We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Country Hotel”
Review of Hotel Schepers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Schepers
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gronau
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed here many times and always look forward to my next visit. Nice rooms and breakfast and a truly great restaurant. Very friendly staff always make this trip a real pleasure.

Risotto with parmesan and Pinot Grigio is highly recommended as are the local Riesling wines.

Great Al Fresco dining if the weather's OK.

Room Tip: There is a new extension away from the main road where the roos are a little bit more modern and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 76 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice hotel in a liitle village called Epe near Gronau. Spacious and very clean bathroom, nice city-park and a old mill next to the hotel.
Friendly service in the restaurant and very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sejoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Schepers for a few days whilst I was in the area on business. The hotel is situated in a semi-rural location next to some fields and a river. It is a modern style hotel with a new block and an old block, the rooms in the new block are really comfortable. The bathrooms are stylish and well presented, overall I was pretty impressed. The TV is old but the wifi connection is strong so in terms of tech, it's a bit of a mixed bag. The sauna complex on the top floor is very pleasant and a nice place to relax before dinner. The staff are vey friendly and helpful, they spoke very good English which was fortunate as my German is terrible! The restaurant attached to the hotel serves fantastic food, well presented, perfectly cooked and very tasty. I was really pleased with the quality. The breakfast buffet is typically continental with a selection of cold meats, cheese, bread, scrambled egg, bacon and yoghurts etc. I was more than satisfied with it.

Overall, a really pleasant stay in a lovely hotel. Would definitely recommend... Especially for the restaurant food!

Room Tip: Go for the new block rooms, they're very spacious and comfortable. They're well insulated so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy231981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have stayed here a few times now whilst travelling on business, always found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and quiet. Restaurant service and menu is good, features a lot of local cuisine, and the breakfast service is good too with a good continental spread on offer. Overall good value in a nice semi rural location.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Honley_UkDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel Schepers is a nice hotel, we booked a suite and it was very spacious. The bathroom is very big and looks great. There is a balkony with a view over a nice landscape and a house.
Overal the place was really nice.

But there a some points to consider, TV is really old and a very bad signal and only german, in my opinion useless.
There is also no airco in this room! When we booked it was not really hot outside ( but already hot in the room ) but in hotter times this place will be to hot in my opinion.
There was no bath foam and only 2 towels for showering.
We did not eat diner in the restaurant. Breakfast was normal but not special.
On sunday at 8 AM the local church started to ring his big bells for like 30 minutes !
I added some pics, other pics you can find on their website.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeAndJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

A business contact in the Gronau area booked me into this small hotel; and how lucky i was.
The Hotel Schepers is a hidden gem.
Absolutely gorgeous, modern rooms (in the "new wing". I don't know if there are other type of rooms) with everything - and more one would expect from a business hotel.
Many of the "big players", that is most of the chain hotels should pay a visit to this small hotel.
it is obvious that a lot of care, thought and pride has gone into buiding these rooms which are exceptionally well appointed. I could not fault the place.
Unfortunately I spent only one night, with a very early departure but I would be happy to spend a few relaxing days hiking or cycling the area or just kick back and relax. (there seems to be nothing in the way of night life or entertainment in the area).
The hotel has a spa / "wellness center" with - for Europe / Germany bargain prices.
85 Euro for a 90-minute full body massage, 69 Euro for a 90-minute Balinese facial anyone?
If the quality of the rooms or restaurant is an indicator, the tratments should be, well, a treat!
The restaurant is spread over several small, intimate rooms. All of these are exceptionally nicely decorated and sparkling clean.
Every single table is set in a formal fashion with starched linen napkins, pewter plates, good qualith silver ware, sparkling glasses, candles, flowers etc. The whole place looked as if they were expecting an inspecter from the Michelin restaurant guide.
The restaurant was quite busy and customers seemed to be very happy and relaxed.Schepers seems to be place for a specialnight out in the area and patrons dress up for dinner.
The food was lovely, perhaps a bit "showy". For my taste I do not need a lemongrass soup in deepest Germany, but of course the locals would like to experience something different that traditional German fare. Portions are very generous and the waitress was mostconcerned that I dinn't finish my dinner.
Some small points of criticque would be that smoking is (still) allowed in parts of the restaurant, namely the area around the old fashioned bar (where most of the action seemed to be). Also, the hotel seems to be pushing their spa treatments a little bit too much. I do not expect to see advertising for these services in the restaurant menu.
And some of the youger members of staff, as lovely as they are, are a bit shy with customers and are quite slow carrying out their duties.
But as a whole, this hotel (and restaurant) does a very, very good job!

Room Tip: spend more than one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gerhard1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Milena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gronau
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Ammertmann
2.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Abendlokal Fritz
4.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Driland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Ahauser Land & Golfhotel
1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Verst
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schepers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schepers

Address: Ahauser Str. 1, 48599 Gronau, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gronau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gronau
Price Range: $126 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schepers 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful location – central but yet quiet in a green environment! Hotel Schepers is located in a historic park with an old watermill and terraces, opposite the city park. It is a distinctively charming hotel offering a pleasant atmosphere, design rooms, suites and classic hotel rooms with free wifi anda beautiful spa on top of the hotel. Our fresh and outstanding cuisine has been awarded by Michelin.Addtionally, we offer breakfast on the terraces.We also offermassages, lean a bike, beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schepers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing