We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How did I get here?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Matala Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matala Bay Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Matala
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“How did I get here?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Truly disappointing.. There's no hospitality, there's no cleanless, no food we could consume, no management, no concept at all and most tragic - there's no Crete as we were dreaming about. Should be impossible at such a terrific spot to happen place like this but there it is!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IMarco1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    30
    15
    9
See reviews for
17
52
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pilsen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Matala Bay looked like a good hotel at least according to the information we got in the travel agency. From outside it really looked good and also the lobby looked new (after construction). The hotel was clean. However, the swimming pool was not very clean - we didin´t see anyone to clean it during all our stay (10 days) - here were leaves in the water, the suuroundings of the pool was not clean enough as well. But the worst about the hotel was the quality of food and price of beverages - I guess that the hotel bought the cheapest food and the taste was really very bad. Also the choice was very poor - no honey, little fruit. In the evening there was very bad choice of meals. And drinks were not included in the price and in comparison to drinks bought outsidde the hotel, the price was twice higher. Good hotel to stay in but without meals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bilaruze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

pretty quiet and well located hotel. forget good greek food: same poor choice everyday. forget daily room service and bathroom comforts: clean towels once in a week. forget nice welcome and tolerance: management do not understand what hospitality is. really a pity such a structure is not improved by a reasonably professional staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Matala hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Very harsh welcome. The owner knocking at the door inviting us to leave the room. The reservation by Expedia already charged on my credit card was not received by the Hotel. They refused to check by phone with Expedia saying that my evidence was not their problem. I had to call myself and check thair problem. The hotel eventually called Expedia and solved the issue.

They have a poor banquet breakfast. Hotel has a bar and music and noise go late in the night (till 2 am). however, staying down tiwn in Matala the noise would be much higher because of the pubs.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLoved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

I booked the hotel on an internet booking site that I have used in the past. Mataly Bay listed itself as a 3 star hotel and and the photos looked nice so we went ahead and booked it. When we arrived we were given a key to a room that no one in their right mind would consider 3 star. One of the walls was dirty and the bathroom had a very strange rather nasty odor. No screen on the sliding glass windows and the tile was chipped. The bathroom was a plastic stall of sorts with a flimsy shower curtain that did not contain the water. I have neer seen such a shabby bathroom in my life. Matala is loaded with great hotels that are very reasonable. After this dreadful experience I will think twice about booking online.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellemybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed in the above hotel recently.
Whilst it is a reasonable hotel I feel that as English tourists we felt we were, at times and by certain staff members, discriminated against and were in the minority.
The younger bar staff appeared to have no command of the English language when we were trying to order drinks or food yet could chat happily to other european guests in a variety of different languages. Even trying to order food or drinks which were on the bar menu normally resulted in initial blank looks even when pointing to the items in question.
It was also evident by the music continually playing around the pool and bar area that the favourite nationality was German. German drinking songs or apre ski music do little for me.
Yes, we were aware from previous reviews that it ws a mixed clientele but did not realise how much of a minority we would be.
Only a small niggle but annoying.
However the town is very pretty and the people were very friendly so we would return, perhaps to stay in a different hotel although the town did appear to be geared towards German tourists.
Eating out is still comparitvely cheap but very good quality and the sunset oin the beach is fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillB57257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Chose hotel because reviews were good but things have changed. Rooms were not that clean unless crushed mosquitoes all over the walls and cockroaches don't bother you. Though rooms have been renovated, bathrooms need A LOT of work. There was also a strange odor coming from either the a/c or the bathroom; not sure. I should also add that new doors of rooms are not soundproof nor do they close easily so you can pretty much hear all opening and closing doors. Food at breakfast was mediocre and pool not well looked after.

Should mention that staff is indeed very friendly and location very convenient as you can walk to beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunburntGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neos Matala
Hotel Neos Matala
#2 of 17 in Matala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nikos
Hotel Nikos
#4 of 17 in Matala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fragiskos Hotel
Fragiskos Hotel
#3 of 17 in Matala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zafiria
Hotel Zafiria
#12 of 17 in Matala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matala Valley Village Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eva Marina
Hotel Eva Marina
#5 of 17 in Matala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matala Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matala Bay Hotel

Property: Matala Bay Hotel
Address: Matala, Matala, Crete 702 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Matala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Matala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matala Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matala Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matala Bay Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing