We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have had a better experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de la Barre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de la Barre
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could not have had a better experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at the chateau in November of 2010. During that time of the year my wife and I were the only guests other than our friends. It was a highly enjoyable experience We truly felt as though we stepped back in time and were experiencing life as aristocrats.

I highly recommend scheduling dinner with the count and countess. They are very welcoming and interesting to speak with.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
99
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

My wife and I have been here twice and will keep coming back. Amazing place and lovely and interesting hosts. Great food. Such history.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Highly recommended. They provide excellent service and give you a very relaxed enviroment. Great Antiques. We must come back to visit for the next trip to France.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

My wife and I scheduled a 3 night stay at Chateau de la Barre during the beginning of our honeymoon in July. Upon arrival, I made the crucial mistake of thinking that they would have an automatic car for me at the Europcar rental place near Vendome. The attendant called Marnie at the Chateau and it was arranged that we would rent Marnie's automatic car directly from her and Guy, so we took a (very expensive) taxi to the Chateau and were able to use Marnie's car for the rest of the trip. This was not the last time Marnie would come to our rescue!

Let me begin by saying that if you are someone who likes to lounge around and relax at a hotel, I would not suggest staying at Chateau de la Barre. In my opinion, this is not a hotel, and it is not a bed and breakfast, nor is it located in an area where strolling the town would be a worthy way to spend your time. There is no "staff" - except for the hospitality offered by Guy and Marnie - you are a guest in their house and you are generally left to your own devices.

The big perk of staying here is the Chateau itself, and the fact that it's a family museum of sorts with artifacts that are relevant to their family and the history of France. For example, in the entrance room there is a regal looking "chair" that would be hoisted by four men so that the individual going from his house to a party wouldn't have to walk and dirty his shoes. There are paintings of all the important family members, including an individual who was the first ambassador from France to the United States. The rooms have all been redone with modern conveniences (very nice sinks, toilets showers in some rooms, etc.) and if you are an antique buff you will love all of the paintings, furniture, china, etc. that makes up every room.

The second reason you stay at Chateau de la Barre is that it is in the heart of the Loire valley, close to fantastic sites that look like they are straight out of a fairytale book and amazing restaurants that Marnie books for you. Marnie gives you maps and sends you on your way to the must-see stops and some smaller quaint places that look like they haven't changed in centuries.

As far as restaurants go, Marnie set us up at a gourmet restaurant in the old city of Le Mans, a fantastic restaurant in what became our favorite town - a little place called Lavardin - and advice on places to go for lunch. Breakfast was at the Chateau in the morning. The first day it was in the main dining room since another couple and family were staying with us, but the last two breakfasts were in the small dining room since we were the only guests in the house. Who makes the breakfast? That would be Marnie - she made excellent eggs with tomatoes, we had delicious yogurt, and homemade jam with croissants.

Marnie and Guy were incredibly gracious. Marnie works tirelessly to keep the house in perfect shape and make you feel like you are an important guest in their home. Marnie was extremely attentive to every question we had over email beforehand and gave us a choice of rooms listed on their detailed and informative website. We chose Chambre Jaune, the Yellow Room, and were not dissapointed - all of the decorations from the bedding to the wallpaper to the cute little tissue box were designed with the color and pattern that tied the entire room together. The furniture was clearly antique but functional; the bathroom was large, luxurious and came with two comfortable bathrobes; there were two chairs for us to sit and read in; and the large windows opened up out to the beautiful garden. The room was private and cozy. On our second day we were given a tour of the rest of the bedrooms, which are all unique and beautiful in their own ways.

At one point on a Sunday we were running out of petrol, which is a problem since most stations are closed on Sunday and we were planning on going to Lavardin for the evening. On top of that, our credit cards weren't working in the petrol machines. Marnie called a bunch of stations and found one open about 20 minutes away, so we followed her there, and she used her card to pump the petrol and we paid her in cash. Then she showed us how to get to where we were going from there.

As far as the sites we saw - Marnie directed us to some of the most memorable and romantic places my wife and I have ever seen, from little towns with old Chateaus and unique cultures and histories to the major sites like Chateau Chenonceau and Clois Luce.

Overall, if you are the adventurous type looking for something unique and special but have expensive tastes (food, wine, hospitality), Chateau de la Barre is for you. I also want to take this opportunity to thank Marnie and Guy for opening their home and taking such good care of us during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKants5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We are two couples who spent two nights with Guy and Marnie in early October. I say it this way because we did feel that we were more like guests in their private home than in a hotel. This chateau has been in Guy's family for over 600 years and he and Marnie made our stay one of personal revelations of the history of the property and of life growing up there. We arrived early and were met with Marnie coming from the garden with flowers for the rooms and Guy arrived with mushrooms from the woods for our dinner. We enjoyed sharing the Grand Siecle dinner with Guy and Marnie the first night we arrived...a lovely experience with deliciously prepared food, specially chosen wines from the Loire Valley, and interesting conversation. Our rooms were lovely, filled with antique and beautiful furniture with special touches to make them comfortable.The public rooms are filled with historical pieces that are elegant and welcoming. Our hosts were generously gracious in every way making the whole experience of our stay truly unique and wonderful...aristocratic. It was a highlight of our month in France.

The chateau is located in the countryside but within a day trip of a number of interesting sights and villages. Marnie is great at suggestions and planning for making your days interesting. But the experience of staying here is the prize worth seeking.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and unique with size being the biggest difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

I really can't imagine a better "chateau" experience than our two night stay. Marnie and Guy were perfect hosts that almost seemed so well done we thought everything was scripted. But it was very genuine. They gave us great sightseeing tips to use during our stay and the dinner with them was "worth every penny.". Eating and sleeping off dinnerware and sheets that are older than 200 years old seemed surreal, but we enjoyed every minute. The garden was very beautiful. Recommend it? Absolutely! Put it on your bucket list.

Room Tip: Go for the big "blue" room. No swimming pool, but can't change rating above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKENTON54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

It was truly a unique experience! It was the first time my mom and another two friends coming to visit Europe. I took them to the Chateau de la Barre as it was recommended by a friend. The three days in the Chateau de la Barre became the highlight of this trip.

Far away from the noisy city, drive into the country side of France. The view was beautiful along the road. The Chateau is cleverly hidden from the road. One only see the big Chateau in yellow while driving down along the small road.

The rooms in the Chateau are perfect. Beautifully designed and furnitured. There are also lots of antiques in the room, even the small metal box on the table seems to be from the 16 or 17 century. The owner of the Chateau, Marnie and Guy are very nice and extremely helpful. Every morning, Marnie would give us a detailed itinerary which is just enough sightseeing for the day. They would also make every effort to make our stay at the Chateau the most comfortable. A special Chinese breakfast every morning was arranged for us. Guy also helped us finding Chinese restaurant for dinner every day.

I would really recommend to stay at Chateau de la Barre for a minimum of 3 days. Then you've plenty of time also to visit the villages and the cities nearby. The villages and cities are well maintained with ancient buildings, chapels, castles and beautifully designed gardens. What is important is that there aren't many tourists. And the people are 10 times nicer than in Paris!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsgdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conflans-sur-Anille
21.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Le Mans Country Club
17.3 mi away
Logis de France Hotel
Logis de France Hotel
#1 of 1 in La Chartre-sur-le-Loir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
24.2 mi away
La Pommeraie
La Pommeraie
#8 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pressoir Hotel
Pressoir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint-Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#7 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
20.8 mi away
Auberge Relais du Cheval Blanc
Auberge Relais du Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Beaumont Pied De Boeuf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Barre

Property: Chateau de la Barre
Address: Chateau de la Barre, 72120 Conflans-sur-Anille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Conflans-sur-Anille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conflans-sur-Anille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Barre 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the same family since more than 610 years,Chateau de la Barre is more than a luxury accommodation, it is an experience of the gracious hospitality of French aristocracy. All the rooms are replete with precious XVIIIth century antiques and designer fabrics. Twice a week, a prestigeous dinner is hosted in the XVIIth century dining room, on other nights, it is possible to have a romantic supper in the dining room. Rent a car at CDG airport or take the fast speed TGV train directly to Le Mans or Vendome and rent a car there. Alternatively enquire about having our chauffeur pick you up and be your guide. It is also possible to rent a convertible classic car for your stay. Your hosts, Guy and Marnie de Vanssay, will be pleased to arrange customized stays for you, including visits of top wineries of the Loire (Cabernet Franc reds and Chenin whites, such as Chinon, Bourgueil, Vouvray and Jasnieres), sightseeing from the famous Loire Valley castles to fortified manor houses, medieval towns and picturesque villages, and farmer's markets. For the activity seeking, kayaking, cycling, hiking, hot air ballooning or why not drive a race car around the mythical Le Mans track? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de la Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Barre Hotel Conflans-Sur-Anille
Chateau De La Barre France/Conflans-Sur-Anille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing