We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by a fellow hotelier”
Review of Hotel Nikos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Nikos
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Matala
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
837 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Recommended by a fellow hotelier”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our hotelier in Sissi searched the web and found the Hotel Nikos for us for an overnight stay whilst we were touring southern Crete. It turned out to be a very good choice - spacious room, well air coditioned and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is situated close to the main shops and restaurants and within a short distance of the beach, caves, (and if you are in to archeology) the ancient harbour. A "must visit" is the minute chapel at the southern end of the village with its steep staircase access from the top of the cliff. Matala is still trying to trade its hippie past - but does is very nicely! Just wish I'd been there with Bob Dylan - but hey what do they say? - "if you remember the 60's, you weren't there!!!".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nikos is a lovely hotel owned by friendly people in a superb location only a few minutes from the tavernas and beach. We had a great stay and recommend. Bed was a little hard for our liking. Ask for level 3!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenton24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here. This is a good hotel from which to visit the Matala area, close to the shopping and beach areas, and the Red Beach trail. We got the "room with sea view", which is actually a penthouse room (the only one), Very nice studio, with a view of the bay and the cliff with the famous caves, over the roofs of the rest of the town. The hotel is spotlessly kept. We did not eat at the hotel, since there are many restaurants, bakeries ands delis to choose from. No elevator. The hotel has its own private parking 50 metres up the street, partially covered by vines.

While we liked the penthouse room very much, a minor disadvantage is that you can hear the nocturnal proceedings of the bars at the southern end of the town.

Room Tip: Room at the top has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurystaSwiatowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Hotel Nikos is a nice hotel. The hotel is very clean, in a nice location and has parking. But, Nikos had told us that our rooms would be 40 euros each and when we checked out, his wife insisted that the cost per room was 45 euros. There could have been no misunderstanding as I was with 3 Greek speaking people.

We had also asked his wife for a recommendation for a place to eat. Well, she didn't tell us, but she recommended Alex and Anna's place and Anna is her sister. It was quite ordinary. The next day we had a great meal in a neighbouring village.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matala hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neos Matala
Hotel Neos Matala
#2 of 17 in Matala
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Zafiria
Hotel Zafiria
#12 of 17 in Matala
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matala Bay Hotel
Matala Bay Hotel
#8 of 17 in Matala
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunshine Matala
Hotel Sunshine Matala
#11 of 17 in Matala
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Matala Valley Village Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#16 of 17 in Matala
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikos

Property: Hotel Nikos
Address: Messara, Matala, Crete 702 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Matala
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Matala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Nikos 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nikos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nikos Matala, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing