We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ammos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Polichrono
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ammos
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

How often have you returned to a hotel and resort and thought to yourself , this is not as good as we remembered it . Well this is definatly NOT the case for the Ammos . We have just returned home from a weeks stay at the Ammos with the fabulous Christina and Vangelis. This self catering hotel really is lovely. Yes the rooms are basic (but spottless), The pool is small but is kept immaculate. and it is up an hill from the main square and beach. Those are the only negatives. On the plus side the family who run this hotel are really lovely people who put their customers right at the top of their priorities. They just cannot do enough for you. . My wife and I have stayed at hotels with a much higher star rating than the Ammos but have never felt as welcome and at home as we do here. A must is the Friday night BBQ. lovely food and plenty of it with a lovely atmosphere. You know what its like you are always nervous of recommending a hotel or restraunt or film, just in case your friends are dissapointed. With the Ammos My wife and I would recommend this establishment without any reservations . Well done Christina and family and well done Ammos.

Room Tip: Lower rooms are cooler and you wont need the A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geeferbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    34
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
122
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first ever trip to this part of Greece and we were not disappointed, the rooms were a decent size and the beds comfortable. The room had two balconies, one overlooking the pool area and the other you could see the sea from. The pool area is small, so you get to know your sunbed neighbours quite well, but we tended to use the beach every day as it was just a short walk away. The owners Christina and Vangelis were an absolute delight and nothing was too much trouble, and the Friday night BBQ (10 euros per person) is a must. The food at the hotel was bacic but very pleasant, and you could get a breakfast at the hotel, or there are a couple of bakeries nearby where you can get fresh bread, rolls, pastries every day.
The aircon and safe were available at an additional charge.
As previously stated, each day was spent down the beach, and we wandered to the far end of the resort (down to the prom and turn left) and used the sunbeds at the Sands bar, where you got them for free providing each party member had a drink there, we went up that end as it was quieter and less crowded than the centre of the resort, and whilst it was mainly used by Greeks and Eastern Europeans, it was absolutely fine and they were no bother at all despite what some people have been saying.
Overall this was a fabulous weeks stay and I would highly recommend the Ammos for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Humphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just want to say that The Ammos deserves to be the number 1 Hotel in Polichrono. Christina & Vangelis run the most perfect hotel. We normally go on All Inclusive holidays but this was a 2nd holiday for us so we just wanted to go away to chill. This is exactly what we got at the Ammos. We stayed for 1 week starting on 19/08. Yes there were a few families, which we expected as it was school holidays, but even though they were quite noisy in the pool of a morning, by lunchtime they would have disapeared off to the beach so quite peaceful in the afternoon. We had a lovely, spotlessly clean room (309) with a wonderful sea view. The breakfasts & snacks that were available at the Ammos were very good value for money so we never bought any food from the supermarket. Lots of lovely restaurants to choose from in Polichrono and all great value. Never cooked once!! The BBQ at the Ammos on Friday night is a must. All the food is cooked to perfection. We just loved the potatoes Christina's Mum made. They also have a great bar there run by George. A great guy. Missing the Ammos cocktail already!! Will definitely return to the Ammos next year. We would be mad not to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haddonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Hotel Ammos and it was just as good as the first time we stayed. Christina was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, the barmen George was very friendly and efficient and although the pool area is small it is well looked after and is plentiful for the seize of the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, and the beach is just a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewanderers456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter and I booked this as a late deal with Thomsons. We have been to Halkidiki many times but usually stay in Hanioti, the village a little further on. However, as we booked last minute we were unable to find accommodation in Hanioti and so decided to look for a hotel in Polychrono. we are so glad that we did as from the moment we arrived at the Ammos Hotel we were greeted by the host family and made to feel very special and very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble at all. Christina made sure that she knew everyone by their first name by the morning after our arrival (and there were many guests arriving on the same flight). We felt that this was a lovely gesture. the family were always there to greet guests in a morning and on an evening when they would always enquire as to how we had enjoyed our day with genuine interest. We found that the accommodation was of a very good standard and very clean. Most guests would return to the hotel following an evening meal and enjoy drinks from a well stocked bar (watch out for George's 'ample Greek measures'). Whilst on holiday we met up with some Welsh friends who were staying in a nearby village and they visited us at the Ammos on several occasions. Christina and her family made them feel very welcome at the hotel too and our friends commented on how nice it was to be welcomed as if guests at the hotel. My daughter and I had an excellent time at the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others thinking about booking. We hope to visit again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a brilliant week staying at Hotel Ammos. Christine is a wonderful host and ensures her guests are looked after. Every Friday Christina and Vangelis put on a great BBQ, lovely food and fun atmosphere! The rooms are probably among the best i've stayed in Greece. They are clean, spacious and plenty of storage. It has a great location. It is small, but i think that is its charm. Pool area is also small, yes i did get splashed...but its to be expected in peak season when high numbers of families are holidaying! I would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickytrees010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from 2 weeks at the Ammos.Christinia is a great host always friendly and smiling helped by Vangelis and great barman George who makes a mean Mojito.the room was probably the best we have had in several visits to Greece over the years very clean and well equipped.Its a good place to end your evening out and to catch up with fellow guests for a nightcap and a chat.
One small criticism is that the pool area when full can feel overcrowded and if a few children are in the pool splashing and playing around it is a little noisy and you are likely to get a wet book or woken from your nap.
We feel that the Ammos would be a perfect adults/couples only hotel due to its size and atmosphere.
The walk uphill from the resort is not bad and gives you a bit of athirst for a pint of Mythos.Polichrono is a lively spot but not noisy with lots of good cheap restaraunts our favourite was George just off the seafront good food with a friendly owner.
Overall Ammos is a fantastic place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank oltonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polichrono
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grecotel Pella Beach
Grecotel Pella Beach
#1 of 27 in Hanioti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Polichrono
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Possidi Holidays Hotel
Possidi Holidays Hotel
#1 of 3 in Possidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
14.3 mi away
Acrotel Elea Village
Acrotel Elea Village
#4 of 44 in Sithonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
7.5 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 8 in Afitos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ammos

Property: Hotel Ammos
Address: Polichrono, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Number of rooms: 142
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Polichrono
Hotel Ammos Polichrono, Greece - Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing