We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here - You'll Love It!”
Review of Hotel Ammos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Polichrono
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ammos
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stay Here - You'll Love It!”
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We couldn't fault this lovely friendly little hotel - without doubt the best accommodation we've had in Greece. A great deal of thought has gone into this hotel, from the modern fixtures and fittings and colourful decor to the fact that the walls between rooms are quite thick, meaning you don't get disturbed by any noise from neighbouring rooms. The maid doesn't come at ungodly hours of the morning to clean your room either, which has been a problem in some other hotels we've stayed in! The owner, Kristina makes a real effort to get to know everyone, greeting you by name every morning. Nothing is too much trouble for her, husband Vangelis or George - maker of delicious cocktails!
Polichrono itself is a fairly quiet village with plenty of restaurants and bars along the sea front and up side streets. Our favourites were the Akrogiali - beautifully cooked food in a quiet, chic atmosphere, and one (can't remember its name) near the bottom of the lane from the hotel to the beach with a lovely garden and yellow walls! Great menu - try the Tsoulpeki. We never had a poor meal in any of the restaurants we ate in in Polichrono, and prices were reasonable - you often get a free ouzo/ metaxxa and cake after your meal too. We liked Laska's bar on the sea front for drinks and good music - great for people watching.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birthdaygirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    37
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
65
140
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Cannot add much to the other reviews apart from agreeing that it is excellent and you will be made to feel very welcome. Worth asking for a high floor to get the view over the town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StAlbansMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

If like me you check these reviews to make sure of a place before booking, go ahead & book Hotel Ammos without any worries. It is a small hotel as other people have said but as they also say, Christina makes your stay so wonderful that it is a much nicer experience to stay here than in a large hotel. If you want to visit anywhere or need any local knowledge Christina, her husband and George the incredibly talented barman ( you're famous now George ! ) will do their best to help you. Try Georges cocktails, they are the best as is Christina's Greek salad!

Visit Georges Restaurant (down to the church, turn left and take a right with the signposts for Tulip etc) and you will see this on the left near the bottom of the road. It has white plastic furniture but don't let that put you off. It is nice to sit under the grape vines and sample some good greek cooking. Try the spicy cheese dip, or the feta with tomatoes and sliced chilli's.

Local wines are fine to drink as is Mythos beer.

The seafront has changed a lot since our last visit which was 9 years ago, it gets very busy at night but you can still find quieter spots on the side streets.
As for swimming and sunbathing, the beach gets busy in the middle but walk to either end and it is quiet and peaceful. The waters are shallow and perfect for swimming and cooling off. It can be very hot so a parasol may be useful, you can buy these everywhere for 5.5 + euros, reef / water shoes are also a good idea as it can be pebbly in the water on the shore before you get out to the sand.

If you like to explore a car is a good option although be warned at the moment petrol is about the same prices as the UK. Visit the turtles if you can find them! There are many little beaches to be found along the coast if you like a quieter spot, most with swimming and snorkelling to be had. Also Petralona's cave is interesting if you like that sort of thing.

Even if you don't like Polichrono at the end of your stay you won't regret staying at the Hotel Ammos, it's lovely. I highly recommended it for couples and friends. It is welcoming and attentive without being intrusive & you leave feeling like a friend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatsWhiskers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We arrived on 17th May for 2 weeks staying in a studio for two.

Christina and Vangelis are an excellent example of how hoteliers should be towards their guests , friendly , always available to offer advice and assistance. Nothing was too much trouble.

We had a studio on the 3rd floor. It was very clean, hot water always available and the room was very large. Facilities included fridge with small freezer compartment, kettle and two ring electric hob. A hairdryer was provided but was fixed in the bathroom which is not my favourite location , luckily I had taken my own anyway. Cleaning was done 7 days a week ! bed linen changed once a week, towels twice.

Prices were reasonable around the pool for drinks and snacks, 2.50 Euro for a large Mythos . If you wanted to drink one at your sunlounger around the pool they served a slightly smaller beer in a plastic tumbler for 2 Euros. Cheese toastie 2Euro, Greek Salad 4.50Euro.
An Ice cream in a sugar twist cone was only one Euro , very popular.
Evening 'happy hour' from 8pm-10pm for cocktails priced at 3.50 Euro.

Aircon is available at 5 Euros per day, it was starting to get very hot when we were there at the end May.

THE HILL- yes there is a hill, two to choose from as there are two entrances to the Ammos, one hill is steeper than the other but it is only short , the other gradient is more gradual .

We used the local buses to get to Pefkohori and Hanioti, the price was the same for both , 1.40Euro pp each way.

There was nothing that we didn't like about our stay , I would highly recommend it to couples and groups of friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swintontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

From the moment we arrived at Hotel Ammos and were met with smiling friendly faces it proved that we had made the right choice.
The rooms are extemely comfortable and we even had a sea view from our balcony which was lovely while we sat there eating our breakfast.
The majority of people staying would stop and chat in the bar area in the evening before going into the village for a meal and in fact we almost took over Georges Restaurant on our last night and had a wonderful evening.
Christina, Vogellis and Georgos really did make us feel comfortable and are always available to help when required and this made it one of the most friendly place we have ever been.
We hope to be back soon.
Paul and Leita

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdjlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I have not written a review before but enjoyed my holiday so much I thought I'd better share the experience for anyone deciding to go to Polichrono and particularly the Ammos.

My partner and I went on holiday from 21st to 28th Sept 2009. We were a little concerned about the weather before we went, but it was fantastic the whole time! It averaged 27 degrees and was mostly sunny with blue sky's. We had one partly cloudy day with a bit of wind, but it was still very warm. The hotel is a perfect sun trap and protects from the wind so it was not noticeable from the pool side.

The hotel is new (approx 2 years old) and is relatively small (24 rooms.) The rooms ara all modern and very clean. We initially were given a ground floor room with a view onto the lane. The view was not bad but we asked if we could be moved to a sea view room, which they happily obliged when one was available (2 days later.) Both rooms were lovely and spacious.
Even though the hotel was full during our stay it did not seem busy and it was a relaxed atmosphere. The main point I must make about the Ammos is how friendly it was. The staff (particularly Christina and Christoff) were always helpful. We spent a fair amount of time relaxing by the pool or drinking cocktails at the hotel bar, and everyone would chat away to each other with ease and we made some great friends there. The pool bar serves snacks and drinks all day.

The beach and town are about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It is down a slight hill. I am overweight and a smoker and managed it OK though! The town itself is quite small but has everything you need. Most the bars and restaurants are along the beach front. The beach is thin with sand and some shingle. It was a little dirty in some places but still very pretty and the water was lovely. Shallow crystal clear with little fishes.
There are plenty of bars that allow you to use their chairs/sunbeds etc if you brought a drink from them, and you could stay there all day (which we did on occasion!)

As we went at the end of the season most of the trips were not running, but we did do the Thompson Market and Mountain trip. This was a great day out. We stopped at Nea Moudania which is a lovely cosmopolitan town. The views from the mountain were amazing.
We also took the bus to Kallithea for a day which was also very pretty and there were a few more shops etc.

To sum up the holiday it was a very relaxing and beautiful place. We went end of season and there was still enough to do. It is not a place for clubbing and wild nights out but perfect for good meals, lively drinks, etc.

We had a brilliant time and would highly recommend!
(We are a couple who are both 27.)

There is a hotel website in case you have not seen it;
http://www.hotelammos.gr/templates/GroupA1/default.asp?sid=83&LangId=11

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indiegirlCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

This hotel was clean friendly and near to the main shops 5mins from the beach too ,Christina and her husband were friendly and would go out of their way to help you on anythink you needed.The snacks were a bit limited could have been a bit more on offer!!!and we went down to the small cafe neon to use the internett might have been nice if the was internett at hotel!!!The people all British were great who were staying there i would recommend you pay this hotel a visit !!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shirls099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polichrono
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Odysseas Hotel
Odysseas Hotel
#4 of 9 in Polichrono
40 reviews
5.2 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#2 of 18 in Pefkohori
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kassandra Palace Hotel
Kassandra Palace Hotel
#10 of 12 in Kriopigi
260 reviews
2.4 mi away
Naias Hotel
Naias Hotel
#3 of 25 in Hanioti
219 reviews
7.5 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 8 in Afitos
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ammos

Property: Hotel Ammos
Address: Polichrono, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Polichrono
Hotel Ammos Polichrono, Greece - Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing