We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can”

Maison du Cassoulet Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 48 Restaurants in Castelnaudary
Price range: $12 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Paris, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

There are so many places in castelnaudary where you can eat a real good cassoulet. This place has an unwelcoming staff always too busy to care for your table. The cassoulet, specialty of the house, is too salty, too fat and not prepared for the day. At the end it is very difficult to digest. In our case we were feeling hill the rest of the day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonGuillermoDelSalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    135
    60
    42
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor reception”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The patron was rude and uninviting, luckily we went to the La Belle Époque and had a superb meal. Looks nice but????

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank libs46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a beautiful meal here, I chose the plat du jour which included several choices, think it was around E17. I had a poached egg for starters which was divine, egg poached in cream. Then a salmon fillet with an orange risotto, delicious.The dessert was out of this world, think is was a cafe gascony, a sundae with coffee ice cream, coffee, brandy and cream. The best dessert I've ever eaten. Staff were efficient and polite. the bill for 4 of us having 3 courses, wine beer and coffee was E116, around £100. Would love to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheilz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cold reception and food,very slow service, even for France.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited this restaurant while passing through Castelnaudary. When we arrived the reception was on the cold side with the waiter who showed us to our table was very abrupt and had a bad attitude. However, the waiter who served us at the table was very polite and seemed embarrassed at the other waiters attitude towards the other customers. We ordered two 'Plate of the Day'. When we got our starters they were luke warm and not very nice. The main course was average but the worst thing was the slow service. Thirty five minutes for the starters and another forty for the main course to arrive at our table. Not impressed at all. Not many locals in the restaurant which is always a bad sign in France. This seems to be yet another restaurant in France who are there for the tourists or Canal du Midi boaters and are not fussy what they serve up to this passing trade.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morris1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Lot More Than Cassoulet :)”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

First time visit for a family celebration. Busy enough spot for midweek. Very friendly staff, altou service a little slower than typical for France but not problematic. Warm restaurant, nice chance as many don't have much heating! Quite a modern interior, funky but still welcoming.
Exellent menu choices with options at a varierty of price points. Several 'formule' choices and a wide selection of specials.
Our party had everything from foie gras, duck, steak, the speciality cassoulet and Toulouse saucisse The moulleux au chocolat, panncotta and creme brulée were hits among the desserts and the Café Gourmand was more than generous. We opted as usual for local wine and it was excellent. A definite recommendation and one of the best options in Castelnaudary.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison du Cassoulet Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maison du Cassoulet Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing