We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A recent trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ammos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Polichrono
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ammos
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A recent trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I and my Mum stayed here from the 24th June till 1st of July. We go on an annual Greek week and have been to many of the islands.
When we booked Polichrono and the Ammos we started to get a bit worried as we started to read some of the reviews, we need not have worried.
The hotel is excellent, some of the best accommodation we have had in Greece, and the owners are superb, very friendly and welcoming. The pool is small but adequate and there is a real sense of being in a proper Greek town, yes there are other buildings close by so what? Yes children play in the nearby school yard at night, again so what?
The hill up to the hotel is not a real problem, my mum who is 76 made it with no issues.
The only down side was the noise from the bar area at night, but it was not every night nor too late and people are on holiday.
The pool bar food and drinks are good value and of good quality, especially the Greek salad.
Polichrono itself is not overly pretty, the main beach is very busy, especially with the Serbs, but again so what? Are people from Serbia not allowed to go on holiday to a place that the "brits" usually go?
In Polichrono we found some really nice Greek restaurant's. George's just of the front, does not look much but the food was great and the owner a lot of fun. On our last night we found Moustakas, another family run restaurant which was excellent.
Our tips for visiting here - Get out and about, the middle peninsula, Sithonia, is beautiful
The cruise to Athos offered by Thomson's was well worth the money and amazing to see.
Don't be put off by negative reviews, just remember some people need to complain about something!
We really enjoyed the hotel and the area, yes Polichrono could be better but it is not an eyesore as some try to make out.
We do hope to return to this area again and would use the Hotel Ammos as it is great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dwgburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    34
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
122
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Bit Late doing this review sorry. Stayed here twice glad we were I invited to go by friends. Fantastic hosts Christina & Vangelis, George the barman Christina's dad who does a fantastic barbecue. Cleaner who never stops. Fantastic place rooms are big very modern. Had a lovely view from our balcony. Treat you like family nothing is too much bother. If Christina hears you say you need something feel unwell or anything she does her best to help you. Got all bus times tells you where to visit. It's in residential are so got a school at 1 side nice watching kids playing, it's a little walk to the bars shops on bit of incline so nice steady walk back up. There is a nice pool & bar reception area all spotless. Can get small snacks. Got to watch the barman because he is always giving you shots & cocktails to try cheeky boy drunk before you no it. Love you George. Ha ha. YAMAS When you go down the 1st morning Christina knows your name. Never forgets. 2nd time we went she greeted us by our name. My husband went in before me and she said welcome John were is Elaine. Thought that was very nice. All I can say is see you again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eylesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just returned on the 22 July from a 7 day break staying at the Amnos with my two daughters and I have have to say in all honesty we all wished we had booked for 14 days. The accommodation was excellent and very clean with a nice balcony, we used to sit out in an evening watching the local kids play basketball. There is also a swimming pool available, and at night time it was very quite, we never had a nights sleep disturbed by noise.

Christina and Vangellis were so friendly and very customer focused, couldn't do enough for their guests. George, what can I say about George other than he is a great guy, so friendly and helpful, he took us about on his quad bike to see the turtles and also on day trips to other beaches all for free and in his dads car.

I agree with other comments about not been many brits there, but that's not a problem to be honest, if you want brits go to Blackpool. the main beach is like a Brighton beach quite pebbly and in the centre very busy, but further down it is quieter. 15 mins away are some beautiful sandy beaches and only cosy 9 euro's for 5 people on the bus so well worth a trip.

The village was nice with loads of places to eat and quite reasonably priced, we paid between 30-50 euros for meals for three people depending on what we eat, if you want a full english then you have to visit the cockney cafe its run by a really nice couple who provide one of the best breakfasts on the planet

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Amnos and are going back next year but for two weeks this time, so i think that says it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My hubby daughter & myself have just returned from halkidiki We stayed at the ammos hotel which was super. Very warm staff will help you with anything. Snacks at the bar are limited but nice,drinks are reasonably priced. The rooms are spacious & modern, they have a tv but only one british channel. The cleaner (poor soul) works alone & is always rushing, so much that she only manages a quick clean. Our room was never dusted & the balcony had a birds nest with loads of droppings,which i had to keep saying needed cleaned.The resort itself is overflowing with serbians & russians both very rude. The russians have fur shops lol ( furs in the heat)?. The beach is a no go area unless you like being squashed & can stand the smell. There are no other brits in resort which was strange. Take the hotel, place it some place else & we would visit it, but never halkidiki. First holiday ever where there is no entertainment. Couldnt wait to get home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magsamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erith london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

WELL I AGREE WITH 99 PER CENT OF THE REVIEWS HERE ALL.
we just returned from a really good two weeks at the Ammos and have to say it has to be one of the nices most freindly hotels i have been to, our grandaughter Zoe also loved the pool so much you had to fight to get her out of it.
Christina and vangellis Maria and Demetri and bar man George were so freindly and made you feel so welcome would not think twice about returning we loved it here
so hopefully they have us back again sometime soon.

Room Tip: lower floor they are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayteeErithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel ammos what a gem big clean rooms great bar area just watch out for George's shots!!!!! Christina and vangellis 2 of the nicest people you could wish to meet barbecue on a Friday is a must a great place for relaxing or exploring the local villages if you hire a car don't have from the rep sort it yourself it is a lot cheaper we are returning for our third time in September we like it that much plenty of restaurants to chose from in the village and a must is a cockney cafe breakfast!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have to thank Christina, Vangelis, darling Maria, demetris and last but not least George. All of these people ensured we had the very best holiday in fantastic surroundings.I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel as already said by most reviews the rooms and hotel are immaculate and the customer service received is outstanding. The cocktail hours is great as they have the cheapest cocktails in polychrono. The bbq was excellent value for money and is a great way to meet other guests. Yes there is an incline to the hotel but everything is in walking distance, and the quietest hotel I have stayed in for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: we had a 2 bedroom apartment and is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telletubbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polichrono
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grecotel Pella Beach
Grecotel Pella Beach
#1 of 27 in Hanioti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Polichrono
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Possidi Holidays Hotel
Possidi Holidays Hotel
#1 of 3 in Possidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
14.3 mi away
Acrotel Elea Village
Acrotel Elea Village
#4 of 44 in Sithonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
7.5 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 8 in Afitos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ammos

Property: Hotel Ammos
Address: Polichrono, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Number of rooms: 142
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Polichrono
Hotel Ammos Polichrono, Greece - Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing