We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 'package' destination...is that good or bad?!”
Review of Hotel Ammos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Polichrono
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ammos
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great 'package' destination...is that good or bad?!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Just back from a week at Hotel Ammos and generally very pleased. The hotel itself is 5 minutes from the beach and modern, spotless and fresh. The rooms are large, the staff are friendly and for the price we paid online, we did well.

Polichrono has a great selection of places to eat and the food is cheap and really good. We loved Nefelis (with a lovely garden out the back) and Viva - both on the seafront, but weren't impressed by Flegra (the parrot place!) It looks the part but the food didn't live up to much. On the down side, Polichrono is not a remote quiet retreat, the 'strip' is pretty busy and there's not a lot of character. The only remote thing is its location (1 hour 40 from the airport).

Also we were not so impressed by the noise coming from the bar... our room was above the pool area and to say that noise carried is an understatement! All fine if the guests are pleasant, which most were, but laying in bed listening to noisy drunk folk whinging on about immigration to the UK at 3 am...not nice! The staff should have been a bit braver and closed the bar as they were struggling to keep awake! It's also pretty compact as a hotel, so as long as you don't mind being on top of everyone else, it's fine. We'd have preferred a bit more privacy and peace as even with middle aged guests behaving mostly pretty well it was still the noisiest place in the neighbourhood!

Having said all this, a holiday is what you make it and we had a we had a fabulous time, spent most of the time on the beach away from the sunbeds and the crowds and have returned to the UK rested and refreshed.

Our trip gets a 4* but the package 'experience' makes Ammos a 3* - for us. For you it could be 5*, it all depends what you want.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet, get a room overlooking the hills, not the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    34
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
122
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on tees
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I recenlty spent weeks in this Hotel, as previous reviews have stated the owner Christina is very firendly and helpful and George behind the bar is superb (be warned don't drink his shots) my only criticism of the hotel are the lack of self catering facilities, you get a hob (2 rings) a kettle and a fridge. A toaster would have been such a help. The bar prices for beers and soft drinks were ok as was the cost of the ice creams but when you start with the shorts and coktails the cost goes up, we paid 11 euro for a cocktail and a vodka and orange (thick end of a tenner for 2 drinks) we found going out to the town for a few beers and a meal reasonable but once you go bact to hotel at the end of the night for a few drinks you almost doubled your spending for the night. The rooms are clean and spacious, air con is 5 euro a night and the safe 15 euro per week. The security is good as each room has a metal roller shutter which you can pull down at night, this also helps keep the rooms a little cooler. If I was going again I would not hesitate to take cash as I felt the safe in the room was secure enough. Christina does not axchange currency but there are 2 places in town that do, a shop near the Cockney Cafe and the Exchange to the left of the small churh in the square, this offered slightly better rates than the shop.The pool at the hotel is very very clean and it is clear Christina and her husband take pride in this, beware to shower before you swim or Christina will be on your back. The Friday barbecue is a good idea if there are enought people, prepared by Christinas dad, we joined mid way of most peoples 2 weeks so not too many went on the night we did, it would certainly be a good way to meet other guests. TV has sky sports and you can have free use of the remote, and it doesn't really intrude on others. There are a small selection of books in the entrance lobby for customers to read, we read some and left our won books for the next guests to read. There was never a single day where we had to fight for sunbeds, most guests did not surface till after 9 and most days there were spare beds all day. The hotel is very centrally located, 2 entrances from the hotel both onto banks, the pool gate is the better as the bank is not so steep, a few minutes down the bank and you are in the main square and a few minutes further to the beach. If you want to venture out George or Christina will order you a taxi, I would recommend this as we waited for 30 minutes at the rank and still nothing turend up. I can't really say much more about the Ammos, staff are really nice, George speaks very good English and is really friendly and very amusing (just don't drink his shots) overall it is a very nice, clean and friendly hotel

Room Tip: The rooms above the reception could be noisy as the guests sometimes could abck for a drink till 1am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Good group of guests with christina vangelis and george ensuring everyone had a good time. Very relaxing. Deffinately ranked highly on my list of best holidays ever

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Just back from weeks holiday at Polychrono, staying at Ammos Studios. We booked our holiday last minute and were pleased that all previous reviews were very accurate. The apartment was clean and large. Christina the owner and her husband and George the barman make you feel at home from the moment you get there. We would walk to the beach in the morning, if you don't want to use the sun beds its worth taking a left and walking along the front until you pass the last bar, the beach there is much less busy. Eating out is very reasonable, the taverna with the parrot is great as is the one to the beach with the yellow arches, we got a free glass of wie each in that one! The evenings are lovely walking along the beach front watching everyone pass by. If you want a relaxing holiday where you don't want to drive, or explore, this is the ideal location, and Ammos is in the ideal spot, great place, plenty of places to eat and wonderful long beach

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alicia098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

great place to stay rooms big and modern and best rooms we found to be at rear top corner rooms where sun on big balcony till sunset only faults found was a steep road leading to ammos from town and the other problem that needs adressing are the sunbeds there i,snt enough for the amount of apartments so iff you plan a day at the pool set your alarm very early to get your towel on bed although this needs addressing by the owners as same people hogging beds everyday some towels were appearing in the night!

Room Tip: top rear corner appartments get sun till sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

hotel fantastic .. staff wonderful... resturants good... beech clean. ..would give 10/10 but that damm toilet door gets jammed shut

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acko62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed her between 4th July until the 11th of July 2011, myself, and girlfriends family and i could not fault 1 thing with the ammos apartments, starting with the rooms we stayed in a double room with a balcony over looking the pool, the rooms are a great size and are always kept clean and tidy, towels are changed 3 times a week however if you require more towels ask any member of staff and they instantly gave us more. The Pool is the perfect size and there is always spare sun beds to use. Local as well as branded spirits at the bar aswell as snacks and ice cream. The locations is perfect if your just looking to chill out and relax its only a short walk to the beach and restaraunts and bars.

I would highly recommend the cockney cafe for breakfast (belly buster breakfast) and the restaraunt with the parrott ( you will know what i mean).

Also in every review that has been written it has been praising the staff Christina the owner cannot do enough for you, she is very nice and greets everyone by name throughout the holiday George the barman very helpful and also knows a few decent card tricks.

I would highly reccommend ammos apartments and would definetly go back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craig2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polichrono
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grecotel Pella Beach
Grecotel Pella Beach
#1 of 26 in Hanioti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Polichrono
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Possidi Holidays Hotel
Possidi Holidays Hotel
#1 of 3 in Possidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
14.3 mi away
Acrotel Elea Village
Acrotel Elea Village
#4 of 45 in Sithonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
7.5 mi away
Achtis Hotel
Achtis Hotel
#1 of 8 in Afitos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ammos

Property: Hotel Ammos
Address: Polichrono, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Number of rooms: 142
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Polichrono
Hotel Ammos Polichrono, Greece - Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing