We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked a last minute break through Thomson at a great price . We stayed in the old block which was comfortable enough, although the shower was quite small and you have to hold the handle but no problem!! The apartment was clean and the maids works so hard always smiling and waving when they see you. The Family are absoloutely lovely so friendly and will do anything for you. The Pools were both a good size and cleaned every day Towels and sheets were changed once in the week although sheets were a little stiff!!! We ate in most nights and we coped really well. The apartments were in a really good location and a few minutes walk to the shops and down to the strip. The beach was very busy and if you dont want to go to a bar and use their sunbeds (quite expensive)then buy a parasol 6.5 euros and a couple of lilos 6.5 euros
and use them every day!! When on the beach a pick-up comes round that sells fresh fruit which was brilliant!! I got 2 punnets of strawberries cheries bananas all for 5 euros.
We didnt do any trips while we there I thought they were very expensive but make your own minds up. The rep was very informative. We went for a relaxing week and the weather was fantastic in the 40"s all week .All in all a really nice week!! Would we go back?? Yes 100%.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alinpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 361 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

After travelling to Halkidiki for the past 12 years at different hotels I have to say that we were pleasantly suprised at the Royal Hotel ! Its in a great location and only a few minutes walk to the shops and supermarkets etc.

Family run and very friendly Nicos, Ellie and Panos cant do enough for you from arriving at the hotel at which you are personally taken to your rooms and shown around to booking car hire and bike hire or taxi's for you - nothing was too much bother. We arrived mid heat wave so 38 degrees was the norm and a pleasant change from the miserable UK weather.

Lovely spacious rooms (we stayed in the 1 bedroomed apt ) which was large with seperate kitchen and sofa bed and en suite toilet / shower. All very clean with plenty of utensils including kettle, toastie maker, pots and pans , electric hob, fridge so if you were thinking of self catering you have everything you need!

Hotel is in 4 blocks - main block plus 2 annexes built 5 years ago and a new block built 3 years ago hence why the royal Kostas apartments are now named the Royal Hotel as they now have over 100 beds so you will see Royal Hotel written everywhere.

Pool scene was nice and chilled with 2 good size pools and plenty of sunbeds. Polichrono is a pretty chilled out area so no need to rush to get your sun beds :) bar and snacks were good with plenty to shose from from omelettes to toasties to waffles plus the normal greek fare! English breakfast/Tea/Coffe/orange juice was 5 euro's and good. Large Mythos was 3 euros and a good selection of bottles including cider, corona, WKD for 3.50 euro's.

The resort itself was pretty quiet which Polichrono is with plenty of places to eat out more so than bars. Nefeli / garden restaurant is by far the best in Polichrono and a short walk from the hotel . Some great food there and we have returned to this restaurant year on year so i would recommend it to anyone for traditional greek fare , seafood or a nice steak! If you are the burger / chips type then the cockney cafe is also a regular haunt for brits offering massive belly busting meals at a fraction of the price here! loads of local giros / chicken take aways too if you want a snack. Polichrono is more of a leasurely stroll resort and chill over a nice meal and glass of wine - not too many bars so if you are looking for night life then go to Hanioti as this is much busier and caters for drinkers as well as eaters! Hanioti has a beautiful square with fountains etc. and is a real focal point in the evenings were you can sit outside in the laid back bars and people watch whilst listening to some great tunes or enjoying the football. Something for everyone in Hanioti - a great hotel there is the Lesse Hotel we have stayed twice there and again a lovely clean hotel with friendly staff. If you love Seafood as i do then try the Lighthouse in Hanioti its down a small backroad off the main square but they so the best seafood ever - the rep told us about this place years ago and we always make sure we go back every year! its where the locals tend to eat so is the best.. taxi fare to Hanioti from Polichrono is 7 euros so not too bad at all as its only a 10 min drive.

We hired a bike for 4 days which Nichos arranged for us after some bartering at 80 euros as we love to get off into the hills which are just behind the hotel and sample some of the excellent views up around turtle pond and over to Skioni which by the way has the best seafood ever and has a lovely little harbour you can walkround and great beach !

In all a great friendly hotel with lovely people and we will certainly go back. Such a pity that there has been so much bad press about Greece and the euro as it has had an impact on tourism - we heard all sorts of rumours about supermarkets being empty and it was hard to change money etc. but nothing could be farther than the truth as everything was as normal with absolutely no problems at all just a little quieter than usual but hey the service was spot on every where you went!

Will definatley return to the Royal next year or even later this year if possible ...

Room Tip: Our room was 215 which was in the newer block and had a nice private balcony which was great as some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hazel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked here for a last minute break through Thomson. We were booked in a studio apartment and the room was as we expected. Good air con, beds were ok and a small kitchenette. The hotel as a whole was great. Two nice pools, incredibly helpful staff and a really good location just over the main road from the resort centre. The food choice at the hotel was quite limited, but it's a self catering hotel so I didn't have an issue with that.

Polichrono itself was a nice, family orientated resort. Plenty of bars and tavernas which all seemed to offer good price, tasty food. The Cockney Cafe seems highly rated on here - provides home cooked English food which was plentiful and superbly cooked although it was a real struggle to get hold of staff to order drinks, dessert and get the bill.

We booked Royal Kostas in the hope of finding a relaxed week in the sun, and in that it delivered what we wanted perfectly.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jsmithers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very high standard for a 3 star Hotel, Rooms were a decent size with plenty of storage space. I had read a few bad reviews so wasn't sure what to expect but was more than happy with the overall grounds and pool area.I found that the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The beach is a little to busy for me as I like small coves and less sunbeds. The resort its self is very nice and if you want to have an English meal the Cockney Cafe is the place to go for Greek food the Polychrono Taverna the food is some off the best Greek food I have eaten, for pizza try the restaurant just down from the Cockney cafe

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I arrived here and the people are really friendly the bathroom is really small and beds are uncomfy but cope able but down the road is a place caulled the cockney cafe it's amazing the meals are English and huge and really funny and good to get along with people

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This was a lovely hotel situated on the top of the hill just a five minute walk from the main town. The room was clean and modern although a little on the small side for a self catering room. We used the beach instead of the pool as it tended to get rather overcrowded and getting a lounger proved difficult. The beach was ok, was hoping for a sandy beach but it was tiny pebbles and a bit rough on the feet! Lovely little bar on the front called Hotel Fanni (I think) which served great snacks. Lots of choice to eat out we didn't have a bad meal the two weeks we were there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tall building to the left which had been newly decorated, I imagine the rooms by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJohnSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Myself and my partner have just returned from a 1 week holiday at the Royal Kostas Apartments. We had a lovely holiday. The apartments were a great base for us. Very good standard for 3 star accomodation in greece also very clean and tidy. The family run apartments are very friendly. We hired a moped which was great to get around and see the Kassandra peninsula. We paid 40euro for 3 days 50cc. We hired the moped from the square in the next resort down 'Hanioti' as we found them more friendly than the moped place in Polichrono near the church. It also worked out cheaper as they were charging 20euro a day from the place in polichrono. We ate out every night, we ate in a couple of restaurants in polichrono and had lovely meals. First at Nefellis and also Flegals on the front. We heard good reports from people that ate at Fredis and also the cockney restaurant. We did prefer going to Hanioti square on a night time. We found it alot more busy and there where alot more choice for restaurants. We especially enjoyed the Kassandra restaurant which is just off one of the side streets from the square. It has a roof top terrace where we chose to sit and have our meal. We also enjoyed a meal at the restaurant opposite which i think was pallino's. We decided to have pizza one night at Gusto's italiano restaurant on the square in hanioti which was also very nice and cooked in a stonebaked oven. I would definatly recommend visiting Afitos which is a beautiful traditional village about 15 mins drive from polichrono. You can get a local bus from the main road outside the royal kostas apartments. The rep gave us a local bus timetable. I would say visiting Afitos is a must one evening if you would like a special night and a treat. You can get the bus there for around 7 euro per person but you would have to get a taxi back which could cost approx 20euro. There is plenty of supermarkets near the Royal Kostas apartments, you will find the largest on the main road to the right on the left hand side. Theres a lovely bakery situated across the main road and heading down towards the beach on the right hand side. If you follow the road to the right from the bakery you can walk to Hanioti which took us about 1 hour.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dee3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polichrono
7.2 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 9 in Afitos
1,114 reviews
14.9 mi away
Blue Dolphin Hotel
Blue Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 3 in Metamorfosi
450 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alia Palace Hotel
Alia Palace Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pefkohori
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Flegra Palace
Hotel Flegra Palace
#1 of 18 in Pefkohori
368 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grecotel Pella Beach
Grecotel Pella Beach
#1 of 25 in Hanioti
369 reviews
5.5 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#2 of 18 in Pefkohori
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Polichrono, Polichrono 63085, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Price Range: $70 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful village of Chalkidiki in Polychrono, the peninsula of Kassandra, awaits a modern complex 4-star hotel to offer a very relaxing and beautiful moments. The Hotel Royal combines natural beauty, located between green hills and close to the turquoise waters of the Gulf Toroneos, with all the amenities a traveler wishes for a memorable vacation. The complex consists of 5 buildings with 71 (23 apartments and 48 studios) fully equipped rooms and features two swimming pools with sun loungers and parasols. The hotel can accommodate travelers with disabilities, as well as all public areas are accessible. In the beautiful outdoors, you can enjoy swimming, sunbathing while reading your favorite book plus ordering drinks and snacks throughout the day from our highly organized pool bar. Every week a barbecue night takes place, with a lot of delicious food. If you wish to swim in the crystal clear turquoise sea of the region, the distance to the beach is not more than 3 minutes. If you want to stroll or shop, the village center is just 2 minutes from the hotel. The Hotel Royal is the ideal destination for family vacations and promises to provide you with everything you have in your home and ... much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartments Royal
The Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Royal Hotel Polichrono, Greece - Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing