently renting num 3 dolores lol again thanks dolores n danny for a truly wonderful dream holiday n donegal just what we needed for my birthday n after the mad Xmas rush, c u both very soon X Bernie Baz Cortney Gareth Jodie n maison x ps pics do it no justice very peaceful relaxing beautiful place out standing beautiful surroundings inside n out x

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernienbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Great weekend having booked the three cottages, the hot tubs were amazing and the playground loved by the children. Houses clean and spacious and fantastically equipped. Rathmullan beach 15 minutes away for a good walk. Electricity and gas bills came to 110 Euros for the three cottages for the weekend to give people an idea of extra cost.
Would definitely recommend and hope to be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone Cotta... H, Owner at Millstone Cottages, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Millstone Cottages. We are delighted to hear you found our accommodation family friendly and that the kids enjoyed the playground hot tubs etc.
Just to confirm your bill of 110 euro payable on departure was for electric usage and oil usage in total for the three cottages combined. This worked out on average 36 euro per cottage and to be honest we did notice after you left on Sunday, that the immersion had been left on in cottage no.3 and when we checked the water was absolutely boiling hot coming out of the tap, which would indicate it had been on for quite a considerable period of time. Maybe the immersion had been left on, or switched on by accident but either way this would understandably have resulted in you having a much higher meter reading for electric usage than normal. The oil heating system in each cottage is a much more efficient method of heating the water and much cheaper too!!
We are very pleased to hear you recommend our cottages and that you intend to return and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Millstone Cottages.

Kind regards,

Danny & Dolores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
2.5 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone Cottages

Property: Millstone Cottages
Address: Tirhomin, Milford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Milford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Millstone Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone Cottages Milford, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing