We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel fantastic hosts”
Review of Hotel Ammos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Polichrono
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ammos
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just come back from 2 weeks at the Ammos.Christinia is a great host always friendly and smiling helped by Vangelis and great barman George who makes a mean Mojito.the room was probably the best we have had in several visits to Greece over the years very clean and well equipped.Its a good place to end your evening out and to catch up with fellow guests for a nightcap and a chat.
One small criticism is that the pool area when full can feel overcrowded and if a few children are in the pool splashing and playing around it is a little noisy and you are likely to get a wet book or woken from your nap.
We feel that the Ammos would be a perfect adults/couples only hotel due to its size and atmosphere.
The walk uphill from the resort is not bad and gives you a bit of athirst for a pint of Mythos.Polichrono is a lively spot but not noisy with lots of good cheap restaraunts our favourite was George just off the seafront good food with a friendly owner.
Overall Ammos is a fantastic place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank oltonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a last minute getaway to unwind and relax. Hosts were fantastic and could not do enough for you. Very small and friendly hotel and met many new friends. Only negative was the bijou swimming pool which meant an occasional unwanted shower from the children playing in the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessie278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I and my Mum stayed here from the 24th June till 1st of July. We go on an annual Greek week and have been to many of the islands.
When we booked Polichrono and the Ammos we started to get a bit worried as we started to read some of the reviews, we need not have worried.
The hotel is excellent, some of the best accommodation we have had in Greece, and the owners are superb, very friendly and welcoming. The pool is small but adequate and there is a real sense of being in a proper Greek town, yes there are other buildings close by so what? Yes children play in the nearby school yard at night, again so what?
The hill up to the hotel is not a real problem, my mum who is 76 made it with no issues.
The only down side was the noise from the bar area at night, but it was not every night nor too late and people are on holiday.
The pool bar food and drinks are good value and of good quality, especially the Greek salad.
Polichrono itself is not overly pretty, the main beach is very busy, especially with the Serbs, but again so what? Are people from Serbia not allowed to go on holiday to a place that the "brits" usually go?
In Polichrono we found some really nice Greek restaurant's. George's just of the front, does not look much but the food was great and the owner a lot of fun. On our last night we found Moustakas, another family run restaurant which was excellent.
Our tips for visiting here - Get out and about, the middle peninsula, Sithonia, is beautiful
The cruise to Athos offered by Thomson's was well worth the money and amazing to see.
Don't be put off by negative reviews, just remember some people need to complain about something!
We really enjoyed the hotel and the area, yes Polichrono could be better but it is not an eyesore as some try to make out.
We do hope to return to this area again and would use the Hotel Ammos as it is great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dwgburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Bit Late doing this review sorry. Stayed here twice glad we were I invited to go by friends. Fantastic hosts Christina & Vangelis, George the barman Christina's dad who does a fantastic barbecue. Cleaner who never stops. Fantastic place rooms are big very modern. Had a lovely view from our balcony. Treat you like family nothing is too much bother. If Christina hears you say you need something feel unwell or anything she does her best to help you. Got all bus times tells you where to visit. It's in residential are so got a school at 1 side nice watching kids playing, it's a little walk to the bars shops on bit of incline so nice steady walk back up. There is a nice pool & bar reception area all spotless. Can get small snacks. Got to watch the barman because he is always giving you shots & cocktails to try cheeky boy drunk before you no it. Love you George. Ha ha. YAMAS When you go down the 1st morning Christina knows your name. Never forgets. 2nd time we went she greeted us by our name. My husband went in before me and she said welcome John were is Elaine. Thought that was very nice. All I can say is see you again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eylesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just returned on the 22 July from a 7 day break staying at the Amnos with my two daughters and I have have to say in all honesty we all wished we had booked for 14 days. The accommodation was excellent and very clean with a nice balcony, we used to sit out in an evening watching the local kids play basketball. There is also a swimming pool available, and at night time it was very quite, we never had a nights sleep disturbed by noise.

Christina and Vangellis were so friendly and very customer focused, couldn't do enough for their guests. George, what can I say about George other than he is a great guy, so friendly and helpful, he took us about on his quad bike to see the turtles and also on day trips to other beaches all for free and in his dads car.

I agree with other comments about not been many brits there, but that's not a problem to be honest, if you want brits go to Blackpool. the main beach is like a Brighton beach quite pebbly and in the centre very busy, but further down it is quieter. 15 mins away are some beautiful sandy beaches and only cosy 9 euro's for 5 people on the bus so well worth a trip.

The village was nice with loads of places to eat and quite reasonably priced, we paid between 30-50 euros for meals for three people depending on what we eat, if you want a full english then you have to visit the cockney cafe its run by a really nice couple who provide one of the best breakfasts on the planet

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Amnos and are going back next year but for two weeks this time, so i think that says it all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My hubby daughter & myself have just returned from halkidiki We stayed at the ammos hotel which was super. Very warm staff will help you with anything. Snacks at the bar are limited but nice,drinks are reasonably priced. The rooms are spacious & modern, they have a tv but only one british channel. The cleaner (poor soul) works alone & is always rushing, so much that she only manages a quick clean. Our room was never dusted & the balcony had a birds nest with loads of droppings,which i had to keep saying needed cleaned.The resort itself is overflowing with serbians & russians both very rude. The russians have fur shops lol ( furs in the heat)?. The beach is a no go area unless you like being squashed & can stand the smell. There are no other brits in resort which was strange. Take the hotel, place it some place else & we would visit it, but never halkidiki. First holiday ever where there is no entertainment. Couldnt wait to get home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magsamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

WELL I AGREE WITH 99 PER CENT OF THE REVIEWS HERE ALL.
we just returned from a really good two weeks at the Ammos and have to say it has to be one of the nices most freindly hotels i have been to, our grandaughter Zoe also loved the pool so much you had to fight to get her out of it.
Christina and vangellis Maria and Demetri and bar man George were so freindly and made you feel so welcome would not think twice about returning we loved it here
so hopefully they have us back again sometime soon.

Room Tip: lower floor they are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayteeErithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polichrono
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Polichrono
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Odysseas Hotel
Odysseas Hotel
#5 of 9 in Polichrono
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Flegra Palace
Hotel Flegra Palace
#1 of 18 in Pefkohori
368 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Summer Dream
Hotel Summer Dream
#7 of 9 in Polichrono
13 reviews
0 mi away
Anatoli Apartments
Anatoli Apartments
#12 of 24 in Polichrono
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ammos

Address: Polichrono, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Polichrono
Hotel Ammos Polichrono, Greece - Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing