We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Grand Bassin
Nearby Hotels
Clos Fleuri(Castelnaudary)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary(Castelnaudary)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(Castelnaudary)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Canal(Castelnaudary)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison du Cassoulet(Castelnaudary)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peniche Kapadokya(Mas-Saintes-Puelles)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
19
8
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
8
2
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 32 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We are so pleased we chose to stay at Le Grand Bassin. Gilles Avinzac and Madame Avinzac were very helpful and welcoming. Our room was lovely and the location of the hotel very convenient. We had dinner at Le Tirou which I would highly recommend. It was an outstanding meal with a memorable cassoulet. Thank you for a wonderful souvenir of our visit to Castelnaudary.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Gilles and his wife were very friendly and the house was lovely. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated and we would have no hesitation in staying there again. We wanted to visit Carcassonne and Gilles recommended a good route to get there which avoided the busy roads. My wife had the best night's sleep of the entire trip there - what can be more important?

Liston out for the owl in the tree in the car park.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungry_Hedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked 4 rooms via email with Gilles and I sent the requested deposit from Australia. He had said if too much trouble to transfer don't worry, which I thought was very trusting of him. We flew to Toulouse and then took a fast train to Castelnaudary . Le Grand Bassin, which is a lovely, old typically French house was less than a10 min walk from the station. We were met by our hosts and offered a drink which we sat in the garden and drank before being shown to our rooms The rooms were beautifully clean, nicely furnished and all had ensuite showers. Gilles had recommended and booked for us a local bar/restaurant which specialised in cassoulet, which was actually "invented" in Castelnaudary. We all slept like logs and met up for a typical French breakfast in the really nice dining room in the morning. We had booked 4 bicycles from a local company to cycle to Narbonne and then return to Castelnaudary by train. Gilles had kindly agreed to look after our bags while we were away for 5 days and for the hire company to collect their bikes from his house on our return as well as giving us the space to change clothes etc. His wife met us on our return gave us all a beer to drink and we had to force the money on her to pay for them. The 4 of us thought they were both delightful and charming hosts and their chambre d'hote a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We booked this b&b after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, and while the location was perfect for us, close to the Le Boat office, it was a little way out of town. We were also very disappointed with the host Gilles. He was so grumpy, we felt we were intruding on his space (in fact, he said as much!). Maybe we got him on a bad day. His wife was lovely and went out of her way to make us feel welcome, but we were glad we only had one night here before we left on our Le Boat adventure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Gilles Aviznac is a wonderful host and a pleasure to meet. Rooms were comfortable, near the Le Boat port if you are renting a boat. Great breakfast and reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crucian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews