We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have just got back from the appartments and had a great time.
We are a family of four with two young girls and we all enjoyed it.
The appartments are family run and we found all the staff friendly throughout our stay.
We were greeted on arrival and shown to our rooms. The rooms were fine, clean and tidy and everything worked okay apart from the shower which was sometimes fine but other times a trickle - be careful with the kids in the shower the temperature did fluctuate quickly and at times got very hot.
The pool area is great and there was no need to reserve sunbeds - there was plenty for everyone. There are two pools - one larger and deeper than the other and both were very clean.Theres also a small park along with a new minature golf course which is good but typically Greek - it only has seven holes.
The bar at the side of the pool serves both breakfast ( not bad ) and hot snacks - burgers, toasties etc ( very good ). Both food and drink is reasonably priced at the bar.Avoid the spirits though at five euros a glass - you might aswell have the cocktails at six euros if you don't drink beer.
Theres an ATM around 100yards from the hotel which I used four times and was always in working order.
If you travelled into the village centre theres plenty of places to eat - our favourites were Viva and the Cockney cafe ( sounds very English and is but the people are really friendly the food is good and the portions are large ).
The beach is narrow but long with plenty of room for everyone. Sunbeds are free as long as you have a drink from the bar that they are in front of - again theres plenty of sunbeds for everyone. Look out for the Oompa Loompa bar just off the front which has burgers and hotdogs for under a Euro and beer for 1.20 Euros.
The sea is great and shelves out slowly - the only negative is that is a bit pebbly in the edge so you might need swimming shoes, espescially for the little ones.
The beach has some inflatable rides at one end and some pedal boats run by a really friendly guy from New York called Chris at the other end.
Last tip - you'll get told about a nice walk up the hill to a turtle reserve. Consider carefully before you do it - the walk is torturous in the hot weather, the path gets really muddy if theres a small amount of rain and theres not much to see when you get there. We managed it but I'd only reccommend if you're a serious walker and definitely avoid if you've got really small children.
All in all its a nice set of appartments in a nice area - you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheffieldCraigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    91
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
113
145
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I've recently returned from a 2 week holiday to this hotel. It was a holiday with a few family members so I wanted something quite quiet. It was a lovely resort, pool was always clean although there are a lot of wasps around, the 2nd day I was there I got stung twice, once by a wasp, and once by an unknown greek insect which caused my thumb to swell and the poison from the sting made me sleep for a full day! I was a little wary about going to the pool after that. but Mr Kostas does go around every now and again removing the wasps. The location is nice, the beach is lovely although you will definetley need Beach shoes, which you can buy for 3 euro on the sea front because it's shingly and there are Jelly fish and sea urchins. The weather was unusually hot for the time of year at 41 degrees. but it was lovely. there's a wonderful little cafe near the beach called Cafe Cafe, who sell cheap slushes, sandwiches, ice cream and hot dogs. there are good rester aunts called The Cockney Bar who give you large portions. and a Gyros take away place in the town. Overall I had a really great time. I don't think the hotel is really for small children due to the wasps. but being 18 years old myself I think it's good for teenagers and couples and families, I read reviews before I went saying that Mr Kostas is miserable. This is completely un true, He's greek and can't speak any english, but if you make an effort to smile and just say hello, he will return the friendly nature.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaytee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel is very good and the Kostas family very friendly although the two senior gents who i presume are Father and Grandfather dont really mingle much or talk to the guests the younger members of the family are lovely.
Food is ok..not big portions though.. and drinks 3 euros for a beer and 5 euros for a spirit... Cocktails are 6 euros.

Pool is good although has a large amount of wasps around it which is annoying.

Rooms very good we had room in the old building with not a great shower and dodgy flush on the toilet but otherwise great..and the cleaners are superb and are in your room every day except tuesdays..

BBQ night is good on Wed nights and food tasty and loads of it for 10 euros.

Many people in the hotel go every year which speaks for itself but i would say if you are going ask for the new block which is much better.

Polichrono itself is a nice resort mainly restaurants rather than bars and i thought the Garden restaurant on the seafront was excellent.. Also head for the Cockney cafe for a large meal if you are hungry.

The beach is pretty but not great for bathers.. too many rocks and large one's too make a paddle or a swim a little tricky and you have to watch your feet when in the sea.
Also there is a lot of Jelly fish like things and i mean a lot!! floating around on the sea so again it spoils the day at the beach if you like a swim..

We travelled with Thomson as we got a good deal but avoided their trips due to the rip off prices.
Most of the days out and trips they offer can be bought at a fraction of the cost in town.

Overall a good holiday and i would recommend the Royal Kostas to anyone thinking about going..

Room Tip: Ask for the new block and NOT the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338Bucko44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just come back from a weeks last minute holiday at Royal Kostas and had a fantastic time. I had read some rather negative reviews but honestly had no need to worry.The complex is really nice, we stayed in one of the smaller blocks near the pool and the apartments are very nice. They are really spacious with lots of storageand very clean, true the beds are not the comfiest but what are on this kind of break? No indoor table but again not a problem as we ate on our verandah and the free aircon is an absolute godsend!!! It was pushing 40 degrees most of the week! The pool area is lovely and cleaned every night and we spent most of our time there as my daughter loved it. The place is family run and everyone is friendly and welcoming, despite other reviews kostas is not grumpy at all, although he looks rather dour at times we found anything but! The pool bar is also nice and very clean, we ate there at lunch and the menu is fine for that purpose and reasonably priced. Polichronio itself is nice, only a short walk to all the shops (the main road is not as scary as made out to be) - the bakery on the corner is to die for! Flegros the parrot restaurant was our favourite, lovely food (they do generous half portions) and they were fantastic with my daughter. Nefalis is also nice and the cockney cafe is really worth checking out - portion sizes really do live up to their hype but the food is great and its not your typical 'brits abroad' eating place either. Views at night from the seafront restaurants are lovely. The only downside for us was the beach, its very narrow and crowded and the sea bed is very pebbly, too much for my 9 yr old and my mum. That said, the sea itself is gorgeous, warm and clear - perfect for swimming and once I was at shoulder level it becomes sandy again. We were told that the beach gets better the further on you go but we opted to stay round the Kostas pool. Graeme the rep is really nice and very friendly.We all had a good night at his quiz at the BBQ which was great and attended by most of the complex, the food was also great. All in all we had a lovely holiday in a nice complex, met some really nice people and all at a fantastic price!

Room Tip: we were told the new block is apparently more spacious, we stayed in room 115 in the blocks to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked a last minute break through Thomson at a great price . We stayed in the old block which was comfortable enough, although the shower was quite small and you have to hold the handle but no problem!! The apartment was clean and the maids works so hard always smiling and waving when they see you. The Family are absoloutely lovely so friendly and will do anything for you. The Pools were both a good size and cleaned every day Towels and sheets were changed once in the week although sheets were a little stiff!!! We ate in most nights and we coped really well. The apartments were in a really good location and a few minutes walk to the shops and down to the strip. The beach was very busy and if you dont want to go to a bar and use their sunbeds (quite expensive)then buy a parasol 6.5 euros and a couple of lilos 6.5 euros
and use them every day!! When on the beach a pick-up comes round that sells fresh fruit which was brilliant!! I got 2 punnets of strawberries cheries bananas all for 5 euros.
We didnt do any trips while we there I thought they were very expensive but make your own minds up. The rep was very informative. We went for a relaxing week and the weather was fantastic in the 40"s all week .All in all a really nice week!! Would we go back?? Yes 100%.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alinpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

After travelling to Halkidiki for the past 12 years at different hotels I have to say that we were pleasantly suprised at the Royal Hotel ! Its in a great location and only a few minutes walk to the shops and supermarkets etc.

Family run and very friendly Nicos, Ellie and Panos cant do enough for you from arriving at the hotel at which you are personally taken to your rooms and shown around to booking car hire and bike hire or taxi's for you - nothing was too much bother. We arrived mid heat wave so 38 degrees was the norm and a pleasant change from the miserable UK weather.

Lovely spacious rooms (we stayed in the 1 bedroomed apt ) which was large with seperate kitchen and sofa bed and en suite toilet / shower. All very clean with plenty of utensils including kettle, toastie maker, pots and pans , electric hob, fridge so if you were thinking of self catering you have everything you need!

Hotel is in 4 blocks - main block plus 2 annexes built 5 years ago and a new block built 3 years ago hence why the royal Kostas apartments are now named the Royal Hotel as they now have over 100 beds so you will see Royal Hotel written everywhere.

Pool scene was nice and chilled with 2 good size pools and plenty of sunbeds. Polichrono is a pretty chilled out area so no need to rush to get your sun beds :) bar and snacks were good with plenty to shose from from omelettes to toasties to waffles plus the normal greek fare! English breakfast/Tea/Coffe/orange juice was 5 euro's and good. Large Mythos was 3 euros and a good selection of bottles including cider, corona, WKD for 3.50 euro's.

The resort itself was pretty quiet which Polichrono is with plenty of places to eat out more so than bars. Nefeli / garden restaurant is by far the best in Polichrono and a short walk from the hotel . Some great food there and we have returned to this restaurant year on year so i would recommend it to anyone for traditional greek fare , seafood or a nice steak! If you are the burger / chips type then the cockney cafe is also a regular haunt for brits offering massive belly busting meals at a fraction of the price here! loads of local giros / chicken take aways too if you want a snack. Polichrono is more of a leasurely stroll resort and chill over a nice meal and glass of wine - not too many bars so if you are looking for night life then go to Hanioti as this is much busier and caters for drinkers as well as eaters! Hanioti has a beautiful square with fountains etc. and is a real focal point in the evenings were you can sit outside in the laid back bars and people watch whilst listening to some great tunes or enjoying the football. Something for everyone in Hanioti - a great hotel there is the Lesse Hotel we have stayed twice there and again a lovely clean hotel with friendly staff. If you love Seafood as i do then try the Lighthouse in Hanioti its down a small backroad off the main square but they so the best seafood ever - the rep told us about this place years ago and we always make sure we go back every year! its where the locals tend to eat so is the best.. taxi fare to Hanioti from Polichrono is 7 euros so not too bad at all as its only a 10 min drive.

We hired a bike for 4 days which Nichos arranged for us after some bartering at 80 euros as we love to get off into the hills which are just behind the hotel and sample some of the excellent views up around turtle pond and over to Skioni which by the way has the best seafood ever and has a lovely little harbour you can walkround and great beach !

In all a great friendly hotel with lovely people and we will certainly go back. Such a pity that there has been so much bad press about Greece and the euro as it has had an impact on tourism - we heard all sorts of rumours about supermarkets being empty and it was hard to change money etc. but nothing could be farther than the truth as everything was as normal with absolutely no problems at all just a little quieter than usual but hey the service was spot on every where you went!

Will definatley return to the Royal next year or even later this year if possible ...

Room Tip: Our room was 215 which was in the newer block and had a nice private balcony which was great as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hazel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked here for a last minute break through Thomson. We were booked in a studio apartment and the room was as we expected. Good air con, beds were ok and a small kitchenette. The hotel as a whole was great. Two nice pools, incredibly helpful staff and a really good location just over the main road from the resort centre. The food choice at the hotel was quite limited, but it's a self catering hotel so I didn't have an issue with that.

Polichrono itself was a nice, family orientated resort. Plenty of bars and tavernas which all seemed to offer good price, tasty food. The Cockney Cafe seems highly rated on here - provides home cooked English food which was plentiful and superbly cooked although it was a real struggle to get hold of staff to order drinks, dessert and get the bill.

We booked Royal Kostas in the hope of finding a relaxed week in the sun, and in that it delivered what we wanted perfectly.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmithers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polichrono
1.8 mi away
Kassandra Palace Hotel
Kassandra Palace Hotel
#10 of 12 in Kriopigi
260 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macedonian Sun Hotel
Macedonian Sun Hotel
#8 of 11 in Kallithea
152 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pallini Beach Hotel
Pallini Beach Hotel
#69 of 125 in Kassandra
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Alkion Hotel
Alkion Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kriopigi
148 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ammon Zeus Hotel
Ammon Zeus Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kallithea
55 reviews
5.5 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#2 of 18 in Pefkohori
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Polichrono, Polichrono 63085, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful village of Chalkidiki in Polychrono, the peninsula of Kassandra, awaits a modern complex 4-star hotel to offer a very relaxing and beautiful moments. The Hotel Royal combines natural beauty, located between green hills and close to the turquoise waters of the Gulf Toroneos, with all the amenities a traveler wishes for a memorable vacation. The complex consists of 5 buildings with 71 (23 apartments and 48 studios) fully equipped rooms and features two swimming pools with sun loungers and parasols. The hotel can accommodate travelers with disabilities, as well as all public areas are accessible. In the beautiful outdoors, you can enjoy swimming, sunbathing while reading your favorite book plus ordering drinks and snacks throughout the day from our highly organized pool bar. Every week a barbecue night takes place, with a lot of delicious food. If you wish to swim in the crystal clear turquoise sea of the region, the distance to the beach is not more than 3 minutes. If you want to stroll or shop, the village center is just 2 minutes from the hotel. The Hotel Royal is the ideal destination for family vacations and promises to provide you with everything you have in your home and ... much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartments Royal
The Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Royal Hotel Polichrono, Greece - Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing