We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dimitris Resort Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Matala B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at Dimitris Villa in August 2011. The downstairs room we were given was spacious, air conditioned, with a TV and fridge and the bathroom was tiny but cleaned thoroughly daily.
The big plus was the adjacent pool area, which also served as breakfast venue. Breakfast was basic Greek style with eggs, bread, spreads and coffee or tea. Although we love the sea, we ended up spending a lot of time at the pool because the unrelenting wind made the beach very uncomfortable, whereas the pool was very calm and cool with the grass around. I'm sure we created a lot of noise and splashes but no one complained!

The family who owned Dimitris Villa were very gracious hosts and made us feel very welcome, to the point of offering drinks and fresh coffee even to friends who came to see us. Finally, Matala is a beautiful village with lots of little bars and tavernas, and the food and hospitality was great all around. Definitely recommended for a nice and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room as we had to keep the curtains shut to avoid being seen by other guests at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ta3idiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We visited Dimitris Villas because we wanted a break from our jobs and wanted a quiet place to relax. And this is what we received. Very friendly stuff, nice relaxing rooms, quiet area, this is what we wanted!!!!
If we visit Matala again, we will stay at Dimitris Villa for sure!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tristan_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I never ate the fruit that they served during breakfast since they didn't bother to cover the food and a few flies were hovering over the food like crazy. There isn't a non-smoking area for non-smokers to enjoy their breakfast since the owner's daughter usually smokes inside the taverna and at least few smokers are also gathered outside.

The food that they serve in most of the tavernas in Matala are just barely eatable, do avoid ordering salads, fried anchovies (they didn't take the insides out, yuk!) and the lamb chops at Hakuna Matata's. I've probably had the worst salad ever, and the only place that we came across which offers decent food was Die Zwei Bruder.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vsiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The rooms you see in the pictures and the facilities described as being offered on the hotel's website are indeed accurate of Demitris Villa. However, we stayed for 7 nights and were put into completely different accommodation in a building around the corner for the first 4 nights. The difference was marked and you will certainly not get what you paid for if similar happens to you. There was no balcony, but two chairs had been provided on the landing where there is a view of a rusty spiral staircase. No TV or safe. The fridge was communal in the same stairwell our chairs were located. The room was barely big enough for the twin beds and there was no shower curtain. To finish this experience we were expected to clear out of this room at midday to move into the building we should have been in from the start.

I enjoy a continental breakfast but theirs is truly lacking. Boiled eggs are offered without egg cups or even spoons to eat them. The only fruit was watermelon. Yoghurt was available pre-served into miserly bowls kept under watchful eye at the bar. And then there was bread and jam. The only positive I could find was that the juice is actually fruit juice and not cordial.

Demitris villa promises much and delivers little.

I nearly forgot that check-in is complicated by the fact that the reception at the villa is never manned. Instead a handwritten note tells you to go to swimming pool Elena, which you will spend an age trying to find because there is no sign on it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fluffychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The rooms here are adequate, although the window handle broke off when we tried to close the window and my husband almost got stuck in the bathroom because the door handle didn't work. When we arrived the first thing that we wanted to do was take a shower, but discovered to our dismay that there was no hot water. When my husband called the management they informed us that because the water is solar heated and there was no sun that day there would be no hot water until approximately 11 AM the next day. While we appreciate that this is a budget hotel, one would expect hot water in even the cheapest of hotels (but from what we saw on the other roofs, solar hot water seems common in Matala). The breakfast is fine (one of the guests was taking entire loaves of bread for himself, which seemed excessive), and the pool looks very nice although we did not use it. We never saw management on site; in their place was a surly old woman who would direct us to call the management if there was a problem.

Despite these issues, we would have had an adequate stay had the management allowed us to check out an hour late so that we could spend a little more time on the beach. But when my husband called to request a late checkout at 1 PM the woman who runs the hotel would not budge from a noon checkout despite the fact that there were relatively few guests. We are not sure if you can do better in Matala, but it is worth looking.

That said, in our opinion Matala is not to be missed. We had a wonderful time on the beach, swimming, exploring the caves and eating fantastic food (Scala Fish Tavern) with a gorgeous view. Make sure to try the Cretan bread (barley rusks with grated tomato, olive oil and feta) while you are in Matala.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank skyvoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We had a pleasant time at Dimitris Villa (2 days + 2 more days because we liked it). It is 200m away from the beach but it takes no time to get there. The pool side is cool. Don't expect a 4 stars, but you'll have a great time for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lysergid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We paid 20 euros a night for 2 people, with breakfast and A/C, and could not believe the value for money. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was good, fresh bread, honey, jam, yoghurt, pastries and chocolate cake, with juice and tea or coffee.
The apartments are a few minutes walk away from the centre so are in a very quiet position. They are a little hard to find as they are signposted from the village and not as you drive in. The turning into the road upto the apartments is slightly hidden by trees, but it is on the left just after the Matala Bay Hotel.
The pool area was good, a number of sunbeds and trees for much needed shade. Also plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rln72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matala hotels
0.1 mi away
Matala Bay Hotel
Matala Bay Hotel
#10 of 17 in Matala
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matala Valley Village Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fragiskos Hotel
Fragiskos Hotel
#1 of 17 in Matala
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neos Matala
Hotel Neos Matala
#2 of 17 in Matala
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zafiria
Hotel Zafiria
#9 of 17 in Matala
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sofia
Hotel Sofia
#13 of 17 in Matala
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimitris Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimitris Resort Hotel

Address: Matala Main Road, Matala, Crete 702 00, Greece (Formerly Matala Dimitris Villa)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Matala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Matala
Price Range: $33 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dimitris Resort Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality in Greek language is treasured as one of the most precious values and inheritance we got from our ancient Greek roots and the Cretan culture. We mean to offer this to our guests while they stay in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dimitris Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matala Dimitris Hotel
Hotel Matala Dimitris
Dimitris Resort Hotel Matala, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing