We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Hotel Coral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Coral
Ranked #2 of 12 Matala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Probably the best hotel we stayed in during my tour around Crete. Our room was spacious, clean and had a lovely view. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I liked the pool by the bar - the bar tender was especially friendly. We spent €60 in BB which I thought was very reasonable being high season. We didn't have any trouble parking and the beach is right in front of the hotel so great location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HK_Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed 2 nights on our 25th anniv trip to Greece. The owners were fantastic. Maria decorated our bed with flowers before our arrival. My husband's luggage was lost, and she called the airline multiple times, and ensured that they would deliver it before we had to leave, which was great. We came back from dinner the 2nd night, and there was his suitcase in the room. She also offered suggestions on places to go and see while in the area, and another really nice beach, which we had to hike into, but was through a canyon and beautiful. Her English was also great.

Room was quite roomy, and nice porch to sit out in. Bathroom nice size, and very modern. Nice pool on property, which was good, since the beach was quite a walk. Free wireless internet, which worked great in the room. Also a small fridge. Breakfast was very good, including Greek yogurt and honey. Only compaint was the beds were very hard, but I think this is typical for Greece.

Matala is a magical place, and we certainly would love to return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LESCOTT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My friend and I arrived just before the Matala Hippy Reunion Festival (and excitement we had not anticipated!) so normally sleepy Matala was buzzing with energy. Delightful then that we found our hotel 5 minutes walk from all the hussle and bussle of the village! Nestled at the foot of a dramatic rock face, and looking out over countryside to more majestic hills, we found a quiet, very pretty, small hotel, with well kept gardens, a clean pool and a charming restaurant. The rooms are basic, quite small, but well equipped and clean, with mosquito netting on windows and doors, a fridge and aircon (for which you pay as you use), and all with balcony or verandah. Breakfast each morning was delicious, with home made jams, good juices, fresh coffee and scrumptious mountain herb tea. We had dinner there one night which was also delicious, on a dish of the day basis, traditional Cretan and made with fresh local ingredients.
This is a truly unique place to stay, not only because of the beautiful location, but mainly because of the owners, and the people who seem to go back there every year, and feel so at home here. Maria, Eleni and Iannis will include you in their "extended family"and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Nothing is too much trouble, to make your stay as enjoyable and as comfortable as possible.
A car is useful in order to explore the local area, and for a breathtaking view during dinner, go to the Fish Taverna five minutes away by car. The restaurants in the village are all fairly similar, with alot of local fish, and the square is a lovely place to enjoy a glass of wine after dinner and watch the world go by. The beach location is spectacular overlooked by the legendary caves, and the swimming is largely safe, if a little wavey at times!
Loved Matala, and loved this hotel - so much I am going back in September!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed for a week in June, Elaina's home hand jams are just the best and my husband enjoyed drinking cups of her tea, which she made fresh every morning from the mountain herbs. The rooms are quiet and the pool is clear and refreshing, and the gentle stroll to the centre of Matala was short but very pleasent. Whilst we were there we met a Scottish couple who intended to stay for two weeks and stayed for the month..need I say more.?

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoenglishladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jean Baptiste G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alessio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Crishab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matala hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neos Matala
Hotel Neos Matala
#2 of 17 in Matala
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matala Bay Hotel
Matala Bay Hotel
#8 of 17 in Matala
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Matala Valley Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zafiria
Hotel Zafiria
#10 of 17 in Matala
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fragiskos Hotel
Fragiskos Hotel
#1 of 17 in Matala
345 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Nikos
Hotel Nikos
#4 of 17 in Matala
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral

Address: Matala Road, Matala, Crete 702 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Matala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Matala
Price Range: $46 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Coral 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Coral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Matala, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing